We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated but only above the 4th floor!”
Review of Mookai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mookai Hotel
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Well situated but only above the 4th floor!”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Well situated close to a number of good restaurants and the airport ferry drop off point. Rooms are basic and clean. For Male the price is good value though you don't get much for your money compared to most other cities in south asia. Do ask to stay above the 4th floor if you want any kind of view - the first time I stayed I had a picturesque view of a brick wall two feet away (3rd floor).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lofty_attic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
6
19
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I travelled to the Maldives during the first week of September. Our connecting flight from Colombo came in at 00.30 in the morning and we had to leave our Island destination at 10:00 am so we needed a comfortable little place to spend the night. The best thing about the Mookai is the location. It is virtually a two minute walk from the airport arrival jetty at Male and we certainly appreciated that as we were tired when we arrived. We initially got a room on the top floor with a great view but it contained 3 single beds. We requested a room with a double bed and were granted that but it was a comparatively smaller room on the second floor with a view of the street. The room phone was not working which was a hassle but the air conditioning worked fine and the room was otherwise quite clean. Bathroom was again very small but with running hot water (no amenities like toothpaste etc). All in all a good choice if you are looking for an overnight stay and want a place close to the boats.

Room Tip: There are rooms available that open into a shared private sitting / dining area if you are a large t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SohailOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

The hotel is right in the center (though Male is not a big island) and close to very good restaurants and the dock.
The rooms are quite clean and convenient , though if you are not on the top floor, there is absolutely no view.
The staff is quite helpful.

A good value for the main island of the Maldives!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Had to stay overnight as we arrived late and the sea planes only run during the day. Quick ferry ride over and 2 min walk to hotel. Friendly staff. Very small room, window faced a brick wall, shower door fell off. For the time we spent there (overnight sleep) it was a good value for money compared to the other hotels and great location. We spent the morning exploring Male which we would not recommend if you are staying at a resort, just get there and enjoy it as soon as possible as there was not much to see.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kula11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Male hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Hubby and I stayed here 1 night because our flight arrived late and the seaplane only operate during the day. The good point about this hotel is the location. It's just 5 minutes walk from the jetty. It's a clean room with functioning hot shower and aircond.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Great location right off jetty from Airport, close to the sea, taxis and only beach in Male'.
Best business hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuForia_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2010

The first thing you'll notice about Mookai is that..well, you can literally see it from anywhere! I mean it. When we took the ferry from the airport(an amazing experience in itself), it was almost really relieveing to see that the hotel building it clearly visible from it. I think it took the three of us about 60 steps from the ferry drop point to reach the entrance of Mookai.
So, we settle in one of the rooms, which is furnished very tastefully with all the ornate yet sturdy furniture. We almost expected a room with a sea view, but realised that any room above the 5th floor is sure to give you that, because of the picturesquely tiny size of the island :) Room service is prompt, and this hospoitality is common even at the tiny corner cafe in Male, a very comforting point for all tourists. In Mookai, don't judge the hotel by its size, you'll realise soon that it is one of the most well structured buildings, and has made use of space and trechnology very efficiently.
What my parents loved about Mookai was, well everything. The rooftop swimming pool, the jacuzi, the sauna and the gym usage is complimentary, so make sure you make the most of it. Every window you look out of has something to admire, and no matter which room you get, there are common lounges on every floor to give you that "breathtaking" view. And to really sweeten the deal, you get wi-fi to mail all these amazing photos back home!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrusp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hulhumale
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mookai Suites
Mookai Suites
#19 of 35 in Male
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mookai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mookai Hotel

Property: Mookai Hotel
Address: Kaimoo THS, H. Maagala, Meheli Goalhi, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mookai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mookai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mookai Hotel Male
Mookai Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing