We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel in a residential area”
Review of Red Carabao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Carabao
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Yangyang, Gangwon-do, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hostel in a residential area”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hostel is in a residential area north of the main tourist areas. I liked being able to see more of everyday life, but if you want to be in the center of the action, this is not it. I stayed only one night and chose it because I was taking a night bus north the next day. I am a woman traveling alone and had no problems, but I take sensible precautions, like not wandering around by myself at night. The family that runs the place was very nice, welcoming, and helpful. There is also a kitchen and free breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Layla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    7
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
43
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Red Carabao is located at Abad Santos LRT which is definitely a plus if traveling by daylight. It is not recommended to travel on the LRT alone after dark and the LRT is often closed y 9pm anyway. If you are brave you can take a Jipney back to the hostel in the evenings. If you are woman traveling alone I'm not sure I would recommend Red Carabao. Many Philippinos were surprised that I was staying so "out of the way." The hostel is very difficult for a taxi driver to find.The neighbourhood is inner-city Manila. I didn't feel unsafe but next time I would probably stay on a busy street for tourists in Malaki. It is clean, reasonably priced and even offers free breakfast (bread rolls, butter, and if you are lucky a banana bread). There is free wi-fi in the common areas. These are all important things to note.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beatrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I stayed in the three bed dorm. The place is really nice, clean and friendly. The kitchen is a big plus and free breakfast (even if just bread and coffee) is always welcome. Free use of internet isn't that common in the Philippines so I was surprised that they offered it. I'd recommend Red Carabao to anyone going to Manila.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiiFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

The Red Carabao is a lovely little hostel, almost like a homestay outside the centre of Manilla. As soon as you arrive you are welcomes like an old friend and you'll feel at home untill you leave. There's a fridge and kitchen which is stocked and free to use, breakfast is supplied and free, the living room is a great place to relax in the evening with other travellers and the rooms are airco'd and cheap.
The girl working there is lovely as well, and will give you any help you'll need!
in Short, great place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 108 in Manila
1,182 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#20 of 108 in Manila
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Manila Central
#7 of 108 in Manila
449 reviews
Malate
Tambayan Capsule Hostel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carabao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carabao

Property: Red Carabao
Address: 2819 Felix Huertas | Santa Cruz, Manila, Luzon 1003, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Manila
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lonely Planet's only Top-Choice and longest-running backpacker hostel in Manila. Read more about us to see if you and the Red Carabao are a compatible match! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Red Carabao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing