We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good People terrible-Upper Managment????” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Planet Ermita, Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good People terrible-Upper Managment????”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Ok so everything starts and ends at the top! The employees-great, hotel-great-but functionality and customer needs are essential and for this Hotel tunes Owners and upper Managers get a F! why so you say?
Because the hotel Wifi system is for the Birds, they give you a pass code for every day and it is only good for 2-devices-What the [--] ??? who's idea was this?
Fire that decision maker.....
How about some simplicity like one pass word that's it and change it weekly or something...right??? remember less-is more! that's your hotels motto, isn't it??
My stay is for 18 days-yup! 18....Anyone saying I don't know this hotel and its quarks is far out of bounds because this player is in the game!
Also the pub next to the hotels is over priced, crappy meals, so take you food money outside to the streets there you will find an abundance of flavor.
If your a single guy this place is paradise with brothels in every direction and spas galore....
Bottom line simple, affordable, ok- location, but like most PH -run businesses falls short of common sense management to employee policies on how to, when to and why.....
PS-to the owners add some furniture to the family and handicap rooms...OK!

Room Tip: ask for the handicap room -they have two. Its great for family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuWapO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    285
    163
    38
    15
See reviews for
52
171
169
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Baguio, Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The location of Tune Hotel is good for party goers since the night life in Malate is very active. The hotel lobby was wide and the staff were courteous. The elevators were card locked so only guests can use the elevators. As for our room, I found it compressed. Since our stay at Tune Hotel is only overnight, there were no regrets. The Bed was soft and the sheets were clean. The airconditioner was small and controlable.
For more information and photos of my review, please visit http://watwatworld.com/2013/08/31/tune-hotel-ermita-manila-review/

Room Tip: Look for discounts and deals online. Tune Hotel offers online discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at Tune hotel just for a night. I was not expecting too much of it and to my surprise the room were nice and clean. Very small room though, If you are claustrophobic dont stay here because there is no room even for your luggages. I really liked the bed and the shower head because after a week in the Philippine, this hotel had real mattress and lots of water to take shower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very basic, but then again they don't hide that when you book the hotel. Everything is an add-on, but their groupings of services on their website often work out cheaper than selecting each thing individually. The room is clean if somewhat small. The air-conditioner works okay. I was given a discount voucher for the pub downstairs and there is a convenience store too. The towels and toiletries are nothing to write home about and this is where they can maybe improve a bit. One negative was that they didn't offer a wake-up call service and there is no alarm clock in the room which can be a big negative if you have an early morning flight. The front desk agent didn't even blink or attempt to offer further assistance in this regard. The big big negative about this hotel though is the area it is in. I'm guessing you might just want to stick to the pub downstairs in stead of venturing out further...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SOLTATIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very small rooms, bedsheet were dirty, at check in they tell you that you have to pay in case you steal something, not a warm welcome, advertisement instead of pictures in the room, too much money for a budget box hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SleepWell_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

Seoul
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tune Ermita is part of the Tune chain that I use often. This branch, however, is one I will pass on. The room itself was fine but the towels seemed old. Worst of all is the surrounding area Ermita. It is dangerous, smelly, filthy and best avoided. You can walk to Robinsons Mall and plenty of bars are around, but ugh, it is a nasty and seedy place and worse, traffic can be a nightmare. A disabled streetwalker tried to steal something from me but my girlfriend and I got away. PLEASE watch your back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice little efficiency hotel, no frills. Room is so small you have to go outside to turn around, if you have large luggage with you, there will be NO room. However, for Manila, it was cheap and clean and efficient, no haggling and arguing with the usual idiots at hotel front desks all over the Philippines. My only issue is the lack of room IN the room. Maybe a foot or two more. At least you don't have to worry about rolling out of bed.

I don't mind paying for extras, like internet, bath towels, etc.

There is a 7-11 near the front lobby, easy access for drinks and snacks. Also a bar and restaurant in front. I'd totally stay here again, if for nothing else, the lack of hassle. I've stayed at very expensive and very cheap hotels, and the thing I hate the most is the hassle about things. I've never had to argue with the front desk about anything at Tune Hotels. Very clean, AC worked fine, TV good, beds good and everything worked fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dharma_Punk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#10 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#17 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 111 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Ermita, Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Ermita, Manila

Property: Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Tune Hotel Ermita)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Ermita, Manila 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Ermita, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometre away. The Red Planet Ermita, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Planet Ermita, Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing