We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The journalists bar”

Oarhouse Pub of Manila
Ranked #98 of 1,217 Restaurants in Manila
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Bar
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Reviewed October 24, 2018

This is basically the journalists bar with a really cool and cosy atmosphere. Everyone knows each other, and the owner Ben puts up photos on the walls from some of the photographers that drop by. Not a place if you're a loud, obnoxious tourist, but if you wanna talk to people about the real Philippines, this is the spot.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikolai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OarhousePub, Owner at Oarhouse Pub of Manila, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Thank you Nikolai, for the kind and honest review. The Oarhouse is a true community bar which in its 41-year founding history has welcomed people from all walks, both local and foreign - as one of of its kind in the city of Manila. Its premise is simple as it is just about good drinks and food served in the company of friends and regulars in good conversation and spirit without all the fuss and hard sell marketing pretense and show. Visit as you are, and relax. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 41 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2018

I was in for a quiet night in the city just for a couple of drinks and found my cozy spot. Got more than I wanted. Good affordable food and a few smiles from the well trained and relaxed staff.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Menchie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018 via mobile

This place is a stones throw Robinsons and is the only authentic bar/pub in the area. On tap there are a couple of craft beers. Currently a wheat beer and an IPA at 6.2% which hit the spot. One page menu of local classics along with a bbq outside for beer snacks. These type of places are very rare in Asia.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank angstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018 via mobile

Read so many positive reviews about this place thought I had to find and visit but please do remember this is just a personal opinion but can't see what all the fuss is about, very small so if you want a quiet drink no chance, and if your next to a crowd you just have to accept it, one positive was the lady who served us who was very nice and was trying her best to keep everyone satisfied

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 208nigele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

Headed here for dinner based on previous reviews and I have to say I'm really not sure what the fuss is about. The beer is cheap and the food was fine but other than that it's a musty old pub that needs a good dust. It grows on you but I think that's just because we adjusted to the damp kind of smell. We shared a chilli and some drinks but I wouldn't return again. Better to head to Robinsons shopping centre for a cleaner better range of places to eat.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Barbie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oarhouse Pub of Manila also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Oarhouse Pub of Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing