We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Second Stay and Just Keeps Getting Better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Bocobo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Stay and Just Keeps Getting Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is my second stay and I must say that they have even bettered their standards. Casa Bocobo has no pretensions to being more than a budget hotel but the cleanliness, efficiency and service of the staff are one of the best in Manila and believe me I have had my share of horror experiences with some of Manila's five- and four-star properties, or hotels that have pretensions to be four or three stars.

This outstanding experience starts from reserving a room (quick, efficient and honest--you know you are not being ripped-off even if it's a last minute booking. Prior to this stay, I had stayed at the Crowne Regency in the Makati CBD and, hoping to get a better deal by contacting the hotel directly, I was shocked when the lady from reservations told me that a standard room was available but for the full rack rate of 7,000 pesos ++ which is almost the same price as a room in the Peninsula Manila. Full rack rate my foot! I proceeded to make a booking through an internet aggregator and got a standard room for less than half the rack rate).

When you arrive at the hotel, the guard stationed outside quickly jumps to open your taxi door for you and help you with your luggage. In the aforementioned Crowne Regency Makati, the guard and the bellboys are nicely cosetted in the hotel's airconditioned lobby so they will certainly not see you arriving, let alone assist you with your baggage.

Casa Bocobo offers a good place to stay in while you tour the nearby tourist attractions--it's location very close to Kalaw Ave. means the Rizal Park and the famed Manila bay is only a five minute walk away. The U.S. embassy, the Manila Ocean Park and the Robinsons Mall--with it's excellent anchor department store, stand-alone boutiques of both international and local brands and restaurants, also an excellent place to watch a cross-section of Manila's residents as they go about shopping, dining and getting entertainment- is only a few blocks away.The hotel's reasonable rates means you can go about your tours (or business meetings) without having to second guess whether the hotel is gouging you or if you are really getting your money's worth. Make no mistake about it, Casa Bocobo is not geared for tourists who just plan to stay in their rooms the whole day as there's not much to do. Unless you plan to spend your stay surfing through the hotel's 99 TV channels (I kid you not! There's everything from Fox News to Cartoon Network and even ZEE TV if you're looking for a Bollywood fix--andthe reception is crystal-clear just as good as it was in the Peninsula Manila. The television is also an LCD albeit only a 20" one. Compare that with the old-style TV's in both the Mandarin Oriental and the Crowne Regency and good luck with getting more than a snowy reception at the latter).

The rooms and bathroom, though small, are spotless and the water current strong which is how I like it. The amenities, expected of a budget hotel, are not placed in the rooms save for soap and shampoo. But you can ask for extra amenities and you can be assured that you will get it in your room in less than five minutes--I got my request for an extra pillow, slippers and an extra face towel in two minutes flat! I have seen the posse of housekeeping staff stationed in the hotel's hallway just ready to assist you with anything (and, oh they greet you as well which is a surprise for a budget hotel such as this, the training in the hotel is really to a very high-standard even if it's not managed by an international or local chain). Housekeeping staff are also quite eager to clean the rooms when you leave you room in the morning so be sure to hang a sign if you don't want to be disturbed.

The breakfast buffet spread is mostly geared towards the local residents but, for the price, is excellent value. If you don't like the food you can always order a big breakfast or an egg Mc Muffin from the McDonald's or Jollibee restaurants which are just nearby.

The area is quite busy in the day so there is significant noise as the windows are not double glazed. But this should be no problem if you spend the day touring and only get back to your room to refresh or to call it a day--I've never had problems sleeping at night.

Additional plusses are the strong Wifi signal, the huge wardrobe (bigger than some five-star properties in the metro), a comfy lounge beside reception with two computer workstations to check your email, and a small but efficiently working airconditioning unit.

For all it's reputation as a happening city the establishments in Manila actually close quite early, around 8 or 9 PM. The same same goes with the hotel's sole restaurant which closes at 9 PM so make sure you make it well in time for last orders if you plan to have a few drinks or dinner there.

Well worth the money and highly recommended to both local residents and foreign tourists or guests. Having worked as a hotelier for the exclusive Park Hyatt brand before, that says a lot for this small but lovely budget hotel. I will be trying out some of the other newer and established properties in the Metro but for sure Casa Bocobo is a place that I will be going back to time and time again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Power-mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    215
    94
    24
    21
See reviews for
63
155
130
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a night before my trip to Puerto Galera. Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms was small but amazingly, it was superb clean. Way clean than some of the 5* hotels in the world. Bathroom was small but very clean. Free wi-fi and connection was superb!! I don't have any problem while sleeping at night although my room is facing the road. One negative remarks about this hotel is, there's no elevator and pity the bellman to carry my 27kg luggage up the stairs. Will i stay again in this hotel and the answer will be YES!!

Cheers

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Equizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

The hotel is perfect for low budget travelers, however some mid budget travelers will find it good, it consists of one floor, the hotel including the rooms are non-smoking, it is very clean (cleaner than some four star hotels in that area), good security, excellent & friendly staff, good location, the street in front of the hotel is clean, a lot of 24 hours cafes, restaurants & bars near by, Robinson Midtown Mall & Manila Bay are about 10 to 15 minutes walk.
I booked the mini suite which was very clean, the furniture were in good condition, toilet size was good (plenty of hot water), a flat screen TV with cable channels, Wi Fi is available & free, & house keeping were excellent.
The in-room safe was very small (good only for money & passport) so if you have a laptop & other electronics better to keep them in your bags, the rooms that facing the street are very noisy because of the traffic outside which starts at about 7 am daily, the corridor on the lift side (from the inside of the hotel) is the noisiest, the security staff that records who enters & exits the rooms sits at the end of it from night till morning talking loudly & they keep the fire exit door open which allow noise from cars & near by bars to enter.
There is no elevator, no swimming pool & no business center, the coffee shop closes at 9 pm.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dj-AT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

I was browsing through different hotels in manila and I stumbled upon casa bocobo. Checked on their website and thought that their price are affordable. Went to tripadvisor and found some really good reviews. Let me say that I have experienced myself how good this hotel is. The staffs are very accomodating, warm and welcoming. The room itself, for the price that they offer? I must say it's very affordable. I have special requests during my reservation and when I checked in to the hotel, everything was already set up as per my requests. The style of the hotel itself is modern and elegant. The rooms, facilities are very clean. Nothing more I could ask for a hotel that offer that kind of price and service. I would definitely stay at casa bocobo again. Highly recommended to everyone! I also love that they offer free wifi (as some hotels charge extra). Internet speed is good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed at Casa Bocobo with my wife and son on 3 separate occasions in November 2009 with my last stay ending on Nov 25th, 2009. Each and every stay was exceptional. The Staff is by far the friendliest and most accommodating staff I have ever seen. We stayed in the mini-suite which includes a refrigerator and room safe. There is a Karaoke bar nearby which can be noisy if you are a light sleeper but we had no problem sleeping. Price of the room is very reasonable and includes discounts for stays greater than 2 days. The Staff was exceptional. Robinson's Mall is a very short walk from the Hotel as well. Close to Rizal Park, US Embassy and other major businesses. Casa Bocobo will be my choice on all my future visits to the Philippines.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallo_romantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2009

awfully noisy air-conditioner
i couldn't sleep at all
i never recommend this hotel

location is relatively ok. just that

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okeila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2009

The staff was nice and courteous. Room service is good. Restaurant food is okay but choice is limited. The TV is too high up on the wall and screen does not move so the only way to see is lie on the bed. No fridge in the room. The area is very noisy and the window blind does not cover the window fully. Improved window treatments are needed to reduce the light and noise coming in from outside. Overall good value for money. And the internet is sooo slow and keeps dropping out every 10 minutes. The Robinson shopping mall is only five minutes walk and you can also walk to intramruous.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#14 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#13 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
#12 of 110 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Time Travellers Hotel
#35 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#19 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 110 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bocobo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bocobo Hotel

Property: Casa Bocobo Hotel
Address: Jorge Bocobo St. corner Kalaw Ave. | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bocobo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for travelers who yearn only the basic in lodging but demand excellence in service. A no-frills hotel, we put emphasis on practicality and sensibility. Rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable, set in a safe and secure location. Ideally located along Jorge Bocobo Street corner Kalaw and Avenue in Ermita, we are in close proximity to business and commercial districts. Nearby tourist spots include Rizal Park, Roxas Boulevard, Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, and Binondo (Chinatown). Manned by well-trained personnel whose mission is to provide guests service that radiates the warmth and efficiency of true Filipino hospitality - ensuring a stay so comfortable; guests will definitely feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Casa Bocobo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Bocobo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing