We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value if you get the right special”
Review of Red Planet Mabini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Mabini
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel room is quite small , it has no cupboards, drawers etc so you have to live out of your suitcase. The first 2 days there was no hot water but that was rectified eventually. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and the tv was a good size.
I paid for breakfasts when i made the bookings so ate at the restaurant downstairs. The food was good but I was disapointed that breakfast could only be had between7 and 10 even though the restaurant offered all day breakfasts. This caused me to have to order 3 breakfasts for 2 people twice to use up the vouichers.
Front desk staff were polite and efficient. My safe ran out of power at one stage. I couldnt leave my room until maintenance turned up. Front desk was able to open the safe for me but i couldnt lock it again so i couldnt leave. I had to wait for maintenance which didnt take too long but did force me to change plans.
Overall the stay was very good, I would recommend you check the tune website for a sale before booking. I am planning another stay soon but at the regular price this hotel is far too expensive for what is on offer considering you have to pay more for any extras like towels etc.

Room Tip: The street out front can be loud and the sound echoes up. If your a light sleeper maybe ask for a re...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (885)
There are newer reviews for Red Planet Mabini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 885 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed one night on the 7rh February 2013. After checking in we, not surprisingly used the shower. Immediately the bathroom flooded as water was not draining properly. After contacting reception someone from maintenance said they had resolved the problem. Straight after we used the shower again same problem. It never was rectified during our stay and despite complaining we were offered no alternative room. Before check out I filled a feedback form with my contact details. I never heard a thing. Staff seemed generally disinterested and clearly need some customer focus.

Having said that the other parts of the hotel were clean and functional but the price adds up with extras such as AC/wifi etc. Location is good too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MT937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good points:
- Check in/out was a breeze
- Clean room and bath
- Flat screen tv with good choice of channels
- Fast and reliable internet
- Good bed and linens
- Great location (a few minutes away from Robinson's Manila, Mall of Asia and the airport)

Not-so-good points:
- Very very basic, and the room was kinda small, but It's not that bad, it's okay for 2
- Breakfast was a bit pricey
- You can hear the slamming doors in the whole floor
- The view

Over-all: Not bad. Had a great sleep. :) You literally get what you pay for. Good for people who need a place to sleep in in Manila.

Room Tip: Try booking online, its much more convenient since A/C, internet, cable and towels are already inclu...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissiebanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Keep in mind that this is a low cost and that every service you need is charged extra. I knew exactly what I wanted : a clean and not very noisy place. I asked for a high floor and got the 9th, rather quiet. The second and third (I think) floors are taken by a parking spot so even the lower floors are not at street level. The room was small but clean and the bed was confortable, the aircon was OK, and all in all the price was quite good for the service I was looking for.

The manager is trying to introduce some complicated security system consisting in small signed tickets that are issued at the reception desk to prove that you are guest of the hotel and which are to be collected by the security guard next time you come in from the street, then you're supposed to go and get another one of these tickets. I did not reallize how this system was supposed to work until time had come for me to be leaving, needless to say that the personnel does not seem to attach too much importance to such rules.

As probably with many other hotels in Manila, there seems to be an understanding between the personnel and taxi drivers, I tried to have a white cab called for me and and they escorted me to a single white cab-like car (sign and all on it) that was parked just before the hotel. It had no meter and the driver was not inclined to negotiate below a price which was at least double the normal fare so I had to get off and hail the first passing cab.

The hotel pub is an expensive and rather quiet place, except when the waitress takes the mike and starts singing -- but I foud her singing surprisingly good so I didn't mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The service is great so as the cleanliness. As expected this is a budget hotel and so you have to pay additional for addons. The one thing however i didntlike much was the location. There arejust so many touts in the area and it can get pretty chaotic and sojust be careful when you go around

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeJihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Price/Quality perfect! We discovered the Tune Hotels chain and it´s for sure not the last time we will stay at Tune Hotels. Very friendly reception staff, clean room, central, what do you want more? We booked again at Tune Hotels for our next London trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTravelAllAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Tune Hotel,Ermita ; Followed by 2 nights in Tune Hotel, Makati.

The room was clean, the bed was extremely comfortable as always with Tune. The bathroom was quite large and the shower had good water temperature/pressure.. The shower does not have a full screen/door and the water floods the rest of the bathroom.

The room had the most god-awful view - the back of some run-down apartments, with some huge ladies underwear drying in the window! The air con was effective, but very very noisy.
By far the worst thing here is the slamming doors - they just close so loudly, and open with such difficulty! The comings and goings until late night/early morning meant that the constantly slamming doors kept us awake all night.

As with Tune Makati, this hotel is also located in a red-light area; and the majority of the clientele appeared to be there for that purpose. In fact, even the "Irish" bar at the front of the hotel (no idea why it is called an Irish bar as there was nothing vaguely Irish about it) features young waitresses dressed as schoolgirls and the usual fat American guys ogling them.

Every other door on the street is a hooker bar with girls standing outside in various supposedly-sexy costumes.. Begging street kids pursue you up and down the road, which is busy,noisy and smelly from the unmistakable odour of urine - like most of Manila...

It is around 10 minutes walk to Roxas Boulevard and the 'Boardwalk'; the Philippine governments' attempt to create something akin to a British seaside promenade; Which is an epic fail. Piles of building materials are lying around from this unfinished project, and parts that were finished have already been vandalized. The worst thing is that there are people lying/sleeping all over this place, handing their laundry in the trees and - of course - begging!

The saving grace of the area is nearby Manila Ocean Park, But even this is falling into disrepair; And Robinsons Mall which is a reasonable mall. Again, watch for beggars and people selling stolen phones.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient, and the security was courteous and polite.I felt that they were much better than in Makati. Another good thing is that there is a 7 eleven downstairs, so you don't have to go far for drinks & snacks.

I usually like Tune Hotels, but feel let down by the two Manila hotels; comfortable enough rooms, but they have been deliberately place in noisy red-light areas to take advantage of the walk-in trade. Also the room rates for these two hotels are pretty standard and not at all 'budget'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#13 of 109 in Manila
741 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
276 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
252 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Mabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Mabini

Address: 1740 A Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Red Planet Ermita)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $32 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Mabini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Mabini, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometer away. The Red Planet Mabini, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Red Planet Mabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing