We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Casa Bocobo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The rooms were clean and staff helpful. It is in a good centralized location and economical for what you get. We stayed here a few times during our travels. Once they were full and drove us to their sister hotel. It was much nicer with a pool and kitchenette in the room. It was very clean. Didn't like the location as much. The staff were more spread out and not as available. Overall good places to stay in Manilla and good prices.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portland_OregonKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHmanila, Front Office Manager at Casa Bocobo Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Greetings from Casa Bocobo!

We would like to extend our deep appreciation about your review. It is gratifying that you generally find your stay pleasurable for both Casa Bocobo and Casa Bocobo Hotel at Zen Towers. It is with this that we continually strive to keep up the good work and go further improve ourselves.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next stay.

Yours truly,

Your Casa Bocoobo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    228
    101
    26
    22
See reviews for
68
164
144
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed in Petit room - small room (& bathroom), bed for two medium size person is ok, basic amenities but clean. If you need space, a better option is the twin or superior room.
Staff were courteous and provided good service. Complimentary buffet breakfast, though not a big variety, is good as they changed the menu daily. Complimentary use of internet is good.
Good location - near Roxas Blvd, Manila Bay, Rizal & Luneta Park, Intermuros, Hyatt hotel & casino, Robinson Place etc. We walked to these places.
Restaurant - quality of food and price is good compared to those in nearby Robinson Place.
Touched down at airport at 4am. No one manning the Nissan car hire counter although it was arranged. Woke the drivers sleeping in their cars at kerbside. Cost Php530. Most people were taking the yellow coloured metered taxis which is plentiful. It is a better option and cheaper.
WATCH OUT FOR TAXI DRIVERS IN TOWN WHO CAN MANIPULATE THEIR METERS. We took a taxi from hotel to American memorial, while at Makati we noticed that the meter was Php260 but a few seconds later it jumped to Php 580. Just before that we happened to notice that the taxi driver, with a towel in hand was doing something near the gear-stick (near meter) and there were beep sounds . We pointed to the taxi driver that he had adjusted the meter and of course he denied. The taxi driver then feigning ignorance, restarted the meter. This time the meter clocked at a pace of Php7 each time, when the normal pace is Php3.5. We decided to stop the taxi driver, pay him an appropriate amount and take another taxi.

NAIA Airport departure tax of Php750 is exorbitant considering the standard of service and facilities. For the same amount, Singapore Changi airport is first class.

Room Tip: Petit room is good for single or two if you do not mind the small space. For more comfort, take the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBHmanila, Front Office Manager at Casa Bocobo Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Greetings from Casa Bocobo!

Thank you for taking the time detailing your experience with us. We thank you that you find your stay delightful. This will be shared to the rest of the Casa Bocobo Family. We would like to apologize on behalf of Nissan Transport for the experience you had with them. The incident is closely monitored and has been raised accordingly with our service contractor.

It is regretable that you had such an exerience regarding the cab driver. If you were bale yo take note of the company name and plate number of the cab involved, we could report the incident to the proper authorities.

If we could be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us. See again soon!

Yours truly,

Your Casa Bocobo Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My family & I are repeating customers for Casa Bocobo Hotel. It is a great location since the place is quite near to Robinson's Manila, restaurants, fast foods, the US embassy. A few minutes away to the airport & to the biggest mall in Asia, SM's Mall of Asia (MOA).
The staff is friendly and accommodating. Rooms are also clean.
It is also quite good for your pocket since the price range is around Php 2000 per stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allicanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Bocobo Hotel for 3 nights in total over the 9 days we were in the Phillipines.It is in a good location, walking distance to Intramuros and Rizal Park, plus Manila Bay, if you really want to go and see a big pile of poo being washed in from the sea. Whatever my reservations about Manila, (which was a wonderfully strange city, contrasts at every corner, beautiful but ugly, chaotic but vibrant), the Casa Bocobo was a nice place to relax at the end of a day sightseeing. The 'Petite' rooms are just that, very small, but they don't pretend otherwise. The double rooms have 2 single beds, which were very comfortable. Everywhere in the Philipines still seems to have strange old style AC units, but they, they work. Free Breakfast included, nice coffee but dodgy sausages.

If I ever (had) to go back to Manila (3 days is probably enough), I would defintely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahindra_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Great place , great deal. Safe area and wonderful staff-super fun and friendly. Diner has awesome food and prices. Transportation was easy to get. I have stayed at sevral places in Manila and have to save even though they are no frills, I didnt really miss that stuff to much. They made my stay wonderful. Thank you staff of Bocobo-you made getting married there alot easier for us.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joesloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This hotel is nice and clean,although there are a few staff milling around at any time of the day. I requested for another set of towels and they did not charged me for it. Wifi has a sloooooooooow connection and I really hope that they will try to improve it even if we pay for a minimal fee as internet connection is really a necessity. Breakfast is ok but for 3 consecutive days, cups for coffee are oily and it looks like its not properly wash as the coffee maker glass looks like worn out already . But ala carte food are delicious especially their chicken. Yes, ill be back to this nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chey_tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I'd agree with what the previous reviewer said, not as awesome as thought. It's a decent hotel, infrastructure and all. Service offered was fine, but when we stepped into the room, we were quite surprised by how narrow it was. Toilet's so squeezy, you couldnt fit two. Amenities, available but inadequate especially the toiletries. Bed, yes was aligned sideways against the head board, TV was i suppose, an LCD monitor. Their wifi, called them once, twice, told them its the wrong password and i couldnt access it, but they insisted, and i gave up. Could be problems with my laptop but didnt occur with other hotels.
These minor problems aren't that important but the size of their normal room, yes they are. Of course, they have they plus points as well, good service of doormen, simple but nice concept of rooms, better value than other hotels. If you're slipshod about accommodation, this could very well be the one that suits you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahfreakinlaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#17 of 110 in Manila
706 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#16 of 110 in Manila
799 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#9 of 110 in Manila
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 110 in Manila
262 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 110 in Manila
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bocobo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bocobo Hotel

Property: Casa Bocobo Hotel
Address: Jorge Bocobo St. corner Kalaw Ave. | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bocobo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect hotel for travelers who yearn only the basic in lodging but demand excellence in service. A no-frills hotel, we put emphasis on practicality and sensibility. Rooms are impeccably clean and comfortable, set in a safe and secure location. Ideally located along Jorge Bocobo Street corner Kalaw and Avenue in Ermita, we are in close proximity to business and commercial districts. Nearby tourist spots include Rizal Park, Roxas Boulevard, Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, and Binondo (Chinatown). Manned by well-trained personnel whose mission is to provide guests service that radiates the warmth and efficiency of true Filipino hospitality - ensuring a stay so comfortable; guests will definitely feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Bocobo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Bocobo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing