We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Art Deco hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Natividad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Natividad
Ranked #3 of 73 Manila B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Art Deco hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

If you like architecture, check out his hostel. It's full of beautiful Art Deco details. We always stay in a room on the first floor (level above ground level), I didn't like the cramped and musty rooms in the building behind the main building. A/c rooms will cost you 1500 pesos, fan rooms with attached bathroom 1100 pesos.Not cheap, but not expensive enough to look for a cheaper alternative.

The hostel is populated by a mixture of youthful backpackers in the dorm and older people. There is wifi, but only on the ground floor rooms and the restaurant/communal area.

We like this hostel, it's our homebase when we stay in Manila.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roloyeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
37
32
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Pension Natividad is a safe haven from the chaos of Manila. 24hour security, reasonable prices, friendly staff, and daily basketball games. The highlight of Pension Natividad is the outdoor, communal space for checking email, meeting other travelers, or eating breakfast. We stayed at Pension Natividad once at the beginning of our trip and again at the end. We had a fine experience both times and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nosearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed 3 nights. Room 1500 pesos but only worth 1000. Small dingy room only appliance was a/c. Moved to hotel got cable tv, wifi in room, fridge, fan and a/c for 1350p. Dining area good, meals ok, service unexceptional for the Phils. Disappointed with this one. Staying 3 mnths in Phils wanted to feel at home, didnt get that feeling at all. Just another number. Might seem harsh but it just wasnt personalised enough for us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is basic hostel, nothing fancy. It seems they converted an old house into the hostel. Rooms have fans or AC for an extra charge. Very cheap, and clean. Staff is very helpful, they even let me borrow a lonely planet guide when I Left for 2 day to Boracay.
They have reception and the cafe open 24 hours. Close to the airports (domestic & international) close to intramuros and the mall.
It is a great option if you are on a budget or backpacking.

Room Tip: avoid 1st floor rooms next to tables, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anettebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

great place, big rooms, good quality for the price. double room 1100 php, clean and with bathroom/hot water. good safe place in manila, ideal for singles and couples here. security 24hours with big gate and guards, staff very friendly and helpful. beds are bad, nothing left , just thin foam so watch your back!!! apart from that great place to stay n manila. basic rooms, aircon/van, no tv.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debrahayworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

While the area is sketchy and there are a large number of homeless or squatters around, I feel very safe at Pension Natividad. The staff is friendly and helpful. The food is reasonably priced and well above average. And the rooms, although outdated, are spotless. The place is decorated with mainly religious paintings. The beds are quite hard, and if you order a double for you and your spouse, it will be two beds pushed together (although you can't actually sleep near each other because the wooden frames of the beds get in the way).

They also have lockers to store your stuff--bring your own lock.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelduck80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marikina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2010

anyway, this hotel is not so good for me, ive encountered a taxi driver whom almost victimised us with my sister planning to change my euro money. that man i know can enter your building and tell us a big lie and always spoke out of turn and i know that your security guard can recognize him because i saw him taking up his meal outside your reception area and i can never forget that man, im just hoping that no one of your employees has a connection of this man.. please im just recommending for more security and never allow unknown or unauthorized people to enter your premises... i hope that my worst experience will not happen to your another guest if you wish them to return back for your valued service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Natividad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Natividad

Property: Pension Natividad
Address: 1690 M. H. Del Pilar Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Natividad 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Pension Natividad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Natividad Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing