We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this World!”
Review of Bay View Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay View Villa
Mayfield, Dalkeith
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Out of this World!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We flew to the Seychelles this Ethiopia air for a 2 week holiday from 17th November - 2nd December. The flights were fine, the change over at Addis Ababa airport was an experience as things arnt signposted very well at all so make sure you have time when changing flights here, its not easy and the staff were not the most helpful at all. This is a smoking airport and the duty free is reasonable for alcohol ( £12 for litre of blue smirnoff) and good for cigarettes ( £10 for 200 benson and hedges) but the selection of perfume was poor.

Arriving in the Seychells is wonderful, the run way is right at the side of the water, pretty spectacular to watch. Anyway, on our arrival we waited and waited for our bags...........they hadnt been put on the flight! Not just ours though, about 15 people were affected. It took about an hour and half to register the lost baggage and then to be told they had no idea when we would get our bags.

We were met by Masons travel who I had booked transfers with. The staff are so friendly and gave us some maps and a contact for during our stay should we have any problems. Johanne was her name and she was great, very willing and and always smiling. The transfers were great, they transfered us to Bay View Villa in an air conditioned 4X4. Driver was very informative on route also.

We arrived a Bay View villa very quickly, it only takes 20 minutes from airport. We were met by Valarie and given a very welcomed drink. We were alocated room 3 on the ground floor which was located in a perfect place, the sun didnt beat down on it so always very cool, it is the smallest room in the villa but was ideal for us. Valarie and Christian were couldnt believe our bags hadnt arrived but they gave us some shorts and tops to keep us going (since we left from Scotland, we were wearing trousers and jumpers!) and new toothbrushes and toothpase. Was an amazing help as we didnt receive our bags for 4 days! The local shop is 15 minute walk (wear sun cream because we didnt have any, we both got burnt just walking to the shop - the sun is fierce) and we managed to get deoderant but not much else, the local shops are few and far between and very basic. To get some clothes we took the number 11 bus from the bottom of the road to Victoria town centre but again our choices were limited, I managed to get 1 pair of shorts just but you do have a better selection of bathroom essentals. Its a 45 minute bus journey but a great experience. You get dropped of at the main bus stance and get the bus back from the same place, really easy to figure out. We did find Victoria is expensive to eat in out but really on a whole, it is the town centre so we should have guessed that. It took an afternoon to see all of Victoria, worth a visit.

We were staying 14 nights at Bay View Villa, I really dont know where to start but WOW, we had an amazing time, the Villa is amazing, the views are spectacular, the staff are great and Valarie and Christian will give you the best advice on places to see and things to do and any arrangment you need, they will sort it out. They sorted out our care hire, which I have to say, I highly recomend the company they used, so easy and a car really is a must to see all the Island. They also arranged a hire of a catamaran for the day, again, you have to do it, the boat was amazing, you feel so special and see a huge part of the island, you wont see by road, Aubry was our skipper and he is lovely, I recomend him to you, just as Valarie to request him.

We ate out a few times, Chez Plume was nice but very expensive, approx £25 for a bottle of wine. Meridain hotel is nice also, fair price, La fontain pizza place makes amazing pizza but our favouite is Marias Rock Cafe, Christian will give you directions, its not easy to find but worth the patience of trying to. I had the mixed meat and my husband had the prawns, you get everything raw and are given a hot stone to cook your own food, wow, it is awsome, so tasty and such a clever idea, its also the cheapest meal we had on the island, 34 euros for both of us including drinks! Worth every penny, I promise you wont regret finding the place at all.

We also went Scuba diving, again arraged through the villa and the company were fantasic, Leo picked us up and very reasonable price for 2 tank dive, 207 euros for both of us including equipment hire. Really good dive masters , so happy and polite and take you to good dive sites and we had 2 long dives, 45 and 55 minutes with lots to see.

The local rum and vodka is really nice, very smooth and you can pick it up at local shops, about the same price as UK per bottle but worth the taste.

As we didnt have bags for the first few days, we didnt have mosquito repelant so we both got a bite per night sadly but there is no malaria risk so make sure you take repelant with you.

We took euros and paid for everything in euros but you get the change to seychelles rupees, the shops will calculate the change on the calculator in front of you, they are very honest and give you the correct change, it is actually very east to work out after a couple of transactions, you will get used to it. Ive never felt so safe, they crime rate is very low so you are safe walking about, even at night. The biggest risk walking back to the villa in the dark is standing on a crab! There are no street lights so ask Christian for a torch or take one with you.

Listen to Chritian and Valerie, they will give you the best advice and they just want you to see the best that Mahe has to offer. We really did love it and will go back, we didnt visit any other islands but Mahe has so much to offer. The Seychells is the most unspoiled place in the world, you really wont regret visiting.

Bay View villa shares a view with Maia luxury resort, its right over the bay and really interesting watching the helecopter transfers bringing in new guests to it. This is the most exclusive resort on the island so you can imagine the view you have sitting on the terrace. You wont regret staying at Bay View, it really is home from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jambo-TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    22
    9
    1
    6
See reviews for
14
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2012

During the last 18 years all our annual holidays were pleasantly hectic, not more than a few days in the same place, jumping planes and meeting strict travel schedules. This year we decided we need a relaxing holiday, somewhere near the ocean, close to the beach and far from the traffic, the noise and the craziness of the big metropolis.
We love the ocean and as much as we can we spend the weekends on the beach as we live in Sydney, so, it wasn't to much of a surprise for our friends when we told them we'll go to the Seychelles. At the end of the day we had to see if the Indian Ocean is as beautiful as the Pacific !

We didn't know what to expect, except a good rest, a warm climate and hopefully some interesting food. After 10 days spent at the Bay View Villa we have only one word to describe our sejour : Amazing ! Everything was perfect : an incredible beautiful place with people that became our friends over night, a very homey atmosphere from the moment we arrived, a delightful breakfast prepared with so much care and love, awesome views from the everywhere, from the room, from the veranda, from the courtyard, from the swimming pool. We were in paradise !

Christian and Valerie took care of us as if they knew us for ages. It didn't take long to realise their advice to hire a car was so invaluable. And they didn't stop here : we found out where to go to see amazing sceneries, where to find good food at a best value, on which spot the sunset is a must view, or on which beach the turtles might be seen, etc. We will miss you guys and you raised the benchmark of our future holidays pretty high !

Thank you to everybody at the Bay View Villa. We were so lucky to discover you !
As we stayed in the honeymoon suit we decided it is right to consider this holiday at the Bay View Villa our second honeymoon...after 33 years from the first..

Room Tip: The suit ( also called the honey moon suit) is well priced and has the best views, also been closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikyManu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had a very short weekend trip from Dubai and what makes this place shine above others in the same category is the view, the cleanliness, and the warm attention from the hosts. It is difficult to pack everything in to one short weekend but Christian was so helpful in pointing out places to eat lunch and the best beaches at the best times for superior photographs. He was really invaluable in his recommendations.
There is a mini-fridge in each room and mini-markets down the road -although the markets are really pretty sparse in choice and you're out of luck if you are not eating carbs, but you're able to buy wine (mostly screw top low end), water and snacks. If you don't want to make the trip to the markets, the villa has an honor system for snacks and drinks and you just record what you've taken and pay at the end which is very convenient if you use it.
Dinner options in the area are scarce but adequate for a short stay and Christian is a wealth of information for recommended restaurants.
I only have two very tiny suggestions:
1) the WIFI is a pretty weak signal so you have to go to the breakfast area to get access. But it works, it's free, and there's a stunning view to distract you from work if you have to check emails! A booster might help the signal reach more places on the property.
2) the upstairs balcony chairs are missing cushions and a small table would be great addition.

The best part of our stay was listening to the waves crash just below with a chilled glass of white wine and looking at the spectacular view. I will definitely return and highly recommend Bay View Villa - you really won't find anything comparable on the island.

Room Tip: There is only 1 room upstairs that has a private entry onto the shared balcony upstairs. This is bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoSweatTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we've been to seychelles many times and the island is breath taking so we decided to have our wedding and honeymoon there.. we've searched via internet for a nice hotel with resonable price and we found bay view villa.. the hotel looked so good and peacfull for us and the booking process went so easy.
when we arrived the owner of the hotel greeted us warmly she was so kind and nice. we had a traditional welcome drink with a big smile from ppl who served us.. then we went to our room. everything was so well planned from the owner.
after that we went for lunch in a very very good resturant. then we had a conversation about the wedding and everything was planned as well.
the whole marriage wa stunning the ppl there were like our family the vedio and pictures we had were so nice. me and my husband had so much fun and romance there.. thanks alot Valire and Christian :)

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank whiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Small, beautiful villa overlooking the ocean with great mountain views as well. Peaceful, welcoming atmosphere with wonderful, knowledgeable and helpful proprietors and staff. Marvelous breakfasts on the veranda. One of the best vacations we have had in years. We already miss this home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself and my friend stayed at Bay View Villa, Seychelles. We never had a feeling that we are somewhere far from our home. The stay with Valarie and chris give us a homely feeling.
We will never forget Elna, who serve the breakfast every morning with a smile – actually her smile made our day..
You will get a beautiful view to the sea. For newly married couple this place is paradise. We highly recommend the stay at Bay View Villa, Seychelles.
A Big thanks to Valerie / Chris and Elna – You really made our holiday!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fais_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapel Avezaath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed for a week in Bay View Villa with 9 people. The location is great, views from veranda and balcony are beautiful. Rooms are spacious and luxury. Our hosts valery and Christian gave us excellent tips for places to visit and things to do. All together a perfect experience. The south part of the Island is very quite, lot's of time we were the only people on a beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FritsjdeGraaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria
7.1 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
2.0 mi away
AVANI Seychelles Barbarons Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
342 reviews
4.5 mi away
Eden Bleu Hotel
Eden Bleu Hotel
#1 of 4 in Victoria
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
BayView Seychelles
BayView Seychelles
#4 of 4 in Anse Boileau
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Villa

Property: Bay View Villa
Address: Petite Barbarons | PO Box 848, Victoria, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay View Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-positioned in Mahé Island, the Villa is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Seychelles Islands. Only 15.0 km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. A well-kept environment and its proximity to various five star resorts and awesome beaches give to this hotel a special charm. The facilities and services provided by Bay View Villa ensure a pleasant stay for guests. A selection of top-class facilities such as Swimming pool and verandah with a million dollar view, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park can be enjoyed at the hotel. Bay View Villa is home to 6 bedrooms, all tastefully furnished to provide comforts such as jacuzzi bathtub, satellite/cable TV, balcony/terrace, in room safe, internet access,WIFI (complimentary). The hotel offers many unique recreational opportunities such as garden, outdoor pool. Enjoy unparalleled services and a truly prestigious address at the Bay View Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Bay View Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing