We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Choose the Club Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Choose the Club Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have always booked the Club Rooms at this Hotel thinking that I would get preferential treatment, better service and great value, however I booked a deluxe room, and was upgraded because of my Accor Card to Luxury Room and was pleasantly surprised. The room had a king-sized comfortable bed (which is a trade mark of Sofitel throughout the World), with a substantial office area, wonderfully appointed bathroom and plenty of space..and I make the space comment based on the fact I usually book at least a Junior Suite. My room rate included breakfast and my Accor Card took care of the Internet. Booking the Hotel like this was great value for a very comfortable two nights. Don't choose the Club Rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DavidandCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila.

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for taking the time to share your valuable review and feedback. Our Sofitel MyBed concept is designed to offer exquisite comfort for a perfect night’s sleep.

Following your comment, our club rooms have a comfortable ambiance, magnifique MyBed, with most luxurious and highest quality of amenities to pamper our guests. Pure relaxation and rejuvenation come with the finest luxuries on offer, exclusive to guests at the Club Millésime floor.

We do hope that you will give us another shot at impressing you when you return to Sofitel Manila.


Best Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,351
    1,359
    532
    204
    145
See reviews for
1,556
1,132
304
939
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Best hotel Ive stayed at and I spend about 60 nights a year in hotels. The staff was impeccable, the hotel was excellent, the buffet breakfast is something to be experienced my words could not do it justus. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank randy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We are grateful for your extensive review here on TripAdvisor and would like to thank you for staying with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel and the restaurant. Our ambassadors take great pride in delivering authentic service. Please rest assured, I have shared your wonderful review with them.

Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and we hope we may have the chance to welcome you back to Sofitel in the future. 

Kind Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not the best sofitel we have stayed at, very expensive for average hotel, got the feeling the hotel was out to squeeze every cent out of our pockets, restaurant food and rooms below what we expected, not the most welcoming hotel, many managers floating about but doing what ???. Sorry this hotel of my return list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Richie7749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!

We understand the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectations and we truly regret that we have disappointed you. We have noted your comment in regards to the rates. Kindly be informed that we have made an analysis of the hotels on the similar category in Manila area and our rate stays the most competitive.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the very near future.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando Pampanga, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

this hotel is very good overall, staff are courteous and helpful. Eating at the restaurant is a bit expensive. Their famous Spiral breakfast buffet has so many selections, but missing Japanese food. The ambiance is excellent especially around the pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank CaptNatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuahay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We are glad that you had a magnifique experience with and enjoyed the services of our hotel ambassadors and the poolside ambiance.

Regarding on your comment about the breakfasts in Spiral, kindly be information we do have a Japanese section as well. Our Spiral ambassadors would be more than pleased to assist you during you next time with all your requests.

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sofitel and we look forward to being of service to you.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My usual hotel in Manila was fully booked so I had to use Sofitel instead. It is nice there is no doubt but it is not twice as nice as where I usually stay. They were busy and could only give me a room with 2 single beds. The beds were really small and it was the worst sleep I've ever had in a hotel especially within the Accor group.Noise from other rooms wasn't excessive but certainly more than I am used too. I will still chose my previous hotel even though it is not witin the Accor group of whom I'm a member as I cannot justify twice the cost for what is provided by Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Pigg y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila.

All guest correspondence is read with true interest and all matters are shared with our management team with the aim of improving the services we offer. Therefore we thank you for your constructive comments, suggestions and truly apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

We sincerely regret for the displeasure you had to endure especially with the noise issue from the other rooms during your stay. Please rest assured that your views have been forwarded to the departments concerned and will be taken into consideration.

Thank you so much and we look forward to the opportunity of providing you with only the highest standards of service.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My kids fell in love with the pool! The staff were quick into providing us with towels. The only thing i didn't like about the pool was that they put the slide in the shallow area where the kids are. It is quite dangerous even if they put a sign to stay away. Kids will always be kids, they tend to forget when they are having fun. Food is good but I find their buffet quite expensive. Shangri-la's buffet is cheaper and better. The rooms are ok. Love the view. I didn't like the bed though. The sheets are easily out of place and so do the mattresses. They should have put the bed separately instead. Love the toiletries. The shampoo and conditioner smells so good. I heard it is hermes for the executive floors. Overall, our family enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your memorable experience.

It is a pleasure to read that your kids fell in love with our lagoon shaped pool, poolside ambiance and the service of our hotel ambassadors.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for your valuable comment regading the poolslide. We will take your comment into account if we redesign the poolside.

Thank you so much and we truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Sofitel Manila.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

One thing I will never forget about Sofitel Manila was its amazing buffet breakfast. Cuisines from all over the world were displayed with elegance and the food quality was top notch. I did not fancy a croissant on the first morning we were there but when it was offered to us by one of the staff, I could not stop after one bite!

However, there were a couple of things that disappointed us during our stay -

1. There was an ongoing construction beside the pool area. After a few minutes of trying to relax, we got really annoyed by the noise.

2. The Spiral restaurant was fully booked during dinner so we were asked by the staff to wait at the bar. She said that she will pick us up in approximately 20 minutes, but no one came (not even to let us know that no table became available).

We informed the front desk officer upon check out about the dinner incident and we were told that our complain will be passed on to the relevant person. A few days later, my husband received an email from the restaurant manager of Sofitel saying sorry and that they will make sure it does not happen again. Kudos to that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianM968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay and thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

Spiral offers a wide variety of international dishes and we are very glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. With regards on your dinner experience, we have taken immediate actions to ensure such cases do not repeat in future.

Nonetheless, we also regret that you had some challenges on our pool and the on-going construction noise. We apologies for the inconvenience caused through the seawall rehabilitation, we are working together with the government in order to be prepared for the next rainy season to ensure the safety and security of our guests and employees.

We hope that this has not altered your perception of the hotel and we look forward to your return soon!

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Property: Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing