We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget”
Review of The Pirates Arms - CLOSED

The Pirates Arms
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Seems like the most popular restaurant in Victoria, definitely looks like it has a long standing history.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for budget”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The food was surprisingly cheap after what we've seen in Seychelles. The octopus salad was very good and they even modified it to my wish, but the Pasta Carbonara was not at all what you'd expect from it except it had pasta in it. The staff were friendly. The atmosphere was nothing special, and the chairs looked really old and cheap. If you must go to the lavatory though, make sure you visit it after you've finished eating. Hygiene is definitely not a priority and it's out side the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StephaneGilahin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    132
    161
    47
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Not many places were open when we hit Victoria, Seychelles. Most of our work group ended up in The Pirates Arms for the big sporting event on tv and lunch. I found the food average but priced very high. Some items on the menu were not available. The restrooms were completely 3rd world.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient location with average food”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service, food and atmosphere were ok. At best a convenient pit stop in the centre of Victoria. I had a fish curry which was acceptable if a little dry. Curry plus bottle of water £15.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscoDave911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good meeting point”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

this is a good meeting point if your going into town, but the service wasn't great and the food was average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayde d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pirates Arms, Mahe Victoria”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We saw this advertised in the local guide we were given so thought we would give it a try.
We were greeted, or rather grunted at by a chap at the door. We chose a table and discussed the not so friendly locals. A young girl served us and was ok. I decided that I would like a plate of French fries to go with my beer so I very politely requested this in my best French. Obviously BIG mistake, the more mature waitress gave me a look that would peel paint from a door, She returned with our cutlery without a word. She seemed to have a problem with the tourists a Chinese couple were treated the same by her. Not so good as advertised.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pirates Arms also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
 
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing