We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bright spot in a glum area”
Review of Pearl Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pearl Garden Hotel
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bright spot in a glum area”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I would stay at Pearl Garden again if I found myself in Malate. The rooms are a bit dark and the upholstery and carpeting smells a bit of smoke but this seemed like a forgiveable flaw considering the price. Otherwise the room was equipped with what most travellers required, which in my case was an in-room safe and wifi. The desk and restaurant staff are friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was average.

The hotel's location has its pluses and minuses. It is a short walk to Robinsons Mall but the area is not well-maintained with some beggars in the streets. The area becomes a bit more pleasant when the sun sets and the bars and restaurants come to life.

If you need to stay in Malate this hotel would be a sensible choice but maybe other places in Manila - such as Makati - would offer better choices for shopping, entertainment and attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nomihodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write reviews for our hotel. Rest assured that we will be improving on the areas that you have mentioned in your review.

Also, we will address the concerns to our local government.

Once again, Thank You very much.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    144
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
8
40
40
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

2nd time to Manila and was lucky with the hotel. I booked onlineand the rates were good. Overall the Hotel was a great place to stay and enjoy.
1, Room - nicely and clean and everything worked well and bed was comfy but view from windows was depressing,. Hot water was good, flat screen TV and air cond worked perfectly though a bit noisy as it was a wall mounted unit.. Keypad Safe for all my stuff was great.
2. Food - had all my breakfasts there and the staff were attentive and so helpful and the food - not being great, was tasty and filling and the housekeeping was clean.
3. Location - NOT SO GREAT - KTV Bars (Karoake) abound and it appeared that this area was more set up for Japanese or Korean male visitors. The area surrounding the hotel is seedy with many beggars on the streets, though this seems to be coming a more common site around western hotels.. Shopping was good with a Robinsons shopping mall just 2 blocks away. Money changers close by as well as laundry and massage.
4. SERVICE - FANTASTIC - reception staff - especially Kimberley & Venus were fantastic, so friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff - Fantastic did everything to make your breakfast experience enjoyable - nothing too hard for them. Housecleaning - very professional.

Negatives -
1. -No pool. Internet a little slow
2. - Area a bit seedy and messy not an attractive location.


Stayed August 2013, traveled with friend

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

older hotel needs some cleaning and painting inside however it wasd a noce hotel to stay at and service was excellent breakfast was free and quite good will stay again if in manilla located close to robinosn mall a short walk to lrt station also

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnblbr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James G, General Manager at Pearl Garden Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Greetings from Pearl Garden Hotel,

We are grateful for your exceptional comment for our Hotel. Rest assured that we will strive for excellence, and will keep on improving our services for our customers satisfaction.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,

James Guasch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kefalonia Greece
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

location is a plus. a short walk from the center, Rizal park, Intramuros. just a couple of blocks from promenade. Area not nice but safe enough. Rooms are very comfortable, quite and sunny. Breakfast mediocre. overall a good value/money at Manila.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

They dont have smoking rooms and this is bad because they also have carpets in every room and in corridors. The corridors are really dirty and rooms are not well cleaned with very old accessories. The aircond is old and noisy. I booked for 2 nights but i left after one night because no wifi and nobody could fix the problem. Wifi in philippines is very important because the mobile system in the country is very bad and often no signal of 3G. Employers are nice but that they can do because the managment is absent.
There is much better in the area and cheaper.
Adriatico street is now a dirty and dangerous street and Malate is nomore the little paradise of few years ago. Now is a mix of filipino squatters and korean espatriate. This hotel is in the middle of this.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank boxboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is my favorite hotel whenever I'm in Manila.
Centrally located with lots of good restos within walking distance.
Also, Robinson's mall is just 10 mins walk away for shoppers and diners.
The hotel is charismatically simple. Rooms are clean and it has that homely feel about it.
Staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful.
Breakfast is good with adequate spread to cater to all and sundry.
There's a cafe adjoining the lobby and it is great place to chill with your favorite cuppa and slice of cake.
Highly recommended. It is a pearl of a gem !!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby KW C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pearl Lane Hotel
Pearl Lane Hotel
#33 of 109 in Manila
184 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#12 of 109 in Manila
267 reviews
Riviera Mansion Hotel
#20 of 109 in Manila
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 109 in Manila
247 reviews
Amelie Hotel Manila
#13 of 109 in Manila
154 reviews
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 109 in Manila
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl Garden Hotel

Property: Pearl Garden Hotel
Address: 1700 M. Adriatico St. corner General Malvar St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pearl Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pearl Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pearl Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing