We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Finding!”
Review of Dong Bei Dumpling

Dong Bei Dumpling
Ranked #84 of 976 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: http://www.byahilo.com/2008/07/08/dong-bei-dumplings-binondo-manila-secret-food-heaven-exposed/
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.byahilo.com/2008/07/08/dong-bei-dumplings-binondo-manila-secret-food-heaven-exposed/
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth Finding!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Dong Bei is actually hidden from the rest of the restaurants in Binondo. While you may find yourself walking through a series, from the cross (shrine where you light incense) you go straight to your right).

You'll see a resto with glass a sliding door where you can actually see ladies preparing dumplings fresh!

Don't forget to order Kuchay and Xiao Long Bao!

Affordable, tasty and worth finding!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great little place for a delicious feed of dumplings! We visited in the evening, and there weren't many customers. I am sure it would be quite busy in that little shop in peak times though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shermanpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“There's dumplings and there's Dong Bei Dumplings”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

If ever you are in Ongpin, you have to try the dumplings here in Dong Bei. Don't be deterred by the unassuming facade.The service is fast and cheerful and the dumplings are something else. Dumplings are all freshly made to order. You can even watch the girls while dumplings are being made. Must try the Garlic Chives (kutsay) dumpling and the eggplant with soy. We were a group of 8 and ordered everything on offer -demolished everything. It was worth looking for this hole in the wall. Great value for money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adelemow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dumplings Galore”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went on a food trip in Binondo on Black Saturday and Dong Bei was one of our destinations. While we have a google map , we didnt want to search for the resto on a very hot day. From Lucky Chinatown Mall, we took a tricycle to Dong Bei and told the driver to take us to Dong Bei.The ride cost us Php50. We realized that it's just walking distance from LCM. We arrived at the Dong Bei and we're the only customer. It has a Tripadvisor badge on the sliding glass door. Inside, two ladies were making the dumpling and another two preparing the kuchay. The place is small and can occupy around12 persons. In excess of that, it would be too cramped. We ordered for pork dumpling, kuchay dumpling and xiao long bao. Our goal was to taste each order and not make ourselves full as there were other eateries we need to see.

The dumplings were steaming hot ; they were tasty and the adults preferred the kuchay while the kids liked the pork dumpling. The xiao long bao was far from the ones being served by Ding Tai Fung in Singapore. Dong Bei's xiao long bao was thick and a little bland if not dipped in vinegar. The dipping lacked the usual ginger strips that go along with the vinegar. Order is Php110 for 6 pcs. Overall, the dining experience was nice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Velardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“worth waiting for 1.5 hours...”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

base on recommendations and recent reviews, my friends and I locate these restaurant at the heart of Binondo...
wrong move, that we came during the Chineses New Year celebration. There is already a line up when we came, but decided to wait , since most of the restos in Binondo are packed at the time.
We came in at 4:30 pm and was seated almost 6pm.
The dumplings are made right before your very eyes,and while waiting to be seated, you get to watch how the food you will be served is made. Our orders our taken while we wait for a seat to be vacated.
Some of the food on their menu, was not avail at that time, but their bestseller kutchay and pork dumplings are.
We ordered 3 servings, since we are a group of 3, but wasn't able to finish it all since their servings are more than enough for us; Php 100.00 for each serving,and that is 14 pcs of dumplings.
The wait is worth it.
The dip is good, but would love it more, if its more salty or if they would add more soy sauce, but that's just me.
Overall, the food is good, and you get an authentic dumpling in Binondo :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Bei Dumpling also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Dong Bei Dumpling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing