We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I Have stayed in the Westin Phil Plaza (which is the old name of this hotel) and was expecting more or less the same service and quality of stay. To my surprise, the hotel, now known as Sofitel, has been much improved through the years, even if they have been damaged by typhoons and floods in the area. The rooms are very clean, the beddings are a winner. Service was impeccable. Only wished they could have thrown in free wifi for all rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We would like to thank you for sharing your wonderful memories with us at Tripadvisor.

Your kind words will definitely encourage and motivate all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the internet charge inside our guest rooms. Nonetheless, should you need a complimentary internet access for your future visits; it would be available in all our public areas as well as the Club Millesime.

Thank you and we look forward to welcome you soon back to Sofitel Manila.



Best Regards,

Adeline Gutierrez
Guest Services Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,362 - 3,368 of 4,991 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

A lovely oasis in Manila, we planned this trip for a short parent-get-away. We booked the foodie package and all I can say is, do not veer away from the Spiral buffet. It is a must! Hubby noticed that the buffet was more asian-centric, where else can you get a more authentic japanese breakfast, dimsum, dosa and tapsilog all in one place (there were also the usual continental offerings and delicious selection of crusty breads)It was a dream! And that's just the breakfast! I spent a lot of time in the cheese room in every meal while hubby kept on going back for the kaldereta. If you must order ala carte, order the chocolate cake. It's exquisite! On top of the food, the hotel staff were very alert. From concierge, bell boy to welcome ladies etc...all were very professional. Our room was very nice and quite luxurious. Our bathroom was new, sleek and stylish. I smelled of L'occitane verbena during our whole stay. The view was also amazing. At the end of our stay, we couldn't help but think we should've brought our kids, the pool is so kid-friendly with a slide and dipping pool. The Hotel has a Gymboree and super kid-safe hotel playground to boot. I forgot to mention that we were also picked for guest of the day promo and upgraded to the clubroom level. We didn't get much use of the club room amenities cause we were too full from our Spiral visits but the late check-out was a nice plus. All in all a fun place to stay in Manila when you want a quick pampering get-away but not too far from the kids :).

Room Tip: There is ongoing daytime construction to reinforce the bayside wall and green fencing beside the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaoluya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel.

We are pleased to see that you have spent some enjoyable days with us and that you liked the So Gourmet package, designed for gourmets which looking for a luxury escape, with a culinary twist.

Your encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests.

We guarantee you that your experience in our Hotel is providing us with relevant additional guest comprehension and experience.

We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent and truly unforgettable.

Kind Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The room is spacious and clean. We got the cheapest room. There's no bathtub but the shower is quite good. It's like you're under the rain. The room and corridors smells good. I liked the smell of their complimentary soap and shampoo. I went there with my 1 year old baby girl. I was surprised that they can provide us a crib for our baby. But I was not able to inquire them about it because we brought our own crib already. We took a dip in their pool and we enjoyed almost of our stay there. The water's temperature is not very cold so my baby did not had any colds or flu after that. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and never had any problem with them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jograce22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for writing such a pleasant comment about our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that with the youngest member of your family.

It is always magnifique to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to can be at you service you in near future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Last March 23, the Federation of Fil-Chinese Chambers of Commerce, Inc. (FFCCCII) was treated to a luncheon meeting at Sofitel. This was hosted by Metrobank, beside the lousy food (some dishes had raw fish), there poor facilities was highlighted and shown to the entire business community by forcing the delegates to walk about 200 meters from the entrance of the parking lot in the scorching sun to the Tent because they stop the buses at the entrance and was told buses were not allowed inside. Upon finishing our lunch we were force to walk further another 500 meters to our buses same reason given. Do you think hosting such big event and making your guest bake in the HOT sun deserve a 5 star rating? The bank that hosted this banquet should be refunded their money because all the things you can find whats wrong with the event went wrong including the cooling facilities, it was like being bake in an oven while we're having our so-called lunch.
if you are planning an event don't do it there no one will attend it even if the event is free its so expensive just to go there, even if you have your own car they will charge you at high cost.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for reporting your observations during your visit an event in our hotel. We are very disappointed to read that you have not experienced again the five star service which our guests usual experience.

In reference to the inconvenience that you encountered, we would like to inform you that we have forwarded you comment to the event organiser.

Thank you and we do hope this experience will not deter you from using Sofitel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel was quiet and was in a perfect location. We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. Our room was spacious, comfortable, clean, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was clean and stylish. It's service is impecable and we would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 772ClaraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza!

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience.

We will share your comments with our team and we are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our ambassadors as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

We are look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My customer recommended Sofitel to me, I only stayed for one night in Manila but still enjoyed my visit. There was a confusion with my reservation which made my check in last over 15 mins, I booked through Expedia and my confirmation showed the right dates as opposed to what the hotel records showed, they cleared the issue and upgraded me to a nice suite with lovely views. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivonne33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Owner at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza!

We would like to thank you for your time and your constructive comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Manila.

We are pleased to see that you had a nice stay with us. Your loyalty and encouraging comments are a great motivation and give us even more enthusiasm on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests.

We certainly take note of the comment reading the check in process you have provided us. Rest assured that all Department Heads concerned have been informed to address this matter.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at Sofitel.

Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

satisfied with everything the hotel had to offer. it was expensive but its expected from a luxury hotel anyway. Staff were hospitable, food were delicious, but what we love the most was the comfortable bed, it was difficult to wake up and part ways with and the shower was amazing. The only disturbing part was the housekeeping, if u forget to put dont disturb sign on the door, you will be disturb at night time by the housekeeper.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAIF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for your marvellous words about Sofitel here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our rooms, beds and bathrooms exceed your expectation and that you would recommend our hotel to any traveller.

Dear guest, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,344 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $130 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing