We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Resto”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Ilang-Ilang

Cafe Ilang-Ilang
Ranked #2 of 950 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Japanese, American, Filipino, European, Asian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Resto”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The resto has about 9-10 stations with different international foods. They also serve Indian food now, and I was able to taste some masala dishes for the 1st time. Although, their food isn't as great at the food in Sofitel's Spiral or Shangrila's Heat Restos, the food is still considered great. They serve Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, Mediterranean, Indian and other European dishes. The dessert station is ok, not as big as the dessert stations in other 5-star hotels. They serve yummy desserts, especially their Ferrero Gelato!! One of the best ice creams i've ever tasted. When you go there, don't miss out on the Ferrero Gelato! Don't mind the other gelatos they have, they don't taste nearly as yummy as the Ferrero. They have a nice variety and choices for desserts. Their chef during my visit was very nice and friendly. He was assisting the guests and was talking to them. He saw me having some of the ferrero gelato and the ginataan halo-halo and he said, nice choice, two of the best desserts they serve. :)
They need to change their Oven Toaster though, for toasting the bread during breakfast, because it's so old, the breads get stuck in it. They serve nice breakfast. And the lunch menu and dinner menu are great too :) Only big complain i have is their booking system. The receptionists at this resto need to be trained well on how to check guests bookings and reservations. Also, the receptionists aren't very accomodating and assistive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    107
    27
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“One of the best in Manila”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This refurbished Cafe Ilang-Ilang is like a restaurant re-born. I've been to the old one but there was not much variety back then, but this new refurbished one is much bigger with much more choices of well represented international cuisine. I was perfectly satisfied, most likely will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gali_Valiente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great dining exerience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have yet to have a bad meal at Café LLang LLang. Everything from their specials dishes to their regular entrées on the menu have been wonderful. My only disappointment is that is can be crowded and noisy. Yes, it is on the expensive side compared to all the other restaurants in the area but you get what you pay for. I love food and I love coming here, will def be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesK55197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best buffet in town”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Manila hotel and we had complimentary breakfast included in the rate. The breakfast choices were great but I had a bad experience because of the staff named Vilma, she was very rude and another male staff accidentally poured water on me and not apologize. Setting that aside, the breakfast was marvelous. Wide food selection, you wouldn't regret eating here. On our last night in the hotel, my friend and I decided to try out their dinner buffet, since we were able to borrow a prestige card, we were able to avail 50% discount. It was heavenly, there are a lot (I MEAN A LOT) of choices, however, you have to be aware of the Japanese and Italian cuisine because they are on the corner, you have to check everything out. The food was really worth it. One of the best buffets I've tried. I would definitely go back here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank time_traveller123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Another Excellent Lunch!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had another opportunity to visit Manila hotel last week (Sep 18) and had another excellent buffet (lunch, this time). The roast beef, Lamb were excellent. Fried / grill shrimps were also very delicious. I also had salmon, tuna and tempura. They were all very tasty. I also had Ice cream and other deserts and nothing had gone to waste. I enjoyed it all.
American Idols were supposedly be going there that time, but we did not saw them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ilang-Ilang also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cafe Ilang-Ilang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing