We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bayleaf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bayleaf
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A hotel to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

I recently stayed at the Bayleaf Hotel in Manila. I didn't know much about it other than what I'd read online. But it from the moment I entered the hotel, I knew my stay there would be a pleasant one. The reception staff was extremely friendly and I was welcomed with smiles that really seemed genuine. The bellboy was full of information about the hotel and the area (Intramuros) of Manila. The breakfast was great, with a mix of local, Asian, and Western food. The roof garden is a very pleasant place to dine at night and the buffet, quite good. My room was spotless with a very comfortable bed. The TV had enough channels to satisfy any traveller. And the desk staff, particularly Lester, Rodel, Jen and Jed were extremely helpful in assisting me to decide which tours were best for me. There is nothing negative I can say about this hotel. It is excellent and much more intimate and friendly than any of the big chains. I highly recommend anyone going to Manila to stay at The Bayleaf. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    534
    99
    33
    13
See reviews for
226
649
157
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hotel was booked by company's local branch, as usual Manila hotel was full. I had opportunity to use every services provided during a one-week stay. The facilities are good, but nothing special. No pool, no gym, unsafe surroundings after 8pm. Sky bar is definitely a place to experience, but expect a PHP700 surcharge if your want to enjoy view from the bar mezzanine. It's a decent choice in Manila and a good one for Intramuros, but nothing spectacular. Better places to stay indeed in Manila.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoNonSenseTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

A nice and affordable boutique hotel just inside one of the remaining battlements of Intramuros, and overall a very good value.
Having stayed in Makati many times, I thought I'd give the Intramuros area a try as a change-of-pace base. The Bayleaf is more intimate than the downtown hotels, and offers a nice quiet room and free breakfast for less money. Good buffet breakfast is included and the Skybar is open late. Internet is fast, free, and there is an inexpensive cafe down the block if you don't bring your electronics. Staff is friendly, well-trained – Francis Serrano answers emails quickly and ably.
Only minus is that cabs sometimes don't want to "go downtown" and you may have to allow extra time for pick-up and traffic / negotiate fares on return. The hotel might work out a relationship with a local company. Even here, though, the staff hurls itself into the street on your behalf.
I would strongly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taichionthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We arrived at the Bayleaf bleary-eyed and exhausted following an overnight flight to Manila. The hotel staff (Jo Lao Ay, Santi and Bianca) were beyond accommodating, and helped us with an early check-in. Staff also helped to coordinate our airport transport and offered advice on what to see in the area. The Bayleaf is set within the historical district of the Intramuros, which was interesting and easily explored on foot. Our room was excellent and had a view of the city. If you are looking for non-traditional skyscraper Manila, book here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

stopped at the bayleaf twice in November,first time was after flying from Manchester via Dubai (16 hours flying) what a relief when we walked inside very clean ,great rooms,fantastic service. after a welcome shower we went up too the skybar which is situated on the roof of the hotel, fantastic views of manila skyline if the pollution is not too thick, live band playing and the food was good, stayed again on our last night in manila just as good.on the down side if you fly into manila from the islands and hit the rush hour 4pm to 10pm it is a nightmare pollution is very bad and it took one and a half hours to get from the airport to the hotel our internal flight was only 1 hour , put this to one side and the Philippines is a fantastic place to visit.ps do not let the typhoon or the earthquake put you off these people depend on tourists .

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's not luxurious, It's not expansive. But it lies in the best place in Manila city, Intramuros, and it is quite near the SM Shopping Mall. And it has a welcoming and warm service by all of its staffs. The room is so nice and the rooftop skydeck restaurant is wonderful where you can get a view of Intramuros for 360 view. Next time I will also choose Bayleaf.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superboychao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The service is excellent. The hotel is modern and clean. The beds are comfortable. The place is top notch and very secure. The rooms have a nice view overlooking the wall surrounding Intramuros and the golf course. Also, the breakfast buffet at the 9 Spoons is good and you have a great view of the city. Or go up one more flight of stairs and have morning coffee on the Sky Deck. Also, if you stay here have the hotel staff arrange for transport service with Leandro taxi. Jun, the driver, is a super nice guy who is very reliable and knowledgeable of the area and all areas around Manila.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf

Property: The Bayleaf
Address: Muralla corner Victoria Streets | Intramuros, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bayleaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing