We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
34
143
44
19
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
143
44
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr james rizal park robinson mall renovation
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 248 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2014

I have stayed here more than a dozen times. I rate this hotel as adult because it is in the Malate bar and KTV area, so this is not a child friendly location. The facility is showing age a bit, but the rooms are still clean and spacious with both a bathtub and separate shower - a very nice amenity. Beds were comfortable. Air conditioners are old style and will undoubtedly get upgraded soon.

This is a small and tall hotel, 8 floors with only a dozen rooms or less on each floor. Not a resort style hotel. There is no swimming pool.

Morning buffet breakfast is just okay. Because many guests from Asia the breakfast was primarily dinner style asian foods, BUT they do have an egg chef and for me she prepared perfectly cooked oil free over easy style eggs. This is difficult to get when traveling. There was also fruit, cereal and french toast.

The bottom line here is that for $60 dollars there is no hotel in Manila that is better for adult travelers. You need to approach $100 to achieve equal cleanliness and security - two BIG issues with many Manila area hotels.

Room Tip: for people watching stroll up the street a half block and on the opposite side of Adriatico are several outdoor restaurants with open seating. At night these places get very crowded. A new coffee, Tea and Bean is open next to these so good coffee is close.
  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shanghaijones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

A Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We certainly appreciate your wonderful remarks regarding our property. We are glad that you enjoyed and hope you have had a pleasant stay here in our hotel and our country. Regarding the air conditioning units in rooms, upgrading said units are on the planning stage already. Rest assured we will continue to strive to provide good service.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014

Still my preferred hotel whenever I'm in Manila.
A bit overpriced now but everything is still acceptable.
Some upgrading should be the order of day.......like the air-con units.
Old and noisy and I'm sure is generating lots more in power.
Also during my last penultimate stay, I had mentioned about the towels being too old and small.
The GM replied that the management will review that but disappointingly, the towels were the same old. That was half a year ago.
Apart from these " niggling distractions ", the hotel is recommended.
Best part is the friendly and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the bay.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robby KW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for your feedback during your recent stay here in Manila. We appreciate your review as it will help us determine what we can still improve on. We apologize for the delayed purchase of towels, rest assured all towels will be changed this year. We will be looking forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Even though I only stayed one night - This will be my 4th time staying at this hotel. This is a 3 star hotels, That is an excellent value at about 65 to 70 usd at night. I found that the deluxe king room is the best choice of accommodations for me. This dance is very friendly and responses to your questions. Those the interior is a tad bit dated , the restrooms are a good size with standing shower in a large tub. Now depending on what side of the hotel your room is on and how heavy sleeper you are some street traffic noise may bother you. I'm a heavy sleeper. The hotel's location is perfect, its very close to a large mall (Robinson) and its surrounded by a number of restaurants to include a short taxi ride to the Mall of Asia or seaside fish market. I would definitely stay again....

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williams_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for sharing kind words and remarks about your recent stay here in our hotel. We are very glad that we became a part of your memorable experiences here in our country. Rest assured that we will be sharing your lovely comments with the rest of our staff.

We will be very glad to welcome you back.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, was visitng many attractions around the area and wanted to get a Bayview without having to pay for the more expensive viwes offered from the various other hotels near here. Good value, rooms were clean and nicely styled, modern,spacious and attractive. Good location, within walking distance of various restaurants and shops on the main road near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawaiianboy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We certainly appreciate your wonderful remarks regarding our property. We are glad that you enjoyed and hope you have had a pleasant stay here in our hotel and our country.

We look forward of welcoming you back.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have stayed at a few different hotels in Malate over the years, and I have to say this is my pick of the lot. The Pearl Garden is aimed at travelers on a mid-range budget, and pretty much has everything you need. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the the staff helpful and friendly. Distance to the airport is not too bad, with travel times of between 30-35 minutes, depending on the time of day of course.

Robinson's Ermita is just 5 min down Adriatico Street, and if you want to kill a few hours and see how the Manila middle-class like to spend their time, its worth checking out. Final word of caution, if you're not used to dealing with small street children tugging at your shirt for loose change, then this may be a bit confronting for some people - but that's Malate,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jman0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Warm Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

Thank you very much for the wonderful remarks regarding our hotel. It is pleasant to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to be of service to you again

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews