We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive surprise”
Review of Tropicana Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropicana Suites
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom suite. Large rooms, 2 bathrooms, large kitchen, spearate dining room with dining table. Free wifi, but very bad connection in my room so I had to sit in the lobby, where the connection was excellent. Very friendly staff. Clean rooms. We had lunch twice at the nearby restaurant who served excellent chinese and philippine food at affordable prices, but our friends who had breakfast there complained about very slow service in the morning. Very good location, walking distance to the large mall Robinsons. Nice swimming pool in the backyard.
We will stay here also on our next trip to Manila

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with my family for 4 nights in late march; On arriving i got a pleasant suprise when i was quoted a price that was 600 paso less per night than quoted due to a promo. The room was quiet spacious and well maintaned during our stay, We got internet connection straight away after we enquired and the swimming pool was excellent and very well maintained by the pool attendent who was working there, Overall all our requests from all staff were met with smile and delt with straight away. I would reccomend this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Scott094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This location is really convenient. Close to the markets and Robinson's Plaza. It is a secure facility with an outdoor pool, small (mediocre) gym and wifi accessible. The lobby is clean and air-conditioned and the staff is very helpful and friendly. If you need anything from housekeeping they are efficient to help you out.

We stayed there twice - first for 5 days at the beginning of our trip upon arriving to Manila and second at the end for three days. On our first stay we were given the last room available - the exterior door lock was broken (had to be repaired) and it was clean yet worn in. Our second stay was much better as the suite was renovated with newer furnishings, bigger tv, more spacious.

This place is good mainly because you can prepare your own meals after shopping at the market, have a quick breakfast in the morning or a small snack before going to bed. If you don't want to do that, you can choose to eat at one of the nearby restaurants. We went swimming in the morning after a quick workout in the gym - at least there were treadmills. If you wish, you can order San Migs poolside too!

It was a better experience the second time around and hopefully we will be able to experience it in the future!

Room Tip: Log out of your one hour free wifi after using it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanniehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We've stayed at the Tropicana twice, once for a week and another time
for a single night. We had a one bedroom apartment on the second
floor. The apartment had a separate bedroom but the air conditioner
so if you close the bedroom door -- no aircon in the living room and
kitchen. The kitchen was furnished with dishes, silverware, pots and
pans of good quality, a toaster oven, a two burner hot plate and a
refrigerator. Our room also had a balcony overlooking a quiet
schoolyard with lots of trees --- very pleasant!

The hotel has quite a few long term residents. It's generally a quiet
place, especially if you get a room up high and at the back.

The staff is capable and accommodating but not obsequious. Security
seems excellent. The breakfast area and service are unspectacular but
adequate.

The Tropicana offers daily, weekly and monthly rates on studio,
one-bedroom and two bedroom apartments. During the summer they have
promo rates.

The Tropicana is showing its age. The rooms are a bit lackluster but
provide safe comfortable family accommodations at a good price in a
good location.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Archipelago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I stayed here for the first time although I have visited Manila many times since 2004. This is a great apartment hotel with a kitchenette. I stayed in a one-bedroom apartment, with a separate living room. I am a vegetarian who loves to save money. Hence, I loved cooking my breakfast and dinner every day. The utensils were clean unlike some other apartment hotels I have stayed in. This was great value for money. Not only did I save on food, but also I saved on the rentals because it cost me much less than a hotel room of similar standards. The rooms were clean and so were the toilets. The staff were helpful. Although they do not have wireless Internet on the higher floors, they promptly provided me with a broadband connection for no cost.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rphyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

The building was nice looking from outside and like all hotels inthe Philippines
there were lots of help in the lobby. The hotel had people everywere working.
The problem is that the rooms are old and not updated.
No sink in the bathroom. You needed to use the sink in the other room.
The sink was rusted. No soap and when they came with soap it was a little bar
and nothing else. One old towel (it was clean). The bed was not comfee.
I was disappointed.
There was internet service but only able to get it in the hallways plus they charges for use. There was no lock box in the room, They charged to use a box behind the front desk. No breakfast even though they said on the phone that if I stayed three nights it would be included.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OaklandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

The Tropicana Apartments hotel is about a 2-minute walk from Robinsons Mall - probably the main tourist attraction in this part of Manila. The hotel is on a quiet (for Manila) side street in an area that seems safe enough. The staff are ALL very pleasant and helpful. We rented a 2-bedroom apartment for a 4 night stay, then a week later for a 10 night stay. These apartments are very large - I paced out about 14 yards square from wall to wall. The two bedrooms have adequate aircon, but the living room/kitchen does not, making it a little warm even when the bedroom doors are left open. There are also 2 quite large balconies but we didn't use these except for drying clothes, as sitting out on a balcony in Manila is not the most interesting or comfortable thing to do. The apartments vary in condition. We started off in 401 and ended in 302 which were both OK, but in between we stayed one night in 701 which was poor. The better apartments are sparsely but adequately furnished. There is one tv with cable in the living room. Now one of my great pleasures when staying in a hotel is to fall asleep in bed watching the tele; alas there are no tvs in the bedrooms here. The better rooms look a little out of day, the bad room we had was very tatty, paint peeling etc. Cleanliness in all rooms was good. We encountered 2 cockroaches during our stays - about average for a Manila hotel, well below the average for a Boracay Nipa hut. There were 2 bathrooms in the apartment.

There is no double glazing. The windows are all a sort of Venetian blind glass pane arrangement. All are covered by insect screening. The lack of double glazing means that there is less protection against street noise (and it must cost the hotel a lot more in aircon electricity). Be warned that there is a lot of building work going on on one side of the hotel. In our bad room (701) we were kept awake by loud hammering all through Saturday night / Sunday morning by the work going on 50 yards away from our window.

One of the big bonuses of this hotel is the swimming pool. It's a normal rectangular pool, I suppose about 15 or 20 yards by 10, going from about 4 feet to 9 feet deep. It was never busy during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jimpanzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 111 in Manila
269 reviews
Ermita
City Garden Suites
City Garden Suites
#20 of 111 in Manila
580 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#13 of 111 in Manila
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 111 in Manila
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Suites

Address: 1630 Luis Maria Guerrero Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $43 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tropicana Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropicana Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing