We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I am not sure why some reviews say this location is not the best. It is a 10 minute walk from the mall and many of the 5 star hotels like the Pan Pacific. In addition it is an easy cab to many attractions. The hotel is also steps away from The Hobbit House which is an interesting place to go for a beer! As for the hotel the service was excellent. Everyone was very helpful. The rooms are fine, good size, comfy beds, wifi. The only thing I found strange was the sign in the bathroom saying the water was not for drinking...we drank tap water all over the Philippians and were not sure why we couldn't here? There is a complimentary breakfast which was simple but had options for different tastes. We ate one evening at the restaurant in the hotel and it was fine, not super but we were hungry. There is a tour desk in the hotel and prior to our arrival they arranged a full day private tour of Manila which we really enjoyed. The price of this hotel is half of the five star hotels and although not a five star we were very happy with our three night stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jaboda,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that you like our Hotel and also our location. Your positive comments are very valuable to us. Rest assured that we will continue to offer all our guests the best possible experience.

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Warm regards,
Ma. Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    511
    157
    42
    26
See reviews for
162
407
284
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here on our way into our Philippines travels and on our last night before flying home.

First night was excellent, had requested quiet rooms and we got them. A very good standard. Big bedroom and good sized shower room. Huge bed and good aircon. Great buffet breakfast.

Last night was spoiled by my room not being ready when we checked in at 2.30pm. When I did get into it, it stank of smoke and had an adjoining door. I had requested a quiet room. So I felt sick all night with the stinky room and could hear next door's guests chatting.

I mentioned the problems to the reception who sent me a fruit plate and allowed us to late check out at 2pm.

The breakfast was great. The staff do their best to be helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non smoking room if you don't want one that stinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowellerCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear HowellerCornwall,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com

Warm regards,
Ma. Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with good friendly staff. The rooms are an ok size and have good air con. We were close to bars and malls but the area did not feel that safe. Good breakfast buffet which i did not realize was included in the price. They also had room service and a range of massage services that you could have in your room

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chakstoneboo,

Thank you for your positive feedback especially about our staff. We thank you again for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

If in the meantime I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Warm regards,
Ma. Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is located near Manila Bay where you can stand/sit and watch the beautiful sunset in Baywalk. And outside, you have all the access with an easy walk to all of the delicious restaurants, park, bars and almost everything you need or want to go to.

The lobby is has an elegant look. Very accomodating staff and they treat you like you are king/queen. The rooms have this ambience that makes you feel so relax and very comfortable. This is w/o a doubt one of the amazing and probably the best so far that I've been and will definitely return to Hotel La Corona Manila.

This is a 5 star experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mark A,

Thank you so much for your great review! We always try to make our guests have the best experience during their stay. It is good to hear that the employees provided excellent service.

We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us understand what we are doing right and what to continue doing for future guests. We really look forward to your future stays with us. If in the meantime I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Warm regards,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed in La Corona in February 2013 with my wife and we had a very difficult night. The room 411 had a damaged window hinge and could not close fully so the noise was unbearable.
We asked to be moved to a room with better noise insulation or away from the side facing the night club and we were told there was no availability.
It was very upsetting to find out early next morning by other guests who were there many days that there were at least 2-3 rooms free .
My wife tried to reason with them and she found that the reception staff was not helpful. Nevertheless the room is reasonably big for a few days stay. The air-con (this type) is quite noisy and there are not many power plugs in the room.
The wifi had good signal in the room and it was quite fast for Manila's standards and a non business area (enough to Skype but just not fats enough and stable enough to stream media). The hotel staff were always polite even if they did not manage improve our stay. The breakfast is reasonable if not outstanding for the price paid.
If you do have to stay in the area (quite seedy even by overall central Manila standards) then there are probably other hotels with less noise just around the corner. It will be almost impossible to sleep and in fact I think I only managed between 3:30 and 6am to close my eyes (before the early morning traffic noise started. Overall not good value for money and only to be chosen as last resort if others are not available.

Room Tip: If you do decide on staying at La Corona look for a room that does not have windows to the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kodix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear kodix,

Thank you for your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. I will personally assist you with your reservation.

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Warm regards,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonqging China
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed in the La Corona hotel in Ermita/Manila, Philippines for 4 nights in February, 2013. Found the rooms to be very nice and comfortable. Recommend the standard room over the deluxe if only because the deluxe room gives you a big queen size bed in the same size room as the standard and it's cramped. But the standard room gives you a double size bed and there's a lot more room. I found the WiFi in the room to be quite fast (a requirement high on my list for me) and good. Room was quiet (I highly recommend #407 or #307). Room had fridgerator in room and the cable tv had all the great Western channels, Discovery, HBO, History, etc. I highly recommend this hotel. The only downside I have with this hotel is the restaurant. The food is just not that good and I would not recommend ordering from the menu. Go elsewhere for dinner.

The front desk staff are outstanding (loved little Trixie) as are all the bellhops handling baggage. Tip them well! As my friend and I are on a cycling (bicycle) trip through the Philppines, the hotel has been great at letting us store bags at the hotel while we're traveling throughout the country on a bicycle.

I look forward to returning to this hotel for future stays.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room away from the rear of the hotel as there is a big nightclub (Cowboys) jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, General Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Ultrarunner,

Thank you very much for your post.

We are very happy to know that we made your stay with us memorable. Allow us to share this point of view with our staff especially to Trixie whom you commended. I am sure it will gladden their hearts to know that their hard work truly mattered. We are looking forward to your return

If in the meantime I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to email me at tetromualdo@bestwesternlacoronamanila.com.

Warm regards,
Celeste "Tet" Romualdo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a night on way through the madness of Manila. Staff at airport organised me a transfer (at my cost) even though I hadn't pre-booked.

Staff at hotel were friendly and rooms clean. Free WiFi was a bonus and buffet breakfast was very good.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 110 in Manila
1,190 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 110 in Manila
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,450 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 110 in Manila
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila

Property: Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila
Address: 1166 M. H. del Pilar St. | corner Arquiza St, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Manila
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#7 Business Hotel in Manila
#10 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering all the comforts of home while traveling, this Manila hotel is located in the heart of the tourist belt in Manila, Philippines. BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila is a boutique hotel ideally located for adventure and business travelers-along the coast line of historic Roxas Boulevard and Manila Bay, which boasts of the world-famous Manila Bay Sunset. The Cultural Center of the Philippines as well as the Philippine International Convention Center are within the area. This Manila hotel is only about 300 meters from the United States Embassy, five kilometers from the Japanese Embassy, and less than nine kilometers from most other embassies. A first-class shopping mall is only 800 meters away, while the Walled City of Old Manila with its nine-hole golf course is only two kilometers away. The world famous Rizal Park is just 700 meters from the hotel. Manila Chinatown, with its authentic Chinese food and goods is within four kilometers easily accessible with only one Jeep ride. Guests to this Manila hotel will enjoy the comfort of well-appointed rooms and extra amenities such as a free welcome drink and a daily newspaper. For business travelers, the hotel boasts an Internet corner, meeting space, and free Wi-Fi internet access. Onsite dining options appeal to a wide range of tastes with continental, Western, Filipino, and vegetarian cuisine. Book today for the best low rates at this Manila, Philippines hotel-BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila. Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Manila
Manila Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing