We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager of the staff is absolutely inefficient !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Hotel Manila
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Armada hotel in Malate is an excellent structure,
but the management of the hotel is really bad , really incredible the complete absence of the Personnel Manager ,
I have been several times customer
to the Armada Hotel for several years,
but now the lack of lady Maricar ( on maternity leave )
do you really feel !
I have had
a problem with a front desk girl
really not kind
with the customers, at this point I have asked several times to speak to the manager (a man ), but the (so-called Manager)
has systematically refused a meeting with me (customer of the hotel ) !
A fact
really
unbelievable but really true !
The manager of the staff is absolutely inefficient,
the staff is absolutely
in the chaos, the current Manager
is
absolutely
not able to fill this role,
I think that the situation will return to normal
with the return of the lady Maricar !
Truly incredible rejection of the Manager to meet a long-time customer !
Piero Lauro Manca Italy

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierremanconi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

We are very sorry to hear your disappointments during your recent stay in Armada Hotel Manila.
We already discussed your comments to the Front office Team and rest assured it will not happen again.

Please feel free to email me for your next reservation at rdm@armadamanila.com. I would be glad to assist you.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Maricar M. Dy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Armada Hotel Manila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 301 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Bell boys and concierge service - outstanding. Reception - not friendly and think customer owes them a favour instead of other way around - for them 1 star. Room service was not very responsive - agree that tropical storm did not help. Stayed in a premium room. Very big room, however toilet very tiny, no curtain on window and appartments can see into toilet ! I would look for hotels around Makati city next time - nothing much around besides the Aristocrat restaurant which I was not overly impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeT2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

We deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations; we hope you will allow us the opportunity to even serve you better in the future.

We will take note of each comment and to ensure this is addressed with the staff and management concern.

For future reservations you may email me directly at rdm@armadamanila.com .I would be glad to assist you.

Best Regards,
Maricar M. Dy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having no idea what I was in for, this hotel was very good. The neighborhood though is a little sketchy.

The hotel was clean, the staff was nice,spa is cheap and relaxing, pool was refreshing and rooms spacious and clean. They also put up politely with our large crew.

Negatives are the restaurant is overpriced and completely average food. I also got to the hotel knackered and just said "whatever" and got my laundry done and they charged me 1600 pesos. I should have read a little closer but still outlandish prices.

If you are staying in Malate, I can't imagine a nicer hotel having been there. Big recommendation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Djlocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Efficient friendly check in. Large comfortable room. Hotel location good for shopping and business. Nice pool and facilities on rooftop.

Even though I was a returning customer, Hotel required to take card payment in full plus a 2000 peso deposit for incidentals, which was agreed and paid. Upon check out I was told that the deposit would be refunded in about 2 weeks. When I questioned why so long, they suddenly pretended that they had only pre authorised the card payment at check in and would not be taking the deposit. However they did not ask me to pay for the room again. When I asked what they were talking about they pretended not to understand and maintained they had not taken anything but the room charge...however my Credit Card receipt showed otherwise. Poor service and lies dont get return customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel and I enjoyed it. Before leaving for Manila I had second-thoughts about the hotels but The Armada easily a very good choice. The only downer for me was I stubbed my toe on the little step in the bathroom. It was a very painful experience and should have reported it to Management. I did not book this hotel, (my friend did) so I cannot compare the price to other hotels. But on the whole I can recommend the Armada to anyone who wishes to stay in Manila. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was cleaned everyday. Whoever sees to the complimentary items should check that these are replenished when the room is cleaned as of the three days I spent there, on two occassions did I have to "borrow" tea bags and sugar from my friends room. Luckily they are not big tea and coffee drinkers. Again , I will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank downunder4307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Greetings from Armada Hotel Manila!

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It is our pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit here in Armada Hotel Manila.
However, we are sorry to hear about the replenishment of your amenities in the room we have noted your comments together with the Housekeeping Team and we sincerely apologize for this.
Kindly email me at rdm@armadamanila.com on your next booking I will be glad to personally assist you.

Best Regards,
Maricar M. Dy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Let me start by saying that the hotel staff was great!!! The staff did everything they could to make my vacation more pleasant. However, the management is terrible!!! Let me explain, they want 100% payment up front!!! They constantly harass you about paying your bill, I booked my room on line, checked in and they asked for a deposit, so I agreed, then after that, all they kept asking for the next three days was, where is my payment in full!!! To the extent, that they left notes in the room to remind me and then called me every two hours until I paid in full!!! Afterwards, I went to charge meals to room service, and was told, they would like a cash payment instead... again, what is the reason!! I did pay for my 10 day stay, and yet they still wanted cash in lieu of waiting until checkout for my incidentals. Plus I find out after wards, that there is a charge to use the pool if you have more than the allotted people in the room... e.g., if you are one person, then only you may use the pool, if you have a guest, then they charge an extra 250 pesos for the pool... I can't understand why the hotel would charge extra for the pool, unless you are having a party or something... I will NOT use this hotel again... I do NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a premium room on the 12th floor, and it was great, very little noise at all!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markpcramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel deserves a 4.5 star rating!

My fiance and I had a 5-Day trip to Manila to relax and get away from busy lives and as a pre-birthday trip for me.

From the moment we checked in, I knew that our stay would be great. By the time we arrived the hotel, our room is ready. And we were allowed to check in earlier and in breeze.

Bellman made sure we are comfortable by offering to help us with our luggage and in all smiles.

Hotel interior is very modern but chic in style. I almost forgot that I am in Malate Area (which is initially an issue for me, as it could mean busy and noisy.)

Location: Good as it is 5 to 10 min walking distance from Malate Church, Roxas Boulevard, Korean Restaurants, Bars, Hyatt Hotel & Casino and other key attractions. Cabs is available as the hotel is within the street of MH Del Pilar (leading to Quirino Ave & Roxas Blvd). But not relatively safe for a girl traveller.

Hotel Lobby: Good interior with comfortable lounge, security, well-working elevator that can accommodate 4 to 5 guests at a time.

Room: Best thing I liked about our stay was the room itself. Upon entering the room, nice and clean scent welcomed us that gave us that extra-homey feeling. Rooms are very big, clean, flat screen cable TV with good reception, mini bar, coffee & tea facilities with daily replenishment, huge comfortable king sized bed with bed side lamps, dresser, safety deposit box, AC working very well, working table with lamp and city view. The photos did not do justice to it (my opinion).

Toilet & Bath: As a traveller, I am very keen with shower room. Armada’s was one of the cleanest. Overhead hot & cold shower with good water pressure (though sometimes, weak), toilet with videt and marble top sink which is very clean. Daily replenishment of toiletries adds to great stay.

Housekeeping: Very good and excellent, we usually go out during lunch time and when we come back; our room is well kept and clean with covers and towels changed. I forgot the staff name, but that guy has good service skills that exceeded our expectations.

Swimming Pool/Gym/Spa: Top floor pool is little bit small but is well kept, from there you can have a good view of the city and partial view of Manila Bay as some high-rise buildings are blocking it. But it was okay, especially at sunset and night. Gym looks nice and not bad for a small hotel. My fiancé tried the spa on the 3rd floor, and he said it was not bad for P 2,800.00 (2 ½ hours); hotel massage price not realistic for me.

We did not try their restaurants but I think it is open until late nights though most of the time it’s empty.

This is a small boutique hotel that is modern and has what other 5-star hotels can offer which is a value for money. Overall, my fiancé and I did enjoy our quick trip and will surely go back!

Room Tip: High Floor and Corner Rooms are great choice!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMsIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel.
On your next visit please try our Thai restaurant located at the Amenity Floor , serves genuine Thai cuisine.On your next booking kindly email me at rdm@armadamanila.com I would be glad to assist you.
Thank you once again and we really appreciate your good feedback with us.

Best Regards,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
252 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
276 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#20 of 109 in Manila
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#22 of 109 in Manila
658 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#15 of 109 in Manila
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel Manila

Address: 2108 Del Pilar St, Manila, Luzon 1009, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $55 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armada Hotel Manila offers a warm, deluxe hotel experience with 96 comfortable rooms and suites, state-of-the-art facilities and great comfort in the bay area. The centrally located hotel in Manila features a premier restaurant serving sumptuous international cuisine and Filipino specialties; complete amenities and efficient service; as well as ideal spaces for meetings, conferences and intimate social functions. Situated within the heart of culturally rich district of Malate, Armada Hotel Manila is accessible to several shopping malls, convention centers, and domestic and international airport terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Armada Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing