We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveler rating
503
544
166
44
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
544
166
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrizal parkbuffet breakfastamerican embassycowboy grillermita areasmall hotelyogurtwalking distancestreet noisedeluxe roommetered taxirobinsons mallenjoyed my stayocean parkbwelevatorpilar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Pros:
Staff is nice and friendly
Rooms are clean
Good breakfast

Cons:
Really bad location. Not safe to walk around at night. Questionable during the day.
Showers have low water pressure
Room area is OK, but bathroom is very small
Internet connection is EXTREMELY slow
Elevator might really be the first ever made
Stayed in 2 different rooms, one had a bad BO smell
Very noisy. They actually have a sign in room offering earplugs

Bottom line.... it is an adequate hotel if you plan on taking taxis everywhere. Just make sure you grab one right outside the hotel door. I walked 3 blocks one day and was propositioned by 3 girls and one guy(drugs). There is a reason it is a cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razor615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for recently staying with us and for your comments. Indeed your feedback is a valuable source of information for us to continue to strive at exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Reading through your comments, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We certainly took note of your comments with regards to your overall experience with our hotel. We are already upgrading our internet service provider and continuously renovating our rooms as part of improving our guest’s amenities. The hotel is also coordination with the local community government to improve our surroundings as well.

Should you decide to visit us again, please let me know. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Michael Quilantang
Senior Hotel Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN
Hotel La Corona Manila
Email: michael@bestwesternhotelmanila.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Keep in mind, my review would be different if I paid full price, but I was satisfied with this hotel paying a dicounted price through my travel agency.

Malate is not exactly the cleanest section of Manila, but it offers a wide variety of things to occupy your time. Robinson's Mall is walking distance, as is Rizal Park, Museum, Planetarium (opens for groups, maybe you'll be lucky and visit when a group has booked it), Ocean Park and countless nightclubs.

The hotel has easy street access for your taxi and the bellhops are very helpful unloading the car and pointing you in the right direction. La Corona staff are friendly and accomodating, check-ins/outs are quick and hassle free. Inroom WiFi, robes, safe and room service are definately plusses. The free breakfast buffet is not huge but it offers a variety of hot and cold dishes which change daily and also offers an omlette bar (be forewarned, the buffet ends at 10am sharp!).

Now the cons... rooms seem cold and uncosy due the excessive use of laminate flooring (even on the walls). Eating inroom is uncomfortable due to the low-rise table and room service does not suppy a rolling service. The elevator is small and slow, staff will give way to guests but i still found myself using the stairs quite often. I prefer a firm sleep, so the bed was fine for me... but for those who like a softer sleep, you may not like the futon matress that seems to be standard. Finally the pedistal sink did not allow any space for toiletries brought from home such as shaving and hair care products.

Overview... A clean hotel with good service and fair food. I paid $60/night for a "superior room" but would be disappointed if I paid the full $100+. This hotel offers suites also, but they were not available for my stay. Hope this helps you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for recently staying with us and for your comments. Indeed your feedback is a valuable source of information for us to continue to strive at exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Reading through your comments, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations in your room. We certainly took note of your comments with regards to your overall experience with our hotel. We are continually upgrading our rooms to make every moment of our guests stay a complete experience.

Should you require assistance with your reservations in the future, please let me know. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Allan dela Peña
Executive Housekeeper – Housekeeping Department
BEST WESTERN
Hotel La Corona Manila
Email: atdelapena@bestwesternhotelmanila.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

La Corona is, overall, a wonderful hotel. The rooms have modern style, the employees are helpful and super efficient, the location, though in an immediately seedy part of town, is wonderful for visiting nearby Intramuros and the National Gallery of Art etc. I would recommend LaCorona but....

....Just one problem. The Bellman/Doorman are in cahoots with the Hotel Taxi/Shuttle (made it sound like it was a free shuttle!!! ...ie until you swing the taxi door open, are just about all the way into the taxi only to find out it's priced at 5, yes I wrote 5 TIMES the price of a normal metered taxi cost.)

Facts: Going to visit nearby Intramuros. The Hotel Doorman, con artist, helpfully and enthusiastically says, "I'll help you get a taxi. Use the hotel shuttle!" I think to myself, "Hotel shuttle!? Great! Didn't know they had one!" And then the ruse: Hotel Shuttle Taxi cost: 300peso. After refusing, actual metered taxi cost 60 peso.

This reflects so poorly on an otherwise fine, reputable hotel.

A 500% increase in cost is dishonest. La Corona: please clean up your Doormans acts. They reflect poorly on all the other fine honest employees working hard for La Corona.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank OmahaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for recently staying with us and for your comments. Indeed your feedback is a valuable source of information for us to continue to strive at exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Reading through your comments, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We certainly took note of your comments with regards to your overall experience with our hotel. We would just like to clarify that the hotel doesn’t have a hotel shuttle or service car. What the hotel offers is a PAID service car which is outsourced. We have already briefed our Bellman’s to make sure it is properly explained to guests what our service cars offers. Rest assured that this will be shared to the rest of our BELLMAN team as well.

Should you decide to visit us again, please let me know. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Michael Quilantang
Senior Hotel Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN
Hotel La Corona Manila
Email: michael@bestwesternhotelmanila.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

loved this hotel , service great and we stayed in a suite food good housekeeping also great.
used their hotel car to transfer to angeles city and it was on time and driven safely.
only problem was night time noise , our suite was on the corner of the hotel and subject to noises in the small hours.
this is the only problem and if you stay in part of town maybe you should expect it.
every other aspect of this hotel was very good and we are sure that there are rooms with a quieter aspect available.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sack102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to know that you are happy and satisfied with our service. Rest assured that this will be shared to the rest of our team. We truly value your comments as these help us compliment and improve on our personalized services more which is to provide the BEST caring accommodation you can have.

We would be glad to accommodate you with one of our most quiet rooms available during your next stay.

Should you require assistance with your reservations in the future, please let me know. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Michael Quilantang
Senior Hotel Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN
Hotel La Corona Manila
Email: michael@bestwesternhotelmanila.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Very poor location - not safe to go out at night except in a taxi. Be prepared for locals to try to sell you things through the window while eating your breakfast or offer girls or drugs/stimulants to male guests directly outside the hotel at night . On a busy road, so rooms at the front of the hotel are noisy all night as windows offer little protection from constant traffic noise.
Entirely unsuitable for children as many single male guests "entertain" young Philippino girls on a regular basis without being challenged by any of the staff. Staff however, are friendly and helpful and service levels are reasonable.
The hotel lift is antiquated, small and not very safe (1930's style)
Difficult to believe how this hotel has such a good rating on the hotel guide for Manila. Far from the expected "Best Western" standards.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PetetheHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwhotelacoronamanila, Manager at Best Western Hotel La Corona Manila, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from BEST WESTERN Hotel La Corona Manila!

Thank you for recently staying with us and for your comments. Indeed your feedback is a valuable source of information for us to continue to strive at exceeding our guests’ expectations.

Reading through your comments, we apologize for failing to meet your expectations. We certainly took note of your comments with regards to your overall experience with our hotel. We are already working with the local community government on how we can improve our area. We are also improving all the sound proofing of our rooms to enhance guest’s experience each time they stay. We would be glad to accommodate your family in one our family rooms away from all the noise outside.

Should you decide to visit us with your family again, please let me know. It would be our pleasure to welcome your family back.

Best Regards,

Michael Quilantang
Senior Duty Manager
BEST WESTERN
Hotel La Corona Manila
Email: michael@bestwesternhotelmanila.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews