We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2013. Upon arrival at the airport we were taken via speedboat to the hotel (note that we were offered the opportunity to pay extra for a seaplane from Virgin Holidays but the only way to arrive is by speedboat - naughty Virgin!!!)

Once at the resort we were greeted by the friendliest and most professional reception staff, and shown to our room. We had room 111 - in our opinion, the best room in the resort! We were right on the beach, and had a large stretch in front of us to sunbathe. Our bed faced the patio doors so in the mornings we could pull the curtains open and take in the beautiful view. (I am writing this as in some rooms the beds faced the opposite way!)

We were not far from the small watersports centre, and a 1 minute walk to the pool, bar and restaurants. We felt this was perfect as although it is a small resort we didn't want to be right next to the hustle and bustle of everyone around the pool whilst we were relaxing during the day. Whilst on the island we had a look at the water bungalows - these are nice and of course down to personal preference, however we loved the fact that we were right on the beach and felt that the water bungalows were quite 'far out'. Several other guests we spoke to said they actually wished they were in a beach bungalow instead. If you get a room right at the end of the jetty it's a 1km walk there and back from the island itself! Maybe we are just lazy...!

The restaurants were nice, the pool was lovely although to be honest we only used it a few times as the sea is so beautifully clear, calm and warm. The Viu bar is simply stunning for a pre-dinner drink.

The rubbish island is visible however the resort is centred around the opposite side so I wouldn't let it put you off. It has to be somewhere I guess! The island is very small - we used a pedalo to go around it in about half an hour - but as we were there for a short break to finish off our holiday it really didn't matter. If you were there for more than 7 nights you might want to go somewhere else where there is a bit more going on.

We would definitely return to the Maldives and would probably try another island to get a different experience, but I would recommend this hotel to couples without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 111 - beach bungalow - perfect views and a sun-trap to boot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NatalieC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    354
    75
    28
    18
See reviews for
82
1,265
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was my first time going to Male with my boyfriend and I chose this hotel because of the value offer.

I have been staying with Centara in Thailand so I didn't worry much about the bad review from others. As we arrived the resort at night around 10ish, sandwiches were prepared for us and that was really nice. On the first two nights, we were staying at the beach front room with our own jacuzzi, after 2 days walking around, we decided we want an upgrade to water villa! The staff was very helpful and organised it for us in less than a day.

The water villa was lovely, the view was awesome! (imagine facing the ocean every morning!) We go snorkelling everyday walking down from the stairs from our private deck since then.

We eat in the resort everyday. I would recommend the thai restaurant, and don't forget to book the day before to avoid disappointment. Thai curry is the best and it was better than the italian restaurant that we had a chef dinner one night, with extra cost of US$70

Scuba diving was very expensive. Most species can also be seen when snorkelling too, unless you go further apart from the resort area for sharks, etc.

Room Tip: Water Villa is the better, but try and stay closer to the main area where the restaurants and pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fantastic nine night break at CRF. Our flight was delayed for four hours but we were met by the hotel rep at the airport and they took us straight to the hotel by a very new and fast speedboat, where we were met with cocktails, cold towels and taken to our room. We were delighted to be upgraded to a water villa! We stayed in room 375 almost at the end of the long row of water villas which was a 5 minute brisk walk to the main resort. The odd numbered 3xx villas are close to the house reef (20-30m away), and the even numbers get the sunset.
The room was very good and more like a modern hotel room on stilts with a good sized private balcony with steps directly into the lagoon with a very welcome fresh water shower at the top. The island itself feels like a man-made luxury resort rather than a natural island with a resort on it as many of the other islands. This is no bad thing as it is extremely well designed but is different from the ‘get away from it all’ remote islands, probably due to the close proximity to Male. The resort was full when we stayed but it did not seem crowded.
Everything at the hotel is very, very new, expensive and spotlessly clean, and it felt great to be amongst the first to take advantage of the facilities. There are some minor teething problems such as erosion at one point of the island where there are sandbags in-front of a couple of rooms and exposed sandbags on the beach due to sand being washed away. There could be more vegetation but a lot had just been planted with more planted when we were there. We didn’t notice any mosquitoes but plenty of flies at dusk on sunny days but only for an hour or so.
Food and service at both the Italian and Thai restaurant were excellent with some fantastic outdoor tables right on the water’s edge. The Arabian restaurant is also very good with a nice different atmosphere. The buffet was also very good with plenty of choice and excellent service, with a different theme for every night of the week.
The Viu bar is the best designed beach bar I have ever been to with fantastic views of the sunset and into the shallow lagoon below with frequent views of small reef sharks, puffer fish and eagle rays. On our last day we were lucky enough to see a fairly large reef shark patrolling the area. The pool bar is also very nice with excellent friendly staff providing fantastic service. I spent a lot of time there and rarely needed to ask for another beer….
The dive centre is excellent with a very professional and friendly staff with expert knowledge of the local area, and really tried to make sure you (safely) got the experience you wanted. Again, all the equipment was brand new and top of the range with the Dhoni dive boats very nice indeed. The water is very deep in the channels outside the reef with some strong currents so an excellent chance to see some very big fish. Amongst many others we saw big black tipped and white tipped reef sharks, turtles, napoleon fish, tuna, barracuda, grouper and eagle rays. There are also much easier excellent shallower dives such as Kuda Haas within 10 minutes of the island, with the house reef being worth a dive. The house reef is excellent for snorkeling particularly early morning and easy to swim to when the weather is good, but not so comfortable for the less-confident when the sea is choppy. We saw Dolphins from the island once and several times from the dive boats with one pod of around 30 putting on an impressive display for us.

Room Tip: Odd numbered 3xx water villas are closest to the house reef and the even numbers have the sunset vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bud-cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had read a lot of reviwes before going to Centara Ras Fushi and was a little worried as i booked it for my honeymoon. I can honestly say we had the best time there and wouldnt have changed it for anything.

The staff could never be talked about highly enough, they are so friendly and helpful and go over and above in everything they do. Our house keeper Mode was the nicest guy and our room was absolutely spotless twice a day.

All the little things i read before i went did concern me but things like rubbish island is no more than a large industrial island that has no real impact on your holiday whatsoever and can be seen from all islands in the area not just Centara. The lack of vegatation i also didnt seen as as true , its a beautiful little island. We also stayed in the water villas and even though there is a walk to the main land, i wouldnt ever say it is very far and was very surprised that this was an issues for some people.

Please dont be put off by this hotel, this was my honeymoon and i was in no way disappointed, the diving is out of this world, the place is paradise, the food is lovely! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This review has been long time pending. We stayed at Ras Fushi for 11 days to celebrate our honeymoon in the month of June. After exhausting search of many resorts we homed on to Centara; this being a new property and wonderful reviews on the Trip Advisor.

Now about the resort:

1. The property being new has a gorgeous new speed boat that whisks you away from airport to island in less than 20 mins.

2. You are greeted with pleasing staff who give you all the info you need about the island and the resort. A welcome drink follows of course.

3. You can walk around the island or can choose to use their complimentary buggy service which is very effective. The island is not very big so you can comfortably roam around and enjoy the whole place.

4. We stayed in both Jacuzzi beach villa and Premium sunset spa water villa for good five nights each. So I can say that the rooms are absolutely neat without any problems. They have been well furnished to all the needs and the architecture is also modern. The air-conditioning works like a charm and I believe this is what many other resorts fail to offer.

5. The resort has three restaurants namely ocean front (all time buffet), La Brezza (Italian cuisine) and Suan Bua (Thai). All restaurants provide very good variety and taste of food. The menu in oceans front keeps changing on the daily basis. Being full board also gets you a daily limit of spending 60$ at the Italian or the Thai restaurant (taxes extra though).

6. There are three bars namely viu, pool side and one at the reception. The choice of liquors is good and I would strongly advice being on full board as you get unlimited drinks and and snacks here throughout the day. They have a specific full board menu which I felt is more than good. The viu bar gives an amazing view being ocean top and has excellent decor. The pool bar has its own charm where you can swim in the infinity pool and enjoy in bar stools submerged inside pool water.

7. The resort also has a variety of activities going on in the mornings and evenings the schedule of which one has to check. There is also an activity centre with Playstation and WII, along with a Foosball table (All complementary).

8. Lastly, the snorkelling experience we had was amazing. There is enough coral around the island and with the complementary snorkelling gear that is issued at arrival, it’s a delight to go take a plunge whenever you want. We were lucky to spot Stingray twice and some were even lucky to spot dolphins. You can also get additional snorkelling gear issued from the activity centre which we felt was better than the standard issue.

Hope this review helps other as we were helped by many. This resort is truly wonderful and a lifetime experience. We will return.

Room Tip: Beach Villa: Going for a jacuzzi beach villa is a better option it providing your personal beach spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Pros:
- amazing service, very friendly staff ( exception being check in- they never informed us of activities such as yoga on the beach in the morning, nor how our half board package worked so that was a disappointment- more on that later)
- one of the most affordable water villa options for a honeymoon in the Maldives
- decent food
- close to Male so 20 minute boat transfer is easier/cheaper than an expensive sea plane
- new property so rooms/bars are in good condition
- amazing snorkeling off your balcony if you stay in a water villa or from the beach
- free non motorized water sports ( paddleboat/kayaking)
- reasonable prices for drinks/mini bar

Cons:
- very confusing meal plan options. Also, neither our travel agent nor the hotel explained to us that for every meal there was an additional government tax and service charge ( totaling to approx. 20% on each bill) We did the half board so all we knew was that we could do breakfast and dinner or lunch and dinner, but really you don't have unlimited options with this. You can only do breakfast or lunch at Oceans restaurant ( the buffet restaurant and our least favorite--flies everywhere on the food) Then for dinner you get $40 a person in a credit to spend on food and a drink included as well. We actually preferred this $40 a person credit for dinner instead of the all inclusive option because then we could order off the a la carte menu and get what we wanted, whereas if you did the all inclusive package- you had to get the set menu or incur additional charges to get the a la carte menu. Or so this is what we understood but it was all very confusing! In the end our bill was about $350 for 6 nights including dipping into the mini bar a couple times, drinks every night at the Viu bar, and all the service charges/government taxes, as well as eating at the Arabian restaurant one night. Another tip of ours would be to avoid the Arabian restaurant because it was an additional $20 charge per person and the food was lackluster. The Thai restaurant is definitely the best, followed by the Italian restaurant.
- The hotel is close to rubbish island, so you do see it and a big gray smoke cloud when coming to the island from Male and arriving at Centara. However, they cleverly have faced most of the water villas, restaurants and bars on the opposite side of the island so in that sense it is not an issue. However, my husband and I stayed in the premium water villas and when we walked towards the water villas ( room numbers in the 200s), it seemed that they might see the rubbish island when walking to their villas
- Also because the island is close to rubbish island, there is a terrible fly problem. This might be an issue at all islands in the Maldives, but since this was my only trip there I can't say- but it seems that proximity to rubbish island might cause it to be more of an issue at Centara.

Other Info:
This isn't specific to Centara- but with water villas you can slightly feel the villa move when someone walks inside the room or when there is a strong current. Also, the set up of water villas so close to each other means you can see your neighbors on their balconies so it is maybe not a private as you might expect.

Room Tip:
If you can afford it- the premium water villas are definitely worth it. They have much better views than the water villas numbered in the 200s, and water villa 380 is definitely the best because it is at the end of the water villa footpath so you don't have neighbors seeing you on your balcony ( although this means a longer walk back to the island- about 5-7 minute walk) Furthermore, even numbered villas are even better because they have the best sunset views.

Overall:
For the price you pay ( maldives standards that is since everything is expensive) this is what I would expect in terms of quality of service/ rooms and overall experience. It would be nice if there were more food options if you are staying more than a week because we were ready to eat something different after 6 nights there. Still definitely worth the trip- we had an amazing honeymoon there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank foodandwine252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My Wife & I enjoyed a nice 7 night break at Centara Ras Fushi in July.

Being only a short speed boat ride from Male is the first bonus , and the organising/efficiency of staff was excellent.As is usual for The Maldives there is also a very warm welcome awaiting you when you climb off the boat.
A short rest and a drink in reception and then you are given a brief island update and then driven to your villa in a buggy. No need to worry about your luggage as that will follow you. The staff here were all very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The 3 bars offer a good choice of drinks – including good beer & wine , although a word of caution – the All inclusive option does not include all premium brands , which I found disappointing.

The 3 restaurants offer a very good range of food – buffet / Italian / Thai. The service at each is very very good – with staff only too pleased to serve and help you.

For us the service & food at the Italian was our favourite and deserves a special mention with thanks to Oliver , Kathy & the team for their awesome service.

We did experience initial disappointment of our deluxe beach villa (number 121) as the view provided was that of a large bush – blanking out the ocean view we had expected. But a quick conversation with reception resolved this matter with a free upgrade to a water villa – which was much better. This is a good example of the excellent customer service provided. Snorkeling from the villa was great – a short walk down the villa steps and into your own private ocean.

The cocktail evening is a good opportunity to meet staff and fellow guests and we’d certainly recommend it to others.The island is small but quaint and the amenities are more than adequate. The pool side bar is a popular during a hot afternoon, with stools in the water to help cool you down as you sit in the pool.

All in all we enjoyed our break , we would recommend it – mostly for young couples. It was good to see the bars being popular – mainly due to the All inclusive option I suspect. Our previous trips to the Maldives (albeit 5* breaks) have seen the bars empty ... but that’s a story for another day !

Would we return? Probably not – but that’s mainly because the world is a very big place with many many more islands/resorts/locations to visit.

Room Tip: Some of the beach villa's do not have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrPWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
9.8 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,735 reviews
21.0 mi away
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
Adaaran Club Rannalhi
#1 of 1 in Rannalhi
1,435 reviews
11.4 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,561 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,009 reviews
5.9 mi away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives

Property: Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
Address: North Male Atoll, Male 20225
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within 20 minutes from Velana International Airport by speedboat, Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives is an adults-only retreat set on a pristine island in North Malé Atoll. Retreat in comfort, whether in a tastefully designed ocean-side villa, perfect for barefoot living with the beach at your doorstep, or in an overwater villa with steps down to the shimmering lagoon. All 140 villas (42-45 square metres) provide sensational views of the Indian Ocean and blend in with the island’s green interior; some have an outdoor bathtub or Jacuzzi. Besides a variety of dining options that include Thai, Italian, and Arabian restaurants, the resort offers Half Board, Full Board and All-Inclusive meal plans to suit every need. This enchanting island has endless opportunities to relax and enjoy the beautiful Maldives setting. Pure white sand and a sparkling blue lagoon make this a perfect playground for snorkelling and water sports such as kite surfing, windsurfing, water skiing and catamaran sailing, while the magical underwater world of some of the top dive sites in the Maldives are reached within less than half an hour by dhoni. There’s also a swimming pool, a fitness centre, a beautiful spa, Yoga, an E-Zone games room, and one of the Maldives’ most renowned PADI dive centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing