We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable But Not for the Faint of Heart”
Review of Hotel Sogo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sogo
Ranked #55 of 75 Manila B&B and Inns
Guam
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Affordable But Not for the Faint of Heart”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have booked a room here about four times over the last two years, but only actually over-nighted just once. Yes, you get it, it is in reality a "short time" hotel. Check in is fast, no questions asked, it is as if everyone at the counter knows what the deal is and machine-like gets you up to your room. Funny, the rate I paid included a free cheeseburger and fries, one of the room boys delivers it to your room at some random time. They leave it outside the door if you're too busy to answer the door when they bring it! The rooms have no windows (at least none of mine did) and they have a red hue to them due to the way the lighting is set up. They also are rather small. I had no issues with the bathrooms, the shower was clean and big enough. Like I said, it is what it is - a short time hotel. The one night I actually slept here was a rather difficult sleep, as the mattress (can't really call it that, it was about 5 inches thick and was more like soft plastic) and pillows were not very soft. My sleep was more likely induced from alcohol intake, so I can't really say if I would have fallen asleep comfortably in a sober state.

One of the most puzzling things I encountered in the lobby was their "gift display", in which they offered various little items for sale with the Sogo logo on them (i.e. mugs, caps, pens, beer holders, etc). I decided I would purchase the mug because the one displayed was nice, and I wanted a souvenir. Well, it turns out that they were out of mugs, and had been for quite a long time. I gathered that they were discontinuing the selling of gift items altogether. So, I offered to purchase the sole remaining mug which was on display. In your typical display of Filipino logic, I was told that it was not for sale. I asked what good was a displayed mug for sale when there were no more mugs available? I further asked "isn't it better to sell your last mug if you have no more?" I was given a dumb look. It turns out that all the items in the display case were sold out. I offered to buy all the sale items on display, and was told that none of them were for sale. This logic totally baffled me. I then said, "you ought to take this display down, it is moronic if you don't offer any of the items for sale. I then got a grumpy look from the female attendant, and a dirty look from the shifty male room attendant. I guess they both had just about reached their tolerance level for the day in dealing with short time clientele checking in to do the dirty deed.

Overall, the experience was like watching a well-oiled machine work. Unless it is a Saturday or Friday early evening check-in, when every Filipino couple want to be romantic, and there can be a short wait to check in, ordinarily they get you in and up to your room in a jiffy. Don't come here if you're looking for pleasant staff and good customer service. It is all business-like, and the business is, well...

Gotta admit the price is right. Real cheap, and a good bargain for your money if you don't have much money. Why is it that cheap hotels that cater to either cheap Charlies or Filipinos have absolutely no personality in their staff? I've never figured that out, but then again I am not Filipino.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    22
    12
    13
See reviews for
4
27
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed there when a previous booking in a hotel fell through. Not many redeeming features to the sogo in Malate, Manila to be honest. Safe in room didn't work, air-conditioning in room sounded like a bowing 747 engine, couldn't stand up straight in the shower, internet didn't work in room or lobby, breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sully55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular customer of SOGO Hotel and i think it is indeed affordable and the services is best. Foods are ok to me.

Just for everyone to know that, this is know in the Phils as a "lovers hotel" wherein people would book as short as 3 hours to do their private intimate time together.

In short, since its affordable "lovers hotel" people need to realize that its always full of couples itching for each other and would be willing to take a queue to get a room.

So please dont bring kids in any Sogo branches if you dont want them to hear scream and moans that most of the time can be clearly heard at the corridors.

- you can check in anytime and your check out is the time your hours consumed
-hot shower works ALL the time
-with anteroom for privacy
- it has 2 porn channel so let everyone aware so they wont get offended since most of the time when you turn the tv on, its on that channel!
-you pay your food to the hotel attendant once he delivers and he can give you your change right away
-understand that most of the room turn over of the guest is 3 hours, so towels, linens and blankets were heavily used
-a good wifi
- elevator get so full with all kinds of couples so please do not expose your children in here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Amber_chik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here with my fiance for one night. The room was small, it's not luxury by any means, but it was clean, cozy and quiet. The bed had a thin mattress but it was good for my back. Cable TV was nice. We were happy. The price was great too! Stayed here in December 2011.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyohashi-shi, Aichi, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our stay was satisfactory, the Room was clean. I stayed with my family (3 kids), the food was good and it is very accessible to MOA and other sites along Roxas Blvd., a jeep ride away to Quiapo and Divisoria too, that is if you are bargain conscious, it is the right place for you and your budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Ofelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel because it was the cheapest and nearest to the lecture I had to attend. I got the Executive Room.
Upside: Cheap room rates, short-time (less than 24-hrs stay accepted), near malls (Festival Mall and Star Mall), easily accessible since it is along the South Luzon Expressway, courteous and prompt staff, with hot and cold shower, check-out time is the same time as the day of check-in (eg. Check-in 5:00 PM , Check-out 5:00 PM --- not before 12:00 like most hotels) Strong airconditioning.
Downside: Old, dark and dingy (no windows) rooms. The room had unpleasant smell and if you look closely, the walls were sort of grimy (poor lighting covered it up).The bedboard had gum stuck on it. The free wi-fi service was unaccessible despite the password given. It was very noisy even in the wee hours of the morning. Not ideal for long stays, not for family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Asian_Beb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

rooms are dirty they dont clean it good,floor is sticky,bathroom is real firty hot shower is not working,toilet clogged,nasty smell in the whole room,ac is not working,very rude staff they dont act proffesional,hallway is aleays loud you cant even sleep towel are do dirty,food is nasty,beds are uncomfortable,i will never try again to stay here specially sogo hotel edsa rotonda and sogo dau pampanga.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank richglai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Hotel Sogo Santolan
#22 of 22 in Pasig
12 reviews
Victoria Court Malate
#40 of 109 in Manila
37 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Hotel 2016 Manila
Hotel 2016 Manila
#51 of 109 in Manila
45 reviews
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 75 in Manila
185 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 75 in Manila
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Property: Hotel Sogo
Address: 2120 Mabini St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sogo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing