We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic foods of a different taste”
Review of Chef Laudico Bistro Filipino - CLOSED

Chef Laudico Bistro Filipino
Price range: $5 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Classic foods of a different taste”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had a trip to CLBF last July. We intend to get a taste of CL's foods that we are familiar of and see how different it would be from the usual's.

Nilaga Corn Chowder - Average
Sisig Baskets - Average
Gambas Flambé - Very Good with a familiar tasting tomato-based sauce
Crispy Pata - Average (sauce tasted weird). I was expecting to be more crispy
Flat Iron Steak - Very Good and even the Sweet Potato Croquette is very good
Tiger Prawns - Very Good and so is the sauce
Frozen Brazo - Average

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Filipino Food Classics with a twist”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ate there for a date with my girlfriend to finally know how the place is. We went there after a reservation, ate the usual course of having an appetizer, main course, dessert.

We got the sisig shots (minced pork wrapped in pita) for appetizer, lengua (cow tongue) and sinigang (sour pork broth with yam) for the main course and sweet banana for the dessert.

Over-all, taste was excellent! Ambiance is also good, but yep, food was pricey. Good for special occasions, not for the daily type of meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kwokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Filipino food with a twist”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

bistro filipino serves filipino food with a twist. we love the 3 mango salad and lumpia with frozen vinegar ( this is not exactly how it is called, it is under appetizer in the menu). we also got to try its beef kalderata (pie), a pansit and grilled chicken. they also have truffles. i recommend the chocolate, but not the peanut butter jelly. for dessert, we also had maja cheesecake, which according to them is one of their bestsellers, we didn't like it though. however, overall, we had a nice dining experience at bistro filipino and would like to go back one day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sophiegrayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience in the middle of Manila”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to have the chef and his wife come and talk us through a degustation menu designed especially for us. The food was exceptional managed to be modern without losing the traditional flavours of the Philippines.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NZBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Nice Setting”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Bistro Filipino is in an old house away from the maddening and traffic scene in Tomas Morato. The interior is a bit luxurious by Tomas Morato restaurant standards. The food is very good---tasty and utterly delicious. A few dishes are quite creative such as the sisig in pastry cups and the do-it-yourself fresh spring rolls. Service is friendly. The buffet is good value for money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TREKKEARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Laudico Bistro Filipino also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing