We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis within cultural Intramuros district”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bayleaf Intramuros
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We arrived at the Bayleaf bleary-eyed and exhausted following an overnight flight to Manila. The hotel staff (Jo Lao Ay, Santi and Bianca) were beyond accommodating, and helped us with an early check-in. Staff also helped to coordinate our airport transport and offered advice on what to see in the area. The Bayleaf is set within the historical district of the Intramuros, which was interesting and easily explored on foot. Our room was excellent and had a view of the city. If you are looking for non-traditional skyscraper Manila, book here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

891 - 897 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

stopped at the bayleaf twice in November,first time was after flying from Manchester via Dubai (16 hours flying) what a relief when we walked inside very clean ,great rooms,fantastic service. after a welcome shower we went up too the skybar which is situated on the roof of the hotel, fantastic views of manila skyline if the pollution is not too thick, live band playing and the food was good, stayed again on our last night in manila just as good.on the down side if you fly into manila from the islands and hit the rush hour 4pm to 10pm it is a nightmare pollution is very bad and it took one and a half hours to get from the airport to the hotel our internal flight was only 1 hour , put this to one side and the Philippines is a fantastic place to visit.ps do not let the typhoon or the earthquake put you off these people depend on tourists .

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

It's not luxurious, It's not expansive. But it lies in the best place in Manila city, Intramuros, and it is quite near the SM Shopping Mall. And it has a welcoming and warm service by all of its staffs. The room is so nice and the rooftop skydeck restaurant is wonderful where you can get a view of Intramuros for 360 view. Next time I will also choose Bayleaf.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superboychao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The service is excellent. The hotel is modern and clean. The beds are comfortable. The place is top notch and very secure. The rooms have a nice view overlooking the wall surrounding Intramuros and the golf course. Also, the breakfast buffet at the 9 Spoons is good and you have a great view of the city. Or go up one more flight of stairs and have morning coffee on the Sky Deck. Also, if you stay here have the hotel staff arrange for transport service with Leandro taxi. Jun, the driver, is a super nice guy who is very reliable and knowledgeable of the area and all areas around Manila.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Baylef Hotel ranked 1st in trip advisor and I understood why. I searched for the best hotels near Manila Ocean Park as me and my husband went there the next day. I read the reviews for this hotel and have to try it for ourselves.

We had a slight difficulty reaching the hotel since the cab driver didn't know where exactly the hotel is. So I used the link from Trip Advisor 'directions' but it wasn't accurate. I had to use google maps and search The Bayleaf Hotel and it took us to the right place.

The moment we enter the hotel, we were greeted by a welcoming staff. The hotel staff could make or break a person's stay in a hotel. They are very accomodating and the place is very nice. It really helps when they smile and answer all our concerns. We only had a 1 night stay in the hotel and our room got upgraded to a mini suite at no extra charge with free breakfast buffet to boot! Yey! We didn't even tell beforehand that we just got married 2 days ago and it's indeed a wonderful experience.

They ask for a P1000 deposit or your credit card upon registration in case you'll have to use services like laundry and eat/drink items inside the guest room. The excess will be refunded back upon check-out. Check-in is at 2pm and check-out is at 12nn. They also do not have keys but instead, they use an access card which is access to floors that have guest rooms and our room itself. This is a security feature since the Sky Deck bar at the rooftop and 9spoons restaurant are both located upstairs inside the hotel and accessible to all people who are going to dine there. The only comment I have is that there should be a sitting area while waiting for the elevator to open. We asked someone to accompany us upstairs and the hotel lady who took us to the 5th floor had to go back downstairs to request activate the access card as it didn't open our room the first try. It took her less than 3minutes and we just have to busy ourselves taking a few pictures of the green walled flowery carpeted hallway with matching flowery painting at one corner. Btw, upon entering the room, there is a slot to place the card which also serves as "key" to the electricity inside the guest room.

We ate dinner at the Sky Deck which is at the rooftop. It opens from 5pm untill 1am. The ambiance is just right as it balances the mood and the exterior furnishings. There's a slight drizzle that night but they provided big umbrellas to protect us.

Our room is cozy. The bathroom has an overhead shower which is nice even if there's no bathtub. The toilet is separated to the shower area by a sink area at the middle that also has hot and cold water. It also has a blow dryer fixed at the wall of the comfort room which I like. There are a few drinks and beers in the small fridge below the flat screen TV. My feedback here is even if the room is set to a 10degree temp, because of the mini fridge, it emanates the heat which dissipates the coolness of the AC. Suggestion is either move the vent of the AC or move the bed below the AC vent so it'll feel cool when you sleep. Or better yet, move the fridge away! Hehe. The view of Manila and Intramuros walls inside the room is great! But the floor length window is not tinted outside so be careful when opening the curtains and the blinds if you don't wanna be "exposed" in the streets of Intramuros.

The next day, we took our complimentary breakfast buffet at 9spoons. It opens from 6:30am until 10:30am for breakfast, then different time for lunch. They ushered us to our seat and even asked if we want to be seated near the buffet or near the window overlooking the city. We took the one near the buffet. Once seated, they asked what drinks we want. I had green tea to start the day and hubby had his usual coffee. The buffet has the usual breakfast food: daing na bangus, salted egg, hard boiled egg, ham with pineapple, hamonado, I think there's aIso tapa but am not too sure. I was amazed they have an open toaster to warm breads. They have jams, croissants, cereals and champorado! They also cook omelette on the side with tomatoes and onions. They also have an array of fruits and salads with matching dips as well.

It's been a while since I posted a feedback and all these are experiences we had at The Bayleaf hotel. Overall, we were very satisfied and we would still comeback and enjoy it all over. Good job!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracemari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We hit the best place to stay in Manila. We had a wonderful surprise as we entered the lobby of the Bay Leaf Hotel, seeing the modern design, meeting the friendly and efficient staff, we knew that we booked at the right hotel. It didn't stop there, the rooms are modern and clean, bathrooms spacious and of course, clean! The special treat is the roof top lounge, where cocktails and dinner is served with the most spectacular views of the city and the Manila Bay! This must be the only place where you get to see this. I have the Bayleaf Hotel noted in my travel book as the hotel to return to on my next trip to Manila, and will recommend it on to anyone interested in visiting Manila.

Room Tip: We had the room with a view to the golf course, that was beautiful. Our sunsets were spent up at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George1156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is my 2nd visit to the Bayleaf since last July, and i simply don't know of any other superlatives that can be bestowed on this hotel.
One constant, both actual, and in the reviews of other people, is the staff here.
In terms of genuine friendliness and helpfulness, they are the cream of the crop bar none !!
Forget the palatial 5 star hotels like The Diamond, and The Pan Pacific, The Bayleaf is THE only place to stay in Manila.
In my 2 stays here, i have made some very good friends, including general staff, and the management team.
I keep in touch with them, even from home in Australia.
Great friendly and attentive staff WILL be the highlight of your stay here at the Bayleaf, you canbe assured of that.
To Ed (General Manager) and all your wonderful staff, thank you so much (maraming salamat) for the fantastic welcome back, and for yet another great stay.
I can't wait to come back and see you guys in March.

Room Tip: Premier rooms are great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,216 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayleaf Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayleaf Intramuros

Address: | Intramuros, Muralla corner Victoria Streets, Manila, Luzon 1002, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $57 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bayleaf Intramuros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayleaf is the only boutique hotel in the heart of the country's premiere heritage site, the Intramuros -the seat of Spanish government more established than 400 years ago. Located inside massive walls, Intramuros is home to very old churches, museums, national parks and courtyards.With 57 rooms and suites, The Bayleaf also has 5 modern meetings rooms, a 280 capacity ballroom, an all day dining panoramic restaurant on the 9th floor, a roof deck al fresco lounge on the deck and a rustic Churros cafe on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bayleaf Intramuros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing