We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Crud Ball Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citystate Tower Hotel
Ranked #73 of 109 Hotels in Manila
USA
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Total Crud Ball Hotel”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It is a shame that these people would put photos of a palace on their website and then when you arrive, you get this flea infested, bed bug infested, filthy room with filthy sheets, dirty walls, windows that wont close to the outside air of manila, noisy from traffic, furniture in disrepair, TV not working, ac control broken, bed like a rock, floor chipped and in horrible shape.
The bottom line! This hotel is a huge lie. Don't believe the photos on the website. It is a lie. We checked out immediately and went elsewhere. They got mad and made us pay AT GUNPOINT FROM AN ARMED GUARD WITH A MACHINE GUN. This place is dangerous. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    53
    83
    42
    36
See reviews for
24
67
73
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

So i have been at this place a few times. basically it sucks.. but there are some conveniences.. they offer bus to batangas and a few other excursions from the lobby.. also, its not well known but there is also a night club and karaoke upstairs.. ask and you will find your way there. if you are a single guy you will enjoy the friendliness of the girls (if you know what i mean).. ;) but other than that? its convenient to some partying.. not too far from robinson's mall and to a bunch of nightlife .... if you want to save money and you are there just to conduct business its ok. but you might get grossed out if you are unlucky enough to get one of the rooms that they dont bother cleaning.. or one of the rooms with air-conditioning that drowns out your tv .. or one of the rooms that is so tiny and old and depressing.. well , its the philippines so what did you expect. ? On my last stay i waited about 20 minutes at the front desk just to check out.. so i was chatting with some other foreigners who were also waiting about how it was so backwards... and when it was my time at the counter the young lady that was the desk manager decided to confront me with.. "why should i make any effort to help someone that insults my country?".... i quickly challenged her with.... that i am not insulting her country, but if she is actually the manager then i am insulting HER.. and i proceeded to tell her about 5 things she could immediately do to greatly improve the speed of the 6 people working behind that front desk.. such as.... no need to have 3 people in line stapling papers only to have the 4th one in line unstaple them.. etc etc.. so we got through another 15 minutes of tension while i continued to watch 6 people work as slow as possible doing meaningless tasks ..... so.. 35 minutes total to check out.. lol. again, more fun in the philippines.

Room Tip: my tip is.... only stay here if you need to save a few bucks and do your best to put up with the non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is from a previous generation.

The air-con and bathrrom extractor are so loud that you have to shout at each other to be heard over the din. There is no fan so I got a blocked nose every morning from the air-con. Other than that, the rooms are very average. There is free wi-fi.

One bizarre routine though ... the staff come round knocking on all the room doors at 9 am to check if anyone is in the rooms! Given that guests put a deposit down at check in, this is both highly irritating (waking everyone up) and totally unnecessary.

And breakfast is just awful - a choice of 10 cholesterol clogging options - noo healthy food, even the bread is made with egg. All I could eat was a piece of mango each day - terrible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zambezikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A good stop over hotel.
Comes with breakfast.
I was lucky to get and upgrade twice when i stayed this last september
I have stayed at this hotel before i find the rooms clean and a good size the down side to their rooms is there is no safe in the room.
you have to but it in their safety deposit boxes down stairs.
Close to bars and shopping

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank now2mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at City State Tower hotel in Mabini regularly over the past five years because I had my work in Asia.In the recent past there has been a dramatic change regarding customer service and honesty. First off all: the hotel has nearly no customers today. The management has told the front desk staff to sell the expensive rooms and tell the the customers that they don't have Standard rooms available. There is so many vacant rooms in this hotel. Why do the staff need to lie to me about this. They also try to maximize the payment by telling that the prize of the rooms do not correspond with what is online on the net.
I am very disappointed to have the same discussion over and over again with the front desk.

Room Tip: do not trust the management in the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bjorn2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in your hotel for 16 days in april and may of 2013 and I have to say I was very pleased with everything there. the front desk staff was very efficient and polite all smiles the cleaning staff did an excellent job every day. I have noticed in other reviews that people complained about the aircon a lot I had no problem with it at all. I WILL stay at your hotel again and I WILL recommend your hotel to anyone who visits manila. have a great day and keep up the good work.
gary s. grande prairie alberta Canada

Room Tip: if you are polite then everyone is happy..... that is all lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The booking that I made through Agoda.com was not fully honored by the cashier at the Citystate Tower Hotel. I made a booking # 35775470 in this hotel for a total of PHP 2,350.00 (USD 52.75) for 1 nights from September 1, 2013 to September 2, 2013 for Superior Queen with set Breakfast. I even extended. At the time of check out the cashier of the hotel told me that I should pay additional PHP 300 pesos because the room rate given by Agoda.com was lower than their normal rate. I told her that that was a problem between them and Agoda. I paid what I was suppose to paid to the site and why should I pay additional for room charges. In fact PHP 300 is nothing, but its the fairness what bothers me. Even though I point to the cashier the clause of Agoda that says: "The hotel will not charge you for your room. You will be responsible for any additional services used during your stay (mini-bar, spa, etc.)." That clause was not honored. I liked everything of the hotel, except that cashier who do not honor the internet bookings as they are. In my work i must travel so much and I have never seen a situation like this one. All hotels honor Agoda.com and Hotels.com, cheaptickets.com etc, but not CityState Tower Hotel. They should review their agreement with the sites, because they are not suppose to charge again for room charges that are already fully paid. It was so unfair. I left this hotel with a sour taste in my mouth, and I will not return

Room Tip: I tell you in advance, your internet booking will have says one thing. at the time of the check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlos H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Cherry Blossoms Hotel
Cherry Blossoms Hotel
#45 of 109 in Manila
152 reviews
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#67 of 109 in Manila
33 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 109 in Manila
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Time Travellers Hotel
#56 of 109 in Manila
22 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 109 in Manila
503 reviews
Ermita
Paragon Tower Hotel
Paragon Tower Hotel
#42 of 109 in Manila
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Tower Hotel

Property: Citystate Tower Hotel
Address: 1315 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A new land mark in sunshine Manila" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Citystate Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystate Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing