We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean and comfortable place to stay”
Review of Red Planet Mabini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Mabini
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A clean and comfortable place to stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Had my first booking at this hot for 2 nights and I was never disappointed. The room was very clean, the bathroom was spick and span, very modern design, fast wifi connection, flat screen TV and found on a very convenient location. Very affordable price too. Hotel staff are very friendly and the 7 eleven convenience store is just located at the hotel entrance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank redlake56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    391
    201
    48
    25
See reviews for
89
241
232
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

CHEAP - CLEAN - COMFORTABLE

Tune Ermita is a comfortable clean hotel, the room was small (expected) and the beds comfortable (I found the pillows too soft, my partner found them perfect) the bathroom was clean,
The shower was good but the ceiling fan not very effective at clearing the steam..

The location of the Tune Ermita was... challenging.... IF I were to revisit Manila I would stay in Makati and pay the extra for the better location.. the suburb was depressing, dirty, smelly and difficult to get in and out of via taxi for a fair fare (always insist on using the meter!)

Overall the actual property gets a thumbs up - good value, clean, comfy
The location gets a thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is in a good location. We had quite a small room but it was new, modern and very clean. Free wifi was available in the rooms. For budget travel this was perfect for a few nights in Manilla.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelleMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superb621, Manager at Red Planet Mabini, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Noelle,

First and foremost, the management and staff of Tune Hotels Ermita would like to thank you for such a wonderful feedback that you have shared to everyone through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that our effort for continuous improvement were noticed and surely a sign that we are on the right track. We will definitely keep it up for our guest's satisfaction.

Positive feedback, high rating and recommendation from you is very inspiring. We do hope to see you in many of your visits to come. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed June 16th 2014 overnight on my way to Puerto Princessa. It is good value for the price with the rooms clean and all you need. Not the biggest rooms but with satellite TV, air conditioning, WiFi, a clean bathroom, great front desk staff, helpful security staff, ATM next door, a 711 and a bar and restaurant in the same building what more do you need. Maybe 40 mins to the airport depending on traffic, it is still a lot better than any of the hotels close to the airport in the same price range. It is my choice when transiting through Manila.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We saw it was on sale online (PHP 800/night) but when we enquired at the reception the room rate was around PHP 2,300. The lady then told us that the 800 rate only applies online. And so right then and there we booked online and as soon as we received the confirmation the lady assisted us and gave us a room overlooking the Manila bay at the 10th floor. The room is quite small but they made it possible to maximize the space: big bed, 2 bedside table, flat tv, a small table, and a spacious toilet, they even have a big mirror. If you are traveling with luggage you might find it difficult to move around the room. Hallway doesn't have air-conditioning except for the lobby. Security is no problem within the hotel. They clean the room everyday and so far every request we made was attended to. Hotel doesn't have a restaurant but in the ground floor theres an Irish pub and a 7-11 store. Location wise, since it is in Ermita dont expect that it will be quiet and peaceful specially at night. Night life of Manila is within that area. But since our room is in the 10th floor we can barely hear the jeepneys or music. It is close to a mall though, maybe 5 minutes of walking and you are in Robinsons Manila. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and would like to have value for your money, just be sure to check online for possible cheap rates. We stayed here for 3 nights last June 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writtenword_auh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms small but very clean. The shower in the bathroom was probably the best I have ever had. Nice Irish bar serving good food and drink and a really good 7/11 store as you approach reception. Great spot if you are there for the night life and will def be staying there again. Safe in the bedroom and great security system for access to elevator and room. If you book through Agodo you get things like TV and aircon included.If you book direct they have options to have ac or not

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip to Manila. The hotel was situated in a lively area with interesting local street life and stalls nearby. It was loud during the night, but you don't go to Manila expecting peace and quiet. Great local bar underneath as well as a 7/11. Room was spotless, well-maintained, and of a good-size. Staff were super-helpful and polite. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
713 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
268 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Mabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Mabini

Property: Red Planet Mabini
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Red Planet Ermita)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Mabini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Mabini, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometer away. The Red Planet Mabini, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Mabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing