We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to pay to keep my stuff secure!!”
Review of Pension Natividad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Natividad
Ranked #3 of 74 Manila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prineville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had to pay to keep my stuff secure!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in the dorm rooms here for about a week. There are no lockers in the dorms to keep your stuff secured, but they have dozens of basic wooden lockers in the lobby. So,despite the inconvenience of having some of my things located so far apart from my bed, I used my lock to keep my valuables in the locker when I slept or went out of the hotel. When I went to check out I was informed I would be charged 20 pesos a night for the "privilege" of using their lockers! I have traveled all over the world and stayed in literally hundreds of pensions and have NEVER had a hotel charge to keep valuables. NEVER! I thought this was rude and bizarre and will never stay there again as a result.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    57
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
38
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

GOING TO ANY TRIP YOU DONT NEED A ROOM FULL OF AMENITIES. AS LONG AS YOUR COMFORTABLE IN YOUR STAY AFTER YOUR 8-10 HOURS GOING around manila. you need a rest. so you have to sleep. you don't need a ref, a tv a phone a wifi in your room bacause you might not sleep comfortably the whole night. and your next day itinirary may tiring because you lack sleep.
\

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgs298460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yuci
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there to book a room and the woman treated my wife as if she was a street girl. Made her so uncomfortable i went back and told her how we felt. Massive indifference.
Spoke to someone staying there on the way out he liked it but complained of staff attitude in a certain situation.
Location seemed ok and room seemed largel
I think good value for money.
just lose the attitude.
The assessment of rooms value and cleanliness is just on visiting impression.It may be wrong.
I didn't stay there.

bye bye.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyallben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Called them from the airport 10PM, they offered me a dorm with ease and took well care of me when I reached. Good stay for backpackers. The passing street seems a bit rough but I felt safe inside the gates. Seems like a waterhole for US NGO workers, interesting crowd that will say...

Room Tip: Take lowbunk in the dorm if you dont want to have morning sun in the face in room 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unevik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Nido, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We been staying in Natividad Pensions since many many years. It's a very convenient place with a good location (5 mins. walking distance to Robinsons Mall) and if you get in and out by taxi you won't get jammed. They serve a decent breakfast too and there is wifi in some areas. This is a perfect place for backpackers and travelers that like to meet other people. It's an old mansion with an outside sitting area. You can get your own locker, with your own padlock and even leave things here while you travel around the country.

The only downside is that the rooms are really old. But they are clean and big. There are people sleeping in the street nearby, but they are harmless and Gaby feeds them once a week and gives them save water. Some of the people I have noticed for many years and they great us friendly. We have always felt really safe here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artcafeelnido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice: on our very first and very last night in Manila. The area is a bit dodgy: a lot of homeless people on the streets where you find casino's and very upperclass hotels.

The pension is fantastic though: great rooms with big beds, very clean and with functioning fans. There's nice food, friendly staff, a nice outside area, free wifi and private lockers for valuables. Highly recommended when you really need to be in Manila.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Peace corps volunteers stay here and love this place. Basic rooms with hot showers. Fan rooms aren't too bad. The staff is amazing and so helpful. They also serve good food and awesome chocolate oat bars! :) It's right around the corner from a Robinson's mall also.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmobobkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
712 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#9 of 109 in Manila
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Chill-out Guesthouse
#5 of 74 in Manila
185 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 74 in Manila
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Natividad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Natividad

Property: Pension Natividad
Address: 1690 M. H. Del Pilar Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Natividad 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Pension Natividad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Natividad Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing