We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel sucks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the hotel sucks”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Dont Stay at Grand Opera Plzzzzzzzz
1.shuttle service is chargeable 1000pesos,its advertised as free. 2.They tried giveing me a room without windows,then lied saying all rooms are the same and id booked a junior suite at 4000pesos per night.Lucky for me the bell boy eager for a tip told me the truth and after the reception staff lied i was able to inform them of rooms with windows,they promptly showed me another room without an apology as if lying was the norm. 3Breakfast was toast and noodels,not a 5 star buffett as advertised.Absolute garbage like slops. 4.they wanted payment up front,unlike asia rooms policy of not paying until departure. 5.On check in they also asked me for a 1000pesos deposit,i refused and didnt try take it. 6.Dont pay on a credit card as the will ask u sign a form wich basicaly allows them to take payments from your card at any time after you have checked out,Only Pay in Cash. My overall experience is that they need 4 stars removeing from there Hotel rating,ive stayed in better Pension houses.They have no concept of service,anything will do as long as you pay they will give you all the excuses even to the exstent of lying.All senior managers are never available coz there always in a meeting.Its in a dangerous part of town and dont think you can go for a stroll at night coz its not advisable seeing your in downtown china town but without the usual ammenities a china town would offer else where in the world. Do yourself a favour and find another Hotel.
DISSAPOINTING
Arrived at 1.30am and afterbeing qouted the price and accepted of 2000php per night then was charged extra 200php per day for window wich was only a port hole!, buffet breakfast was cold rice,and frankfurts,cold eggs,and stail bread,outside hotel was a bus depot with lotts of pollutoin and sleazy characters,very heavy traffic& scamming taxi drivers! make sure you ask if the meter is working or they will charge you tripple price!.The room was ok but small and it took 3 days to get a kettle that worked,one night ordered the ribbs with corn& potatoe&coleslaw when it arrived ribbs were cold and dry &no potatoe&no corn,also ordered the Chefs salad that a 6 year old could have made! Rubbish!! there were holes in the bed linen and the bed was dirty with hairs on it!was advertised with dvd and cd player, but did not exist!house keeping walking around yelling on two way radios waking you up at 7am,room service food was cold&expensive, Kids Party in Restaurant on Saturday night so had to eat elsewhere,people also smoking beside you while you eat, & kids running wild ,screaming&playing on piano on Sunday nights! bcoz I was doing business I needed to stay another week and bcoz not familiar with area asked to extend another week,reception staff told me all ok & bcoz of my hiccupps would be given 10% discount for rest of my stay only to be told 3 days later that was not extended on there system & we had to leave or go to there sister hotel !!!at 10am & had to go by 12noon!!!! , so if this is 5 star !!!! its just all Lies,lies,lies!!!! dont waste your time & effort bcoz there are so many better managed hotels in the Manila area , this place is ok for Korean tourists on package deals for a few days ,,and thats it !!!!!!!!!!!! ....I will never ever return !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank rafaelsarabia76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    66
    47
    17
    13
See reviews for
51
48
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dumaguete
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This review echoes that of others whose comments are along the lines of "somewhat satisfied" and "good enough". The Grand Opera comes close in so many ways and then fails to deliver. My wife and I have just returned from breakfast, which is included in the price but rates only as adequate. There is unlimited brewed coffee from a 40 cup percolator, which is a welcome rarity. Now try to enjoy it when a staff member turns on a TV next to your ear and tunes it to some youngoid music station. D'OH!

What more need one say about the food, when the packaged "butter" packets actually contain margarine?

There are NO walking distance restaurants near the hotel save Mang Inasal about 100M distant. Life support supplies for self catering are available next door at Seven Eleven.

Walking in the adjacent slums is not for the timid and NOT RECOMMENDED in the hours of darkness.

A modest attention to minimal safety concerns such as hand grasps in the all-tile bathroom would reduce the hotel's exposure to liability concerns. Oops, excuse me. This is still the Philippines. I forgot for a moment.

Rooms with tiny windows are at the back. Somewhat more normal sized windows are at the front - with greater exposure to street noise. Many rooms have NO window.

We will stay here again due to the superior location for our needs. We will simply reduce our expectations to correspond with what we experienced or received.

With small expenditure, improved management attention to detail and some training of staff; the Manila Grand Opera has the potential to be a superior property instead of almost NOT BAD.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the higher floors at the back. Rooms with "normal" windows are at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I saw this hotel on here and reserved a room through laterooms.com. We had setup an arrangement for my fiance to come a day ahead of me as I am flying from the states and she is in cebu. Now part of the arrangement was that she did not have to pay for reservation fee and that I would pay upon arrival thursday. When she got there wednesday she called me saying not only they wanted her to pay the full reservation cost but also a 1 thousand pesos deposit. After she argued and showed them the reservation details and they finally agreed to wait for me to get there to pay but she still had to pay the deposit. When I got there I tried to tell them since she paid the deposit we should take off 1k on the hotel cost but the refused saying we get the deposit back when we checked out. Also the food was horrible there as well. I ordered a steak and mash potatoes and the steak was so tough i bent the knife and fork trying to cut through the steak. Now the mash potatoes carried the texture of glue and I could not even sallow the potatoes. Also in the room they say they have hot water but to get it you have to let the water run for ten minutes at least to get lukewarm. I would not recommened this hotel at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desertexplorerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

Cavite City, Cavite City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have celebrated our company Christmas party at this hotel for 2 years in a row already. The food is really great, superb ambiance and the service is terrific! We also checked in one of their rooms and it's really clean and nice. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

It is quite a surprise to find this 5 star hotel in the Chinatown of Manila: this is a very busy part of the city where you rather expect noisy surroundings, lots of street garbage and traffic jams.
A notable advantage is that the hotel is right on the side of the Doroteo LRT line 1 station. The hotel has a private access to this station from its Mezzanine floor. Access to the Line 1 Recto terminus station is only a short walk on a dedicated overpass and stairs.
The hotel has a definite Chinese flavour as you see how the staff is dressed, what is on the restaurant menu and tables with rotating top. The food there is outstanding with many Chinese but also Filipino delicacies. The only complaint is about the wine-list who has most of the offered bottles out of stock.
The hotel has a brand new pool, quite nice bot not "infinite" as advertized in many places. The sauna was in bad shape with the wooden seats destroyed in part.
The free WIFI works well even in the rooms. A password is issued by the reception and is valid for one computer during 24 hours.
We had asked for a baby cot several months in advance but did not get it - it seems they have only a single cot for this huge hotel.
The Business Center printed our boarding passes for a fee (175php/6pages)
We had booked the "Emperor Suite (3560 Php/day including tax with asiatravel)" and upon arrival there were impressed by its good looks and proposed comfort. After a while however, we discovered the suite had no windows! This was not acceptable and we complained to the management. The only way to get windows was by a downgrade to the "Empress Suite (800 Php cheaper)" what we finally accepted. At checkout, the management announced that a refund for the downgrade would be arranged directly by asiatravel. We are still waiting for this refund.
The inclusive breakfast is a nice buffet thing with a chef cooking at your request (eggs).

Room Tip: Specify you like a window in your room, otherwise you might be given one without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Manila Grand Opera Hotel sits right next to LRT D.Jose station which links you to MRT1 or a few walk across the street and you're in LRT 2 Recto Station which can take you to Araneta and other major malls in the Metro. If you love riding the train then this hotel is for you. Be ready to rub shoulders during rush hours as some trains are tigher than expected. Now, let's talk about the room. For the price that I paid I say yes I'm satisfied. The bed is really comfortable, a/c is manageable and the bathroom is well arranged. It has great wi-fi connection which you need to renew every 24 hours though its for free. I passcode for every device so for me they provided 3 access for my iPhone, Blackberry Tablet & laptop computer. What ticks me off is the buffet breakfast which has poor selections. I'm fond of buffet breakfast & their breakfast is not even close to being a "buffet". You get 3-5 selections only and that's it. Not satisfied at all. Swimming pool looks tempting but I wasn't able to try it. I had some issues checking in since they can't find my first night but they were able to assist me and did all the things to avoid further inconvenience. I say I'm somewhat satisfied of my stay because the wow factor is missing. I'm even confused why my room has no window in the first place. When going to this hotel via taxi some may refused because the surrounding area is prone to traffic jam especially when in Santa Cruz area. Contacting the hotel for an airport transportation may help.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice hotel for its cheap price. Clean rooms n good service, although if you like good food better go outside nearby restaurants. If your a non smoker, be sure to chek the smell since this has a casino thats why many guest smokes. Overall this place is ok if you want a good budget hotel in manila.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
712 reviews
Quiapo
Sun Star Grand Hotel
Sun Star Grand Hotel
#28 of 109 in Manila
44 reviews
Malate
Hotel 2016 Manila
Hotel 2016 Manila
#51 of 109 in Manila
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
802 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#15 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manila Grand Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila Grand Opera Hotel

Property: Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Address: # 925 Doroteo Jose | Sta. Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manila Grand Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manila Grand Opera Hotel stands today on the former site of the Manila Grand Opera House, a cultural landmark that showcased Philippine arts from 1900 to the late 1950. Formally launched in August 2008, it combines the historic theater's cultural legacy with a boost to the travel and tourism industry as the only luxury hotel in Manila's Sta. Cruz district, near Binondo's Chinatown. Located on the corner of Rizal Avenue and Doroteo Jose Street, the Manila Grand Opera Hotel today caters to an increasing number of visitors from China and Taiwan, aside from habitues and residents of the area who have long hoped for such a center of elegance and beauty to emerge in their midst. At the hotel's entrance stands a historical marker about the inauguration of the first Philippine Assembly on Oct. 16, 1907 by United States Secretary of War William Howard Taft, a historic event that was held there. As the only elegant hotel in downtown Manila, Manila Grand Opera Hotel expects to cater to the increasing number of Chinese visitors from the mainland and Taiwan who will feel at home staying near Manila's Chinatown. The hotel also serves the needs of the Chinese community residing in the nearby Chinatown by providing accommodations for their relatives and friends coming from abroad, he added. The luxury hotel has 250 contemporary guest rooms equipped with state-of-the-art door lock system, cable TV and Wi-Fi and LAN access, a mini-bar with a wide variety of snacks and drinks, with amenities such as buffet breakfast, use of the Infinity swimming pool,and spa. For the dining enjoyment of guests, there are the New President Sharksfin Seafood Restaurant serving authentic Chinese cuisine and the Circa 1900 Bar and Restaurant offering an array of gastronomic delights in an old world ambiance created by the blown up photographs on the walls of artists who had performed at the old theater. For big social gatherings, the hotel's Ambassador's Hall can accommodate up to 1,000 guests while several Meeting Rooms are also available for smaller gatherings such as business meetings, social get-together, dining, meeting and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Manila Grand Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing