We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stop over in manila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Citystate Tower Hotel
Ranked #74 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This hotel is basic, but functional and an ideal choice if you are travelling to Puerto Galera as the sikat bus leaves from the hotel at 8.00am
I have stayed many times when travelling to and from Puerto Galera, staying in most available rooms.
The standard rooms are generally in the centre of the hotel and have no external windows, aircon in standard rooms can be noisy.
superior rooms,deluxe rooms and above usually have an external window and depending on the floor you can get a decent view.
Location of hotel is good for sikat bus, robinsons mall and usually 30mins to the airport though at times manila traffic can stretch this to over an hour.
Breakfast is limited with a selection made from a pre set list , which is basic and doesnt allow you to change if you dont like an item. quality of food varied with some days excellent to other days appearing cold !

overall this is a hotel that i will stay at when travelling through manila, basic, but functional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saf7670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

We had a full day in Manila before flying home and didn't want to spend it in an airport hotel. We picked this hotel as we found it when we booked our Sikat transportation to Mindoro (which worked out well in both directions) and a little cheaper than the one we stayed in upon our initial arrival in Manila. Upon arrival at the hotel and security guy and a dog sniffed our luggage when we got out of the taxi. Not sure if they were looking for drugs or bombs. We had a room on the 6th floor in the back and it was clean and quiet - TV was up in the far corner and very small, if that matters. I agree with others that the front desk staff is a little cool - very surprising as all the Filipinos we met were so friendly and helpful. They were very busy when we arrived with lots of people checking out so check in took a while. The one thing that struck us as strange is that they asked us for a 1,000 peso deposit for the in-room minibar. They do check the rooms upon checkout so why not just bill you then? This is the only place we encountered this in our 5 week stay in the Philippines. We enjoyed the breakfast that was included - choice of 6 items including omelets. Much better than the hotel we stayed at when we arrived in Manila (see my other review.) Yes, there are beggers and touts outside, but there's not much that the hotel can do about it - it's a poor country. There is a very nice Italian restaurant a couple doors up from the hotel - can't remember the name but you can't miss it. Don't fall for having them take you to the airport in their van. They wanted 500 pesos - we paid a metered cabbie 180 pesos. The hotel was worked fine for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jozy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

After we checked in, the receptionists made us wait for nearly an hour before they handed us our room cards with no apology. We were so tired from the long flight and as soon as we got in our room, we laid down and noticed that our pillows and bed linens had this musky odor. I took the shower and used the towel and it also had the same bad smell. Our room was okay but the airconditioner was strangely at the same level like my bed so I ended up having a terrible colds.

Breakfast was included but it was mediocre and the choice was small. The only good thing I could say about this hotel was that it was barely 10 mins. away from Robinson's Mall.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank molly187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in a Standard Premium room. My room was clean and the shower had hot water which was great. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the noise from the street was so loud that I had trouble sleeping for the first few nights until I got use to it. The front reception staff were very slow when I checked-out and a little unfriendly (they looked totally understaffed). I would considered staying here again only if I was guaranteed a room on the higher floors.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaronWonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

In a neighborhood with a lot of bad hotel options, Citystate Tower a good deal in this price range. Stayed in super deluxe room (I think it was, there are a lot of categories) on 3rd floor (#345) that was freshly painted and had newish furniture. Sort of minimalist decor, but was clean with ceramic tile floor and well-ventilated. View was of a nearby wall, but was quiet for sleeping. Included breakfast, but went elsewhere after the first day. One-hour free wifi in room included. Citystate Hotel is a busy and popular place. Had reserved for a suite room, but on arriving they said 'air conditioner was broken' and did not honor the reservation. Satisfied enough with the room I had though.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

As im used to do (or rather was) business in Mabini Street and my main supplier had their shops just aside of this hotel i was always staying there.
You can call it European standard of about 3 stars; rooms are cleaned nicely every day even if some of the rooms would need some sort of renovation some day (will come as they are just finishend another hotel on the other side which will be connected), breakfast is simple, reception (especially Ms. Rachel is very nice) ok and for Philippine terms well organized.

The hotel itself is owned by Chinese who are doing pretty well.

Only thing i would warn anyone going there = DONT book a room going towards Mabini Street (hotel entrance) !!! Just across is a dance/music/restaurant/bar who are singing in some 150 + DB all night untill about 3-4 o´clock.
So stay at the back !!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Udo_Gangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

First stay was to facilitate onward travel via Sikat bus and boat to Mindoro, they wanted 2000 pesos cash for mini bar deposit, then took that as part payment on the whole bill, without asking, I needed the cash but seems they needed it more ! Then as my wife was leaving an hour later they asked for another 1000 pesos cash deposit ! ! They have such idiotic systems of payment that I believe they are trying to hoodwink travellers out of extra money. Breakfast is a joke too. second time we booked a room for whole family and were shown a twin room, after complaining we were shown a better option which was exactly the same but smaller !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hapitripr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 111 in Manila
679 reviews
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#67 of 111 in Manila
34 reviews
Ermita
Cherry Blossoms Hotel
Cherry Blossoms Hotel
#41 of 111 in Manila
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#20 of 111 in Manila
580 reviews
Ermita
Sunny Bay Suites
Sunny Bay Suites
#83 of 111 in Manila
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystate Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystate Tower Hotel

Address: 1315 A. Mabini Street, Ermita, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $37 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citystate Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A new land mark in sunshine Manila" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Citystate Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystate Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing