We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bayleaf Intramuros
Nearby Hotels
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$117
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Suites(Manila)(Great Value!)
$58
$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H2O(Manila)
$71
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Manila Central(Manila)(Great Value!)
$64
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$38
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveler rating
857
587
106
37
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
857
587
106
37
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barspoons restaurantchurrosbay leafinside intramuroswithin the wallsthe penthousewalled citydegree viewmanila skylinetop floormodern hotelrizal parknational museumegg stationbreakfast buffetsuperior room
Filter
Updating list...
1,176 - 1,181 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Got upgraded to a room with a great view of the city on arrival. Room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was nice, nothing amazing but for the price and the view from the restaurant we were very happy. Staff were very helpful and attentive and helped out advising when we should leave for the airport. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elbekay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

from the moment I booked the hotel they exceeded all of my expectations. the restaurant is excellent. The view of the golf course is magnificent. you receive 5 star service at a 3 star price. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiker1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews here. Whilst we enjoyed our stay, there were a number of factors which were irritating and spoilt what would otherwise have been a perfect stay. On the positive side, the hotel is situated in a nice area and has some great views. Manila isn't the nicest city in the world, but here you feel like you're in a bit of an oasis away from the grime and seediness experienced in some other areas. The room was nice, although it was very small. Staff were friendly, but sometimes seemed almost too formal and like they were following a script, and therefore were unable to be flexible or show any initiative when required. The issues we had which irritated us (and prevent me from giving a higher rating) are as follows:

* Despite having guaranteed our booking online by credit card, front-of-house staff insisted that we pay up-front. I have never before had to pay at a hotel before check-out. In itself it wasn't a problem, but it was our last day in the Philippines and we were trying to work out whether to pay cash or credit card depending on our remaining funds (not wanting to exchange additional money or have any left over unnecessarily). The staff insisted we pay there and then - which was odd considering they said that, if we wanted, they could bill it to the credit card on file (but it had to happen that second). If they had a card on file what would be the harm in waiting till later till we sorted out our finances. They made us feel like they thought we'd leave without paying or something!! Also, what was worse was that there was no consistency to this policy. The first member of staff said we could pay on check-out, but this was then contradicted by the person who ultimately carried out our check-in.

* Although there is 'free wifi' in the room, this only applies to one person/device. Any additional useage incurs a fee. I found this ridiculous! In a double room surely it's fair to expect both people to want to go online at some point (and on separate devices!). In this day and age it's crazy not to have free wifi throughout. Even the cheapest places we stayed in the Philippine islands offered unrestricted free wifi.

* It was unfortunately Valentine's day on the night of our stay (completely co-incidental), meaning we were unable to access the SkyView deck during the day (they were setting up) and, at night, there was a special Valentine's meal (priced at 1500php per person). We don't celebrate Valentine's and didn't want to spend so much money (especially given I'm vegetarian and really don't get any value out of a meat-oriented buffet). We asked at reception whether it was essential to have the special meal, or if we could order a la carte. We were told 'they ENCOURAGED guests to have the special meal'. When I said we didn't want to, the lady told us she could recommend some other restaurants in the vicinity. In other words she was telling us we weren't welcome in the hotel. This really riled me. They were throwing out their guests in order to accommodate couples just coming to the hotel for dinner. We went to the restaurant anyway that evening and asked if there was any availability. We were told they were fully booked!! Why weren't we told when we checked in about the event in case we wanted to book? (we only knew about it because I happened to see a poster somewhere in the hotel). We asked if we could go up to the SkyDeck just to take a look, which they reluctantly agreed to. In the end, a manager (and the only person there with any sense) said it was fine for us to go up and have a drink as not all the pre-booked tables would arrive so early. As it turned out we were able to stay all evening AND order a la carte (not before first being told more fictitious rules about having to spend a minimum of 1500 php per person - which was not in fact the case). This whole shenanigan left a very sour taste in our mouth. The restaurant wasn't totally full at any time we were there and anyone with any sense would have known you can have more than one sitting. It makes good business sense to sell a few extra drinks inbetween if you can. So in the end we were aggravated for nothing - thanks only to inexperienced staff with no proper understanding of hotel policies and no ability to use their initiative. I understand that the hotel wants to cash-in on Valentine's but it shouldn't be at the detriment of their guests. I have never stayed in a hotel before where guests are denied access to bars/restaurants on the basis that they are full of non-guests! The hotel should always have kept some space for hotel guests. It is unacceptable that you book a night in a hotel and are forced out....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the golf course/old walls
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anokhi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is well maintained with excellent staff who absolutely know what theyre doing. Our room had a very good view of the old wall and just walking distance to the must-sees in Intramuros. Highly recommended when in Manila.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tunatuna-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed two nights at this wonderful hotel. We arrived very early from our flights and were welcomed by a fantastic buffet breakfast with wonderful coffee. The breakfast room was high up so we got some great morning views of Manilla. The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful especially to our two young children. The rooms have been presented with very modern touches especially the bathrooms. It is situated right in the historic part of Manilla, which is very interesting. The sky deck in the evenings, was absolutely beautiful and enjoyed even by our young children.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoGeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews