We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay ”
Review of Calypha Guesthouse

Calypha Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Calypha Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 8 Victoria B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice stay ”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Actually, our stay was in Nov 2012.Due to some of issue, my seychelles trip review is just uploaded. This guesthouse is valued for its price. As we drove in, there was no problem with the access towards nearby area. The owners are very nice and kind. The breakfast was good, we were served with different food every morning with a good scenery besides us. And we had paid for an evening to have dinner cooked by the owner with traditional Creole cooking method. The fish was very delicious. (But Madam is not willing to cook for everynight for guests and we just tried once the dinner cooking there). We stayed for a week in the guesthouse and in between, we went to Praslin. The guesthouse owner helped us to call and check for stay in Praslin, the owner helped us to keep the luggages in the guesthouse during the time we went Praslin. If one is finding a place to stay in Mahe, this guestshouse is recommended. One drawback is there was always barking dogs in the nearby houses which scaring us, we thus had to drive every time for fear of the barking dog. Before we went to Seychelles, we know it well that Seychelles is a country for leisure and laid back for its natural scenery,lacking of telecom connection was not a problem to us.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WillmaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This fabulously located hillside retreat has stunning panoramic views across the sea and local islands. We have never been to a place where you can touch the freindliness of the warm family who run the Calypha which mirrors the islands people hospitality and nature. The food is impeccably local and includes a wide variety of fish. As a take it or leave it fish eater I am now a convert to the exoctic flavours and cooking style of the Seychelloi and Creole people and recommend the grilled captain fish. Beaches are in abundance and only a short bus ride away. The lawrence family will advise you of only the best places to go including those hidden beach coves with electric blue waters surrounded by pearl white sandy beaches and coconut palms. The rooms are excellent value for money with those excellent views from the balconies that you won't find from a traditional beach resort. For those of you who remember the days of Miss World take a trip to the Hotel that held it some years ago and walk down the sweeping staircase that the contestants walked during the competition. Watch out for the giant tortoises that eat along the side of the lane leading upto the Calypha a spectacular sight in itself. Also discover how the Island ticks at night with advice as to what you can do from the Hotel owners who can direct you to some truly memorable nigths out and one of the Islands premier nightclubs with dancing late on until the early morning. I fully recommend the Calypha and all it has to offer as a magical way of enjoying paradise. You don't need a 5 Star resort when the Calypha offers everything and more from a fraction of the cost elsewhere. I will certainly be going again......!

Room Tip: Choose from 1 of 4 specially built veranda rooms...!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 731David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clement, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Absolutely charming family run guest house. Lovely rooms offering wonderful views. The food is beautifully prepared and ranks high amongst the locals as well as guests. Always helpful staff which goes a long way to making your visit to the Seychelles special. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is really value for money. I've been to Seychelles a few times and if only I had been to calypha before I would have probably gone back there each time. it is definitely those sophisticated 5 start that is shown in magazines and marketing books but it has the Seychelles spirit with it. very friendly people and the very best creole food prepared by the family. breakfast was really nice as well. could do with more space in the room but for 60 for 2 on B&B it was a real bargain.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 have the best view... we got 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nich v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

My bedsheets were stained and had some dry blood on the bed cover!!! When asked if they could change it the hostess who I believe is the owner was so rude!!!! I had no hot water and felt that I was an imposition for them. I will recommend anyone looking for a guest house to never use this one!! Please do yourselves a favour and skip this one!! Dirty sheets and rude owners!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank HeiidiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Seychelles is a very boring island.One of the undeveloped part of the world.
In my opinion several times back from mainland Africa and this everything
overpriced island only be choosed to honeymooners.

Calypha is a kind of B&B.Approx.six ensuite rooms are clean and airy but,
not spacious.In the room bed,table and chair.ceiling fan and wardrobe is ready.
No A/C + Tv+internet.Rooms have small balcony, approx. two peoples can locate.
There is a communal living room with only one channel Tv,I think their government
does not want satellite etc. because, never seen dish etc. And there was a verandah
looking to sea.Breakfast is; 3 toast, jam and butter,fruit,coffee or tea.It is near to sea
but, not near to beaches,you have to catch a bus or get a taxi.Actually overpriced
for western standarts but, every thing is overpriced in this sleepy island.I will never
come back to this island and never offer somebody who is looking for their rest.

Do not waste your time and money for to this undeveloped island.They have to learn
to respect to tourists who are not their money machine and there is a lot of peaceful
places more than beautiful and affordable who are respectful for to tourists
in the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
34 Thank IndianOceanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

This is an ideal travellers, arrival/departure B&B and for those who want to escape the traditional package hotels. This was our second visit after ten years. and we still love it. Recommendation: order the evening meal at breakfast and the owner will buy and cook a fantastic Kreole fish dish.
On our first trip we used Calypha as a home base for touring Mahe, then spent several days on La Digue and Praslin, before returning for a few days prior to our flight home.
On this visit we decided to spend the whole 8 days chilling out on Mahe beaches, staying at the family run Calypha the whole time. The service was consistant and welcoming. If you want a true local experience we highly recomend this place.
Things to note:
Local buses run from the end of the road.
Local dogs can wake you for 10 minutes occasionally.
Giant tortoises on the property.
Sea view.
Very clean.
Good deal on car hire.
We will go back again!

  • Liked — Local flavour & cleanliness - oh! and price!!
  • Disliked — Steep climb up driveway for car - easy after 1st attempt.
  • Tips/Secrets — The evening meal is a must.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
0.0 mi away
Panorama Guesthouse Beau Vallon
0.0 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
0.0 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Le Relax Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Chez Lorna
Chez Lorna
#3 of 8 in Victoria
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calypha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calypha Guesthouse

Property: Calypha Guesthouse
Address: Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Calypha Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calypha Guesthouse Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing