We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great experience”
Review of Spiral

Spiral
Ranked #1 of 1,015 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Making a splash when it first opened in 2006, Spiral’s dining innovations were a first in Asia and it became one of Manila’s most loved restaurants. Dining has never been the same again since. But the new Spiral proves that even a trailblazer can top itself with Sofitel once again taking destination dining to a whole new level.The new Spiral is divided into 21 dining ateliers. In France, an atelier is an artist’s special workshop, and in Spiral it is where secret recipes are masterfully prepared right before your very eyes. The range of cuisines is expansive and the attention and detail to each dish has the focus of an artisan.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

this is one of the most extensive buffet compared to other buffet offering by major players in the industry like shang's heat ,cafe ilang ilang etc, etc. but as they say you get what you've payed for. for started they have salad station where you can mix match to your liking. for the soup you can choose the ingredients and the cook will do it right in front of you pho-style.Cheese and cold cuts selection is great.

on the main dishes , i like their pan seared foie gras, rock lobsters,Angus Rib Eye with teppanyaki sauce, roated lamb, and their grilled seafood selection, rock lobster, oysters, shirmps , crabs .japanese: Temakis , Fresh Sushi,Sashimi, Yakitori , and Shrimp Tempura is my personal favorite as they are all cooked to perfection.they also serve other asian specials like spicy Laksa, fried dimsum ,scallop dumplings.prawns in garlic, siao long pao, siomai, dumpling and wonton, with unique texture and taste, i have tried other popular chinese resto and i can attest their offering stands out among others. Peking duck is a bit oily but OK.
their Cheese Room is another attraction and in itself a unique offering .
despite being very extensively offered with hundred of dishes on the table, but it seems everything is meticulously selected, and their food is high quality, so everything you choose taste OK. last but not least the desserts: lots of chocolates,many among them artfully decorated, choco balls ,Vanilla Milk Rice Pudding ,ice creams, sherbet, fruit juice , fresh fruits.

all in all their selections of food is overwhelming from french, asians , indians ,filipino, great ambiance, great service, the price is abit steep at P2800 per person comparable to langham, The Peninsula in HK.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your dining experience. At Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction and are committed to constantly improve the quality of our service.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you best in your personal and business endeavors.


Kind Regards,
Keith Pereira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,802 of 2,028 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

My aunt, Roselyn, is celebrating her birthday with 7 friends so I reserved the private room for them to enjoy some privacy while they enjoy the extensive and exquisite choices of chinese, indian, japanese, italian, and american dishes - all beautifully laid out in a spacious area.

But what separates Spiral from the rest is the hospitality, attentiveness, and graciousness of their staff - headed by Operations Manager, Mr. Keith Pereira! An email is all it took for him to give me a personal call, a follow-up call, a confirmation call, and another courtesy call to tell me that he decided to give the party of 8 a bottle of champagne!

What else can you ask for? Yes, it can be a bit pricey - but with the Accor Advantage card membership, you can enjoy 50% off up to 10 people! Why settle for anything else?

The newly renovated Spiral is still the best among all the buffet restaurants that have been sprucing up all over Metro Manila. Simply the best...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your dining experience. At Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction and are committed to providing all our guests with the highest level in food quality and service, simply because our customers deserve the very best.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you best in your personal and business endeavors.


Kind Regards,
Keith Pereira
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We tried the Spiral as we were staying in the hotel and had heard good things about it. The table settings were very nice and as good as any fine dinning experience, but the food was really just average. The selection was ok but not amazing. The quality of ingredients was good. Some sections seemed to be lacking, for instance the Indian dishes. They were a little tastless and bland. We had also booked using our Accor Privilage Account informed them a the time we were going to be using our voucher which they confirmed was ok, but upon paying the bill we were told that as it was a public holiday the next day we could not use our voucher. This meant the meal was a lot more expensive than we originally thought, so it went from being an expensive meal to a very overpriced buffet.

Thank BMayo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for sharing with the Trip Advisor community about your dining experience.

We certainly take note of the quality ratings you have provided us. Rest assured that all Department Heads concerned have been informed to address the matters you raised.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and wish you best in your personal and business endeavors.


Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've read good reviews about Spiral before I finally dined on a Saturday dinner with my fiance. They have wide range of cheeses to choose from, tapas, Japanese (my favorite), Filipino (average), Indian (average), Italian (very good), seafood (very fresh), bakery (yum!) and French cuisine which they take pride for their foie gras (really good! but I only had one piece. I don't eat liver.) I was not impressed with the steak because it was dry. Steaks should be juicylicious! Lots of desserts too and they have the best bibingka galapong I've ever tasted in Manila. Overall, it was pricey but we enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank crislao24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

We are delighted that our services have pleased you and we truly appreciate you for taking the time to share your positive feedback and thoughts with us. Each day, our aim is to provide only the best experiences for our guests.

We are really looking forward to have you back to Sofitel Philippine Plaza.

Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Spiral is one of the pioneers in hotel (Sofitel) base "fine buffet dinning". No wonder it offers world class service. They know what we want, and they never stop improving. Upon entering the dining area, you will probably experience the largest buffet spread in your life. They have a separate cheese and ham room, where you can experience an assortment of international produce. The grill section is to die for. Choose your lobster, prawns, fish, squid and steak, and their chef will cook it to perfection. Try their mouth watering roast beef. They have a wide variety of Japanese, Chinese, Filipino, Italian, American, etc etc. But, what i like most is their dessert, you will go loco on what kind you will try first. Other establishments have tried to copy Spiral, but failed to sustain the quality. The quality and service that took decades to perfect. The Spiral is truly the benchmark of Philippine buffet.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KingWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Spiral, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour! Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

On behalf of Sofitel Philippine Plaza, I would like to extend my deepest appreciation for taking the time to share your positive feedback and thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services have pleased you. Each day, we do strive to provide only the finest and unforgettable experiences for our guests.

It would be our great pleasure to have you back at Spiral in the future. We wish you best in your personal and business endeavors.

Kind Regards,
Tanguy Gras
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiral also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Spiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing