We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A clean and comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Planet Ermita, Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A clean and comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Had my first booking at this hot for 2 nights and I was never disappointed. The room was very clean, the bathroom was spick and span, very modern design, fast wifi connection, flat screen TV and found on a very convenient location. Very affordable price too. Hotel staff are very friendly and the 7 eleven convenience store is just located at the hotel entrance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank redlake56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    294
    169
    39
    17
See reviews for
54
174
176
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

CHEAP - CLEAN - COMFORTABLE

Tune Ermita is a comfortable clean hotel, the room was small (expected) and the beds comfortable (I found the pillows too soft, my partner found them perfect) the bathroom was clean,
The shower was good but the ceiling fan not very effective at clearing the steam..

The location of the Tune Ermita was... challenging.... IF I were to revisit Manila I would stay in Makati and pay the extra for the better location.. the suburb was depressing, dirty, smelly and difficult to get in and out of via taxi for a fair fare (always insist on using the meter!)

Overall the actual property gets a thumbs up - good value, clean, comfy
The location gets a thumbs down.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is in a good location. We had quite a small room but it was new, modern and very clean. Free wifi was available in the rooms. For budget travel this was perfect for a few nights in Manilla.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelleMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superb621, Manager at Red Planet Ermita, Manila, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Noelle,

First and foremost, the management and staff of Tune Hotels Ermita would like to thank you for such a wonderful feedback that you have shared to everyone through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that our effort for continuous improvement were noticed and surely a sign that we are on the right track. We will definitely keep it up for our guest's satisfaction.

Positive feedback, high rating and recommendation from you is very inspiring. We do hope to see you in many of your visits to come. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed June 16th 2014 overnight on my way to Puerto Princessa. It is good value for the price with the rooms clean and all you need. Not the biggest rooms but with satellite TV, air conditioning, WiFi, a clean bathroom, great front desk staff, helpful security staff, ATM next door, a 711 and a bar and restaurant in the same building what more do you need. Maybe 40 mins to the airport depending on traffic, it is still a lot better than any of the hotels close to the airport in the same price range. It is my choice when transiting through Manila.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We saw it was on sale online (PHP 800/night) but when we enquired at the reception the room rate was around PHP 2,300. The lady then told us that the 800 rate only applies online. And so right then and there we booked online and as soon as we received the confirmation the lady assisted us and gave us a room overlooking the Manila bay at the 10th floor. The room is quite small but they made it possible to maximize the space: big bed, 2 bedside table, flat tv, a small table, and a spacious toilet, they even have a big mirror. If you are traveling with luggage you might find it difficult to move around the room. Hallway doesn't have air-conditioning except for the lobby. Security is no problem within the hotel. They clean the room everyday and so far every request we made was attended to. Hotel doesn't have a restaurant but in the ground floor theres an Irish pub and a 7-11 store. Location wise, since it is in Ermita dont expect that it will be quiet and peaceful specially at night. Night life of Manila is within that area. But since our room is in the 10th floor we can barely hear the jeepneys or music. It is close to a mall though, maybe 5 minutes of walking and you are in Robinsons Manila. I would recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and would like to have value for your money, just be sure to check online for possible cheap rates. We stayed here for 3 nights last June 2014.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank writtenword_auh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights. Rooms small but very clean. The shower in the bathroom was probably the best I have ever had. Nice Irish bar serving good food and drink and a really good 7/11 store as you approach reception. Great spot if you are there for the night life and will def be staying there again. Safe in the bedroom and great security system for access to elevator and room. If you book through Agodo you get things like TV and aircon included.If you book direct they have options to have ac or not

Room Tip: The higher up the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a recent trip to Manila. The hotel was situated in a lively area with interesting local street life and stalls nearby. It was loud during the night, but you don't go to Manila expecting peace and quiet. Great local bar underneath as well as a 7/11. Room was spotless, well-maintained, and of a good-size. Staff were super-helpful and polite. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#14 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#20 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#13 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#19 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 110 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Ermita, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita, Manila

Property: Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Red Planet Ermita, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing