We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.”
Review of Hotel H2O

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel H2O
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel is unique with the in room aquarium walls, but outside of that there isn't much else to rate it above average. The rooms are nice, but small and they have no suites to accommodate families. If you have more than three people you will need to book two rooms.

The beds are comfortable but the pillows are flat and not that nice. Bathrooms are small and both rooms we had water leaks under the shower door and you go through towels fast trying to keep it dry. Be aware, the aquarium lights come on at 5:30am and the blinds don't help all that much. You have no control over the time, so keep in mind if you book these style rooms. Not sure the quality of the bay or city view rooms, but the bay is dirty and the city view is almost non existent, you mostly view the oceanarium and the pier.

As far as the pool, don't book if you are looking for a relaxing swim or lounging on the pool deck. The pool is located in the Oceanarium and has a low cost buffet restaurant surrounding it. We attempted to swim once and had people staring at us as well as taking pictures of both my wife and daughter in their bikinis.

The location is quiet but there is nothing in the area to do after 10pm. Cabs are hard to get, but use them, the doorman will offer but his are double the price. Rates to the airport shouldn't be more than P170, Mall of Asia P160, Green Belt P150. The locals will try to charge P300 and up if they are not metered, be aware.

Room Tip: Be aware, the aquarium lights come on at 5:30am and the blinds don't help all that much. You ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knimbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a constructive review for Hotel H2O.

We regret to hear that your experience was not to your expectation and we would like to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate & truly value your comments as these help us to improve. Your comments have been discussed with to the Departments concerned. Rest assured that necessary measures will be taken accordingly.

We hope that you will still give us opportunity to be service to you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

Was here a week ago. We had the aqua room and it was awesome! Just looking at all those fish swimming around is very relaxing and therapeutic. It was a very relaxing stay. There's an awesome restaurant on the second floor and they have light shows at night at the ocean park. There's also a massage place and a huge lounge area by the lobby. It's just pretty far if you are going to Quezon City, but very near Makati and just a few mins to/from Mall Of Asia. The staff are really nice and friendly. Had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: They offer private travel services if you are sketchy about getting a cab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about Hotel H2O!

It is such a delight to know that you had a good experience and particularly enjoyed the aqua room; it is one of the top features of our hotel.

I would like to thank you, for acknowledging our restaurant. It has been a pleasure to accommodate you in Hotel H2O.

We look forward to welcome you back in Hotel H2O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We had 1 night only at Christmas day, but many things to visit around the complex building. So interesting aqua room! My kids were happy with somes corals fishes.
Everything well be 5 star if my disapointed is not happen in last minutes! We check out at 25th Dec, so traffic at hotel. I sent my luggages after check out (reception at third floor) and go around in Complex, they say me will take them at ground floor at the bell. when we come back at 12 am and ask concierge with my luggages coupon sent them, and we wait 50 mins, terrible! So angry! Many guest, may be more 10 groups families come later and get their luggages before than us. The staff not good connects with up floor and they no things to do until i am angry!
I think must be set up more staff at traffic time , and more effective way to transfer luggage from lobby to the ground

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank thuphong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. We appreciate & truly value your comments as these help us to improve. It is nice to know that your kids enjoyed your stay in our Aqua room.

We have noted your concern on luggage’s. These will be shared with the concerned departments so that corrective actions will be undertaken. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an aqua supreme room. Lots of fish and lots of room! Our daughter loved it! And so did we. It was great location for the ocean park and great coffee downstairs too. Also close to Rizal Park and Intramurous. Service and staff were all commendable. And gym is also well equipped.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Jacinta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

We sincerely appreciate that you took time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel H2O.

Hotel H2O is very proud of its aqua room which families really look forward to experiencing when they come to our hotel. It is great that you were able to enjoy the said room.

Your appreciation goes a long way and indeed became an inspiration. We look forward to be of service with you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I hate Hotel H2O for canceling our family's Christmas staycation last minute. I booked it early knowing the Christmas traffic. They called Saturday to reconfirm the booking. I complied and they promised me a room. But today ( day before our supposed check-in), they call again to say there's no room available. Wow, absolutely awful service! I will never ever recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Your feedback is very much appreciated & valuable to us. This is to assure you what transpired is not normal to our level of service. We sincerely hope that you will give us opportunity to be of service to you in the near future.

We will continue to strive at improving our guest experience to exceed your expectations.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We spent 3 days in H2O, it was a lot of fun!! The rooms are agreable, nice size, fantastic beds.
Very various breakfast, lots of asian food, very kind service.
The aquarious rooms are astonishing, we got a bayview and it was ok. The hotel is very isolated in a quiet part of crazy Manila, located in an Ocean Park, DON'T MISS TO VISIT IT, most of all the bath with sharks and stingrayes, an experience you will never forget! The hotel is clean but quite unpersonal, luckily the staff is very nice and professional. No pool, but a plouge lounge full of kids, strange for an htl called H2O!

Room Tip: the aquarious room for its strangeness, but you can't be claustrophobic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blixenfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review.

Our entire team appreciates that you enjoyed our facilities; the room and fantastic bed and our buffet breakfast. Indeed, our location is also a major plus because it gives our guests easy access to Manila Ocean Park attractions, amongst others.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we would love to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Hotel H2O is actually inside the Manila Ocean Park compound. I recommend booking the room with the fish wall instead of ocean view. Manila bay is not anything nice to look at.

The rooms are first class and the staff is friendly and helpful.

A nice place to stay and its only about 10 minutes by taxi to Mall of Asia.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H2O-Manila, General Manager at Hotel H2O, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review. Your comments are well appreciated and will be shared with our Team.

I would like to thank you, for commending our staff service and also for acknowledging the room as first class. It has been a pleasure to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcome you back in Hotel H2O.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel H2O

Address: Luneta | Behind Quirino Grandstand, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $69 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel H2O 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel H2O is the first and only marine-themed urban resort hotel in the Philippines. Opened on April 10, 2010, the hotel is part of the Manila Ocean Park complex in the Philippine capital’s historic Rizal Park. It has been designated as the official residence for guests and patrons of Manila Ocean Park.Every part of Hotel H2O has a connection to its namesake element, water – from its next-door proximity to Manila Ocean Park; to its location on the edge of Manila Bay; to its signature aquarium wall that adorns the inner guest rooms and grand ballroom; to the seafood specialties of its main F&B outlet, Makan Makan Asian Food Village; to the healing, negative-ion treatments of its wellness center, Zenyu Eco Spa. All these make Hotel H2O perhaps the most visually distinctive urban property in the country today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing