We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Surf Villa is Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Male
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Amazing less expensive option to surf the Maldives. Right near all the North Male breaks, the staff is really nice & helpful, the house is clean and well, the food is repetitive, but decent. I have to admit, when you surf all day, it's nice to go back to a nice comfortable room - so Just Surf Villa was perfect. I would go back there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cat4C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

After quite a few hours of research looking into both boat and land based surfing options, Just Surf came back on top. The villa is really comfortable and the food (while basic) is quite good. In my opinion, if you are just going to stay in the North Male atoll, then being land based is great. You have more space and comfort and get just as much time in the water. In fact, you might get more because most safari boats leave the lineups around 5pm while we continued surfing till the sun went down.

The staff are all great and there is a good vibe and mix of travellers at the villa. And all of this at a price that is more than competitive with the boats.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geremi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything was perfect except two little things, bathroom smells, and the food was not good(all lunch and all dinners, pasta with tuna (nooodles))

Big up to the crew : xabi & katchu great people, very professionnal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

"Just Surf Villas" provides a very specialized surfing experience -- think private dhoni rides out to remote breaks (in my 5 day stay we surfed Cokes, Chickens, Sultans, Jailbreaks and Honkys), long surf sessions separated by downtime at the hotel, naps, checking photos from the day's sessions - then back out again.

Rooms are large and clean, with private ensuites and aircon.

Javi is a great host, with a high attention to detail and great with instructions in the lineup.

The only drawback to a 5 star review is that the food is pretty basic. Javi's working on the menu but as of May 2014 think carb-heavy bowls of tuna & pasta and chicken & rice. But you wont go hungry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We (three couples) spent eight blissful days in the very comfortable Just Surf Villa last September. While the men had great surf, every day, we swam, snorkelled, looked at curios and explored this interesting island. We had a far better holiday than we would have had in a sterile resort. Our surf guide Kachu was brilliant, and our housekeeper Snomon kept the house spic and span. Meals were brought to the house. We went on the dhoni to explore other surf breaks and islands. Would come back every year if we could afford to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo_Ann245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Place
Just surf villa situated in Himmafushi - local non-touristic island with local people. There are few shops and one restorant in Himmafushi, that's all. If you wanna surf. go there, but don't expect classic white sand and palm trees Maldives. Near the island spot Jail Breaks.
Hotel
Villa is very nice! There are kitchen, 2 big TV, plaing concole, pool and hammocks around it! Cool place for young surfers, I really like it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirill_Ivasenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
4.6 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,763 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,571 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,035 reviews
13.3 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
1.4 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi
Gili Lankanfushi
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives

Address: K. Himmafushi, Male 08060 (Formerly Jailbreaks Surf Hotel)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Male
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious Villa & Lodge have all together 9 rooms with AC, ensuite bathroom and some also with balcony. There are 2 beautiful garden areas to relax with a seawater pool next to the villa and 2 huge lounge rooms with entertainment gadgets. During our surf season form March to November, we offer regular daily boat trips to the North Male surf breaks. We also have our dive center open all year and are happy to to courses for beginners or guided dives to the amazing dive spots around for experienced divers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Just Surf Villa & Lodge Maldives Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing