We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shakey's

Shakey's
Ranked #34 of 946 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Family choice for pizza and pasta, the food was very poor compared to that in Australia, so poor infant I opted to eat something else ...... Don't waste your money if your a westerner you most likely will be dissapointed ......

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stellarpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    63
    32
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Princesa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is very close to the western Shakey's. Pizza was good; spaghetti was OK, but they charge for extra Parmesan Cheese (ridiculous!); garlic toast was tasty; and they have very good chicken.

The only downside is that they are very overpriced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pardeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“Poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

i went here last month the food was good the ambiance of the place was nice, but i wasn't happy with their service. Me and my bf was in a small table (actually it was 4 tables but they removed our table from the three tables) beside us was a large group of people. The group asked for a ranch to their pizza so she handed the ranch dressing to the group of people overlapping on our table. where she can go at my side and give it to the group. could you imagine how poor was her service? without even saying sorry to us nor saying excuse me. I was really disappointed because honestly Shakeys is my favorite pizzeria here in the philippines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Onin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romblon, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“MOJO's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I could not ask for more because they definitely have it all. Good food, good location..everything. :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JhamrenGutierrez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another "Used-to-be"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've been a fan of Shakey's since I came here 2½ years ago. Since my first visit, I've been a card-carrying fan. (Really! They have a Pizzanatic Card loyalty program.) But over the past year, they've gone downhill fast.

The restaurants are still clean, but they are generally very noisy. It is impossible to have a conversation at your table without yelling. But I can deal with that. (Delivery is a better deal with the Pizzanatic card anyway - Buy 1 Get 1 Free...)

But as was noted elsewhere on this website, their delivery order website is not put together well as it does not honor the Pizzanatic program. (After all this time, there's no excuse for that.) So, I have to order by calling their order telephone line. Last time, about 3 weeks ago, it took me over an hour just to get through on the line. I placed the order okay, and got what I ordered. But here's the worst part: It took over an 1¼ hours for them to deliver the order. "It's fast or it's free!" was not honored. I was forced to pay for my order. I wouldn't have, but having already waited 2+hours, it was getting late and the family was hungry!

Their excuse for not honoring the "fast or free" promise was that I was told on the phone that it would be 45 minutes before the 30 minute clock would start. (I was not told that.) According to that timing promise, he was just in time - at 73 minutes after they "accepted" my order.

So, you would think that meant they didn't even have time to make the pizzas until at least 45 minutes went by, right? That doesn't explain why the pizzas were delivered COLD and PASTY. It was like eating pizza that had been leftover from a party the night before.

So, I complained by email. No response.

I called. No answer.

I waited until a weekday and called the office. Again, no answer.

It's unfortunate, but Shakey's isn't what it used to be. Maybe that's one reason one of the restaurants I used to go to is closed now - only 30 days after they remodeled.

Hmm.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakey's also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Shakey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing