We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Red Planet Mabini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Planet Mabini
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
nantes
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location not far from Robinson Mall where you can find resto and do some shopping.

The rooms are quite small but very clean and with good equipment. I choose a double room (1 bed for 2). The bed has a very good matress, very comfortable. Nice lights, large flat screen tv with many channels. Aircon is good and easy to set up, you can also use the fan.
The bathroom is well featured and clean, hot shower with good pressure. Hairdryer.
Wifi work well but there's problems sometimes. At the front desk you can use computer for free.

The price was 30 euros. It's ok for this kind of room, it worth it.

Staff is helpfull, especially the floor staff (room cleaner). At the ground floor there's a seven eleven wich can be usefull.

But the last day i had a problem with them... I've stayed there 7 nights and the last day i've asked them if i can get a 4H00 check out extension for free because i'm a loyal client. At the front desk they said it's possible only with paying 300 pesos for a 4h00 extension. I replied i'm a loyal customer so it musn't be a problem for them, but they still said no... So i've ask to the manager and she finaly said yes but for a shorter time than asked, so i said ok... I really wonder why it was such a big deal for them, they should be more generous if they want to keep their loyal customers... So next time it's not sure that i book in their hotel, there's many others around for the same price. I'm going to Manila twice a year since 5 years...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leoj2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    391
    201
    48
    25
See reviews for
89
241
232
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Arrived at 4 am from Philtranco terminal Pasay by white taxi. Cost me 160 peso. Didn't give him a tip because old man only knew Robinson's place. Hedged between other buildings it was hard to spot the hotel famous for its bright red and white colors. But at night it is well lighted and one can see the red glow before actually seeing Tune.
Must buy air con credit especially after the recent brown out. Love the pillow (Springmate brand) used by the Tune Philippines franchise.
The room was clean enough although the wall was beginning to look a little dirty. Unlike other Tune in other countries, the air conditioner temperature dial have to be manually adjusted on the device itself. The shower area doesn't have a door. I also saw the chambermaid putting the toilet brush in the same container as the towel to wipe the feet. (the one that is placed on the w.c.)

There is a small eatery in front of Tune where I manage to eat my brunch. Rice with small saucers of dishes. Inexpensive. Very popular with locals. Try to go early because they also operate a photostating business in the same premise.
There are 3 computers in the lobby. I used it at 5 am to book my tickets from KL to Lombok on 15/8/2012 (the morning of my arrival). You will have to ask the receptionists to turn on the lights otherwise you will, like me be squinting to make out your credit card no.
My room was on the 10th floor facing the main road. Might have noise in the daytime if not using air conditioner.
I took a slow walk about 10 mins to Robinsons at 7 pm, lingered at Adriantico Mall (Maybank ATM) and returned from Robinsons after the place closed at 10 pm. The roads were well lit and there were people/security guards along the road. There is also a Maybank branch next door to Tune.
I also changed most of my ringgits at Nikko money-changer in Mabini area. Better rates than in Greenhills.
Took the jeepney in front of hotel to Divisoria area. Got down when everyone else got down. Not recommended for 1st timers to Philippines.
I also went to Greenhills, 1st by taking the Quiapo jeepney (pronounced as Che-a-po), get down at Quiapo church and then the air cond G Liner bus.
After staying for 2 nights, I shifted to Where2next hostel which is just at the back of Tune hotel. I stupidly paid the trike 50 pesos.
Thanks to the receptionist for helping with my jeepneys trips and money exchange.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelsiferous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

August 2012. Tune Ermita is not easy to find. If taxi driver does not know its location, he might start halfway up the one way street. Tune Hotel is located near the start of the one way Mabini St.crowded in by other buildings and reception is at the end of a corridor between 7/11 and a bar. Showing its age inside. Happens to be located on street crowded with very poor people. Being a solo male, I did not have any problems walking the streets around the hotel on my own taking in the sights of how people live but minding my surrounds. Just be alert. Food places round the corner. 7/11 sells takeaway beer. Intramurus, memorial gardens and Chinatown are actually walkable distance from Tune Hotel. Long walk, but you see a lot more. Just DON'T get into a taxi if driver is not willing to run the meter (anywhere in Manila). Even to/from the airport. They will rip you off big time. Hotel good for one or two night stay. Adequte for hot shower & sleep on a clean bed with clean linen, in a reasonably clean budget room. Don't expect a staff member to show you the room. Front desk understaffed at times. Expect to pay 60peso for luggage storage.

Room Tip: Room away from the elevators is always good. Too much noise from people waiting for lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KamChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Cheap, bit dirty, filipino style. Here they want money now ane they don't think to the future. During the night there was not electricity but this hotel dont have a generator. So no aircon , no light, no elevator but no discount. Brown out happen very often in manila during rain season. Think about

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank 15082013-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is our first time to stay at tune hotel. Their rooms are very basic, a small room (less than a meter of walking space) with a comfortable bed, a safe, hairdryer and a bathroom with hot shower. It seems strange to pay extra for airconditioning when the room rate isn’t that cheap. We also have to purchase the entertainment package (cable tv) which is good for 24h but is not spreadable for the entire stay, thus purchase it when you need it. Also take note that sometimes, the tv just shut down automatically at 11am even though the 24h isn’t totally consumed yet. I hope the next time we will stay here, they will have additional towel bar, as we have to hang our towels/clothes on the door handle.
Restaurants, and a church is nearby, the nearest mall is about 15 mins by foot. Since this hotel is in the red light district of manila, please don’t be flashy when loitering in this area. Expensive jewelry/bags is a big no no. There are a lot of people who make the streets their home. We haven’t encountered any beggars though. For snacks and some basic needs, 7-11 is just at the entrance of the hotel. The rent a car service in the hotel charges an arm and a leg, use the taxi and jeepney, which are abundant in front of the hotel for going around the metro.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yl_len246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staid for one night in August 2012. Great appearance from the outside and good value for money if you book ahead. Hotel is quite new but there were two systemic issues that spoiled my stay. Firstly: All room doors close very hard and loudly due to the lack of buffers or other other mechanisms for soft closing of doors. You can hear the neighbors closing the doors across the entire floor. Therefore I could not sleep well. Secondly: Because this is a budget hotel with Airconditioning as an extra paid option (meaning the aircon wont run all the time) and Manila is quite humid as a city the humidity goes down on the bed sheets and pillow cases. Bed feels not dry and has unpleasant smell. Both issues appeared systemic to me and not just related to the particular room I staid in.

Room Tip: You choose that room which is next to the Emergency stairs. It has no neighbour. There is just one s...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Dr Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I've stayed at this Tune Hotel three times now, and I will continue to do so. My wife's family lives in Malate, and for the past few years whenever we come to visit them we've found ourselves staying in dumps who charge twice what the rates at Tune are. It's nice to finally have a place that I know is cheap, convenient, and doesn't smell like doo-doo. The rooms are small (maybe not Hong-Kong small), but they get the job done. Great shower. Also, as the hotel is fairly new some of the rooms don't have the fan built yet. If you get one of these rooms you will receive free air-con, so go ahead and ask for a fan-less room before all the rooms are completed! A reviewer below complained about the power outage fiasco, and I was also there that night. It was very uncomfortable (and a little scary), and the staff did seem confused and timid. I'm not going to crap on Tune Hotel just because of that night, although I do hope they learned something about emergency planning. On any other given night, this hotel is definitely worth the money. Book a few weeks ahead for the lowest rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phizzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
713 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
268 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Planet Mabini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Planet Mabini

Property: Red Planet Mabini
Address: 1740 A Mabini Street, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Red Planet Ermita)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Planet Mabini 2.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Ermita, famous for its nightlife and restaurants and close to leading tourist attractions, the 167-room Red Planet Mabini, Manila is the embodiment of a group philosophy that places guests in the centre of the action. After a 30-minute drive from Manila International Airport, the hotel is the perfect entrée to a pulsating destination that serves up nearby experiences like Roxas Boulevard, a row of al fresco restaurants overlooking Manila Bay, the Cultural Centre of the Philippines, Manila Ocean Park and SM Mall of Asia, the Philippines' largest mall. The Pedro Gil Light Rail Transit station is a kilometer away. The Red Planet Mabini, Manila has redefined the value-hotel sector by offering an all-inclusive rate for every room, every night. All rooms have free high-speed Wi-Fi, soothing power showers, quality custom-made beds with upscale linen and many other features including air conditioning, in-room safes, hair dryers, ceiling fans and a 32-inch flat screen TV. There are no hidden costs in the room rates or the amenities we provide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Planet Mabini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing