We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Excellent Service & Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Armada Hotel Manila
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My stay in this hotel is accidental, or, as a consequence of my being bumped off from my confirmed reservation in a hotel with the same sounding name: Ramada Hotel in Binondo, Manila, which will deserve another review after I have consumed my re-booking there this December 1.

Honestly, I have not heard of this hotel previously probably because of its location which is in an obscure, dimly-lit end of MH Del Pilar stretch in Malate, Manila, which becomes rather dreadful to walk along at night. Yet, to my surprise, I have enjoyed my stay in this hotel.

PROS:
The room where I stayed in Rm1109 is spacious and clean, toilet fixtures (shower, shower hose, faucets, dryer, bidet, etc.) are new and excellent. There are three sets of towel (as opposed to two sets in other hotels), and the toiletries are fine (except that there is no shaving kit and comb), There are night robes, safety deposit box, laundry bag cloths, wide clothes cabinet, several hangers, large-sized toilet and bathroom, 32" LCD TV with clear cable channels signal and a comfortable king sized bed. There's also a fridge (with no freezer) and a lounge chair with leg rest stool. The air-conditioning system is also working well with no noise and my room has windows facing two sides of the city, one fronting the beautiful scenery of Manila Bay in the west and the other the street scene of Taft Avenue in the East. Service is also good, with everybody in the hotel cheerful and very helpful. There's also a complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity and the daily newspaper ration. The kitchen countertop is equipped with Electric Kettle and Ice Bucket (which has no use since the fridge does not have a freezer to produce ice). The place is a about 50 meters from Malate Church and near Roxas Boulevard Malate Plaza where restos, malls, night spots, offices, 24-hour convenience stores, embassies and other hotels are proximate. The buffet breakfast, though not much of a food variety, is excellent with good tasting and well-prepared food and restaurant staff very helpful. I enjoyed the infinity pool at the roof top as the facilites there are clean and well maintained. Since I am a gym rat, I always find time to visit hotel gyms whenever there are and I must say that Armada has one of the finest gym equipment in town. They have hi-tech treadmills and stationary bikes that let's you watch TV, surf the internet, listen to radio and all the other features you can do with touch-screen monitors that are attached to each one of them while doing your work out, the weights are clean and in A-1 condition and there is a variety of machines to work up every part of your body.

CONS:
As stared above, the location is quite disappointing as it is situated in a rather remote portion of the Malate tourist zone where you might be worried going out on foot at night since the place gets really dark and there are some bystanders in the area. There is no problem though when you want to stroll in the day. If checking in was a breeze, check out was rather slow, eating up about 15 minutes considering there were only two of us who are checking out at the same time that day.

Room Tip: Book through the net to save you money as the published rate of this hotel is twice the rates you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our facilities in the hotel.
Many agree with you that we have the finest gym equipment and our outdoor swimming pool has stunning views of Manila Bay and it is one of the top features of Armada Hotel Manila.
Regretfully, your departure was marred when your check-out took longer than you anticipated. . We will retrain and amend our check-out process to ensure that this type of event will not occur in the future.
Once again, thank you for sharing your thoughts we look forward to welcoming you back to Armada Hotel Manila!

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

I recently spent approx 18 days in your hotel Rm 1205. Your staff was friendly but not overly attentive in the resturant. While there everytime we went to eat your wait staff never approched us to inquire if we wanted coffee/water, we had to wave our arms to attract their attention to be served. The food was tastey but not overly so and was priced approx three times what the local resturants were charging. Your rooms were nice but we only had Wifi the first 2 days there and I was required to open the door to the hall or go out and sit on the stairs to use my computer. The water pressure was poor and your hotel didnot have international calling allowed on the phones nor could you call local cell phones from your phone. Overall I rate your establishment a 3 out of 5 and that only because of your frontdesk staff and housecleaning. I do not recommend you beds either they are hard and uncomfortable,, your bar was closed the whole trip, your Tai rest. on the roof was poorly staffed and did not even carry what was advertised on it's menu..Your establishment needs alot of rework.

Room Tip: Looking out of our room the view was of the other rooms window, the beds are hard, the resturant sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icy69hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your constructive feedback. We greatly appreciate you for taking the time to share your experienced during your stay with us. We will ensure you that we will give recognition to all Front Desk and Housekeeping staff for a job well done.
Sorry to hear that your breakfast was marred because of the inconsistent service at the Caliber Restaurant and that it left such a lasting impression on you. I will discuss it with our Food and Beverage Manager and to our Chef to ensure this is addressed with the staff and management concerned.
Similarly, we regret that you encountered problems in our Wifi connection however; we upgraded our internet system, which caused some unexpected poor connection during the time of your stay. We are also currently working most closely to give the full service of our telephone system.
We deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations; we hope you will allow us the opportunity to even serve you better in the future.
For future reservations you may email me directly at rdm@armadamanila.com .I would be glad to assist you.

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Overall a very pleasant four night stay. Chose to have a premium room large and well appointed excellent bed. Bathroom adequate shower over bath. Aspect - we had a rear room which had an open view across the city. Staff always very willing to help although the reception staff were a little difficult to engage! Restaurant at roof top lacked atmosphere but I did enjoy a snack. The pool although relatively small had a brilliant view to the bay - very clean and well presented.

Room Tip: Premium room was worth the extra. Access is not ideal but I felt safe at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulACTAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing Armada Hotel Manila. We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and the willingness of our staff. However, we regret that you encounter some difficulties with the reception staff, we have taken serious notes with your comments and will ensure to discuss it with them.
We will look forward to the pleasure in welcoming you back at Armada Hotel Manila

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here on an unscheduled stop in manila (flight canceled). Staff are efficient & friendly, room clean& modern

Pros:
Staff helpful & friendly
Rooftop pool had great view and clean
Rooftop restaurant reasonably priced (thai food) and great view

Cons:
Too far from airport (30-50 mins depending on traffic)
Massage too expensive (800 in house, 300-400 outside hotel)

Would use another hotel in future due to location

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your stop in Manila and for appreciating the friendliness of our staff as well as the restaurant and facilities of the hotel.
As you have mentioned, that our massage is too expensive- Our Spa Manager is currently working on various spa promotions for our guest satisfaction. We hope the distance of the hotel from the airport will not discourage you to book with us again.
Once again thank you so much for your kind feedback and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you once again.

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I Choose this hotel because of the good reviews on trip advisor and i was not disappointed,I Agree the location wasnt the best but the hotel more then made up for this,The breakfast was to die for.The staff were superb and friendly and always made me feel welcome.
i stayed on the ninth floor in a premier room and it was lovely.A local paper was left by the door every morning and the room was cleaned at wot ever hour i needed.Bathroom was massive and had all comp toiletries.
Slippers,robe,safe were all given as no extra charge and as i booked on hotels.com i had no hidden charges at all.A deposit was taken on arrival and had no problems getting it back.
Also the hotel also offered me the option of leaving my bags so i could island hop.
Would i stay in this hotel again.100 % I would.

Room Tip: well ninth floor was ace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bazza1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Armada Hotel Manila and we truly appreciate you for taking the time to offer your words of appreciation, we are very delighted to hear that you appreciate the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms- we will ensure that we will maintain our good service to meet our guest satisfaction.
Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to being of service again in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Maricar M. Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have just returned from The Phillipines and i spent 6 nights in the Centara Hotel at the start of my vacation.
When i got into my Taxi at the Airport i handed the driver the address of the hotel. He was a little puzzled, obviously I was his first customer to this hotel. But around 20 minutes later we arrived safe and well, i survived the notorious Manila Traffic ...... it is unbelievably busy and in my humble opinion even worse than the traffic i experienced in Beijing...

The door of my taxi was promptly opened by a member of the Hotel staff and i was taken to the check-in desk, my luggage following closly behind.

Check-in was without problem and a few requests i had emailed to them the week before were taken care of without any fuss or additional cost.

I was taken to my room by a very friendly member of staff and he showed me all the features of the room. The room was amazingly large, furnishings were in excellent condition and the bathroom was well stocked with all the necessary items needed for personnel use, including Bathrobes.

Breakfast was included in my room rate, it was adequate for my needs and the Coffee was really good and plentyful. Staff in the Breakfast Restaurant were extremly attentive, ensuring i had everything i needed.

During my stay a restaurant on the Top Floor was relaunched, it is now a Thai Restaurant and i had the opportunity to dine there on a few occassions. I would recommend anyone to give it a try if staying in the Hotel or in the area.

Overall i have nothing negative to say about this hotel, i have only praise for the staff and their attention to even the smallest details.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, thank you so much for your 6 nights stay in Armada Hotel Manila (Formerly Centara Hotel). I am so sorry to hear about the traffic you experienced from the Airport to the hotel. However, I am happy to inform you that we are currently working on various promotions to build up the awareness of all taxi drivers.
Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback, we are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and it is such a pleasure to receive compliments about our staff, your comments had been passed to them and it was greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Centara Hotel is very beautiful and luxurious hotel. Rooms are large and clean with nice bathroom. I was very happy with the bed, that is really wide and provides a good night's sleep. From the roof of the hotel is a beautiful view of the city and there is also a swimming pool which is open throughout the day.Breakfast is very good and rich, it is always a choice of several kinds of food.The hotel is also a good starting point for shopping and trips to the historical part of Manila. The only negative aspect is dirty and unsightly area around the hotel, but this is simply Manila.The only exception is Makati district.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArmadaHM, Rooms Division Manager at Armada Hotel Manila, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to inform you of our new name Armada Hotel Manila. We greatly appreciate that you enjoyed your overall experience in our hotel and for appreciating the cleanliness of our rooms.

Nonetheless, we will pass on your comments to our Chef for your good feedback on our breakfast.

We are most delighted in welcoming you back to the Armada Hotel Manila, we readily awaits to warmly serve you again.

Sincerely,

Maricar Dy
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 110 in Manila
255 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#19 of 110 in Manila
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#13 of 110 in Manila
286 reviews
Ramada Manila Central
#7 of 110 in Manila
499 reviews
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Hotel Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Hotel Manila

Address: 2108 Del Pilar St, Manila, Luzon 1009, Philippines (Formerly Centara Hotel Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Hotel Manila 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armada Hotel Manila offers a warm, deluxe hotel experience with 96 comfortable rooms and suites, state-of-the-art facilities and great comfort in the bay area. The centrally located hotel in Manila features a premier restaurant serving sumptuous international cuisine and Filipino specialties; complete amenities and efficient service; as well as ideal spaces for meetings, conferences and intimate social functions. Situated within the heart of culturally rich district of Malate, Armada Hotel Manila is accessible to several shopping malls, convention centers, and domestic and international airport terminals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Armada Hotel Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing