We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgic”
Review of La Cocina de Tita Moning - CLOSED

La Cocina de Tita Moning
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Filipino, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Back to the old Spanish era! Nostalgic moment when you dine with your family. Kids will love to see old cameras, old stethoscope, old chairs etc. a bit of history. Food is good too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Liz421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was an honor to welcome you and share what we have. We hope to be able to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

La Cocina de tita Moning is possibly one of the finest dining experiances I have ever experianced. You must choose your menu and course of eating prior to making your reservations... It is located in the Mansion of a once prominant Doctor of the 40's and 50's... Private and personal waitresses wait on your every need and want.. a bell is on your table to ring for any service... Historical, private and an experiance I believe should be tried... If you have that special someone, impress her, while impressing yourself... Thank you La Cocina de Tita Moning... And thank God for experiancing this place in my life time...

1  Thank GuadalupeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

A million Thanks for your kind words Guadalupe Bill. It was an honor to be able to share our heritage with you. Every member of the team at La Cocina de Tita Moning is grateful for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again.
May love and light follow you in all your travels, and may you have more memorable dining experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

As you enter the gates of La Cocina De Tita Moning, you are transported a world of the past -- with the aged wood floorings, to the paintings hung on the walls, until the intricacies of the designs and antiques which belonged to the family. Started off at the verandah where the tour guide will address you with some cocktails, and then you will be transported to the different rooms of what used to be's and the pictures of family. The tour guide was impressive as she was very knowledgeable. She seems to know all the little details of everything which was inside the house. She knows everyone in the family just like as if she was a relative of theirs. We ended up having our dinner at the master's bedroom. We were seated and were served with gusto instantaneously. (They even had a brochure of all the staff which are working there!) Throughout the meal, servers were very attentive and they really make you feel at home.

The food is not to be left unmentioned, starting off with a trio of appetisers. We had the pork with almond pili milk, gazpacho with avocado and gambas with chorizos. It hit the spot for me especially the gazpacho. For mains, we had the seafood potpourri and the lamb shanks -- it was executed perfectly, seafood are not overdone and lamb was tender. I would probably have opted for the osso bucco the next time though.

The clear winner for me were the desserts. We were given a sampler of desserts including the famous bread pudding. This was to die for. It isn't heavy handed, and just had the right balance and texture to make you oooh and ahhhh. Not leaving the fritters and polvorones with mango behind -- these didn't fail to deliver.

Overall, a great night which started so well and ended even better!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jasondtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Las Casas was successful in taking us back in time. The charming 1930s ancestral home retains it's original furniture, appliances and decor, thus, giving us an idea the life of the affluent during that time. This is a good place to entertain a foreigner or just anybody who is interested with history.

I rate it 4 star rather than 5 because of the food. The food was above average, but not spectacular. I like the appetizer (seafood with chorizo, pork belly in pili milk and another I forgot, shot of something with avocado). The main course wasn't so great. We had the lamb shank and osso buco. The dessert was better, it was a sample consisting of fritters, bread pudding and 2 others that names are already forgotten.

Just like the reviewer before me, go because of the house but not really because of the food.

Will I go back again? Maybe, if we have to entertain a balikbayan guest or foreigner friends. I think they will appreciate the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sophiegrayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Many thanks for sharing your experience and for choosing to visit us. We are grateful to have been able to share our heritage while we still can.
Everyday , the La Cocina kitchens strive to better ourselves and our work . We thank you for this opportunity to do so. We hope you will visit us again.
We wish you many more wonderful meal experiences in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came by this restaurant by chance. Just as we finished a tour at Fort Santiago, a joint marketing activity by the tour came by and we decided to try it out since its 8 minutes away and we were hungry. The restaurant is a boutique restaurant where the owners converted their ancestral home into a family museum and restaurant. We were greeted by a fleet of staff of high service quality and was hosted around the house to take a tour around it's antiquities. Collections of medical books, medical equipments, cameras, radios, china were found in close to perfect condition considering its age. Food was excellent touch of local taste with light Spanish taste and very home made. A must try I would say! P/s: the bread and butter pudding is best I had!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mystkl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monings_12, Owner at La Cocina de Tita Moning, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are honored to have been part of your experience and glad you enjoyed the experience in our home. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina de Tita Moning also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing