We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Treatment and Wonderful Stay”
Review of Hotel Octave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Octave
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional Treatment and Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We booked this hotel for overnight stay in Male mainly based on its top rating on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem, really. I’m sure we will definitely stay at Octave whenever we visit Maldives.
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. At the hotel we were received warmly and the check-in process was very fast. The Reception staff provided a detailed map of Male City and recommended some places to visit.The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and hygienic. And as many people have recommended before, Hotel Octave is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeaLovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    97
    32
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
129
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked the Hotel Octave for our first night in the Maldives before we ventured out to our island resort. While there are many options, we believe the Hotel Octave was a great choice. Thankfully, a member of the staff met us at the airport and helped us navigate the ferry to the main island. The staff were more than helpful and were very nice. Room (#402) was clean, roomy, had a washer and thankfully air conditioner (it was so humid there).

Overall positives:
1. Helpful/Nice staff
2. Airport & Resort transportation assistance
3. Clean roomy
4. Reasonable rate
5. Washer
6. Accept USD$

Overall areas for improvement:
1. Bathroom was a bit odd/small - the shower was not partitioned off, which meant that water went everywhere in the bathroom.
2. Bed was ok but a bit "noisy" when you make the slightest move

We would certainly stay here again! If you are looking for a room with a reasonable rate, helpful and nice staff I would suggest Hotel Octave!

Room Tip: #402 had a separate bedroom / living room / kitchen and a washer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldgoneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night before leaving to one of those island resorts for a longer stay. Their airport pickup service is very efficient. It involves boat ride of about 10 min form the airport to Male, and a 10 min drive through narrow lanes to the hotel. At the hotel we were received warmly and the check-in process was very fast. The room is small and so is the bathroom. But we were not expecting a suite for that price. The room and the bed are clean. The breakfast was basic and just ok.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvm_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

The airport pick up service (return trip) is included. This include the ferry trip from airport to the Male Capital Island. The trip takes approximately 8 minutes from airport to the capital by ferry. By the way, Octave Hotel pay for the ferry fare.

The breakfast is very simple but well, I'm ok with that as they serve the American breakfast.

The room is simple , not too big but very clean. All the amenities is fully provided. The bed is too hard but thank god. Im staying 1 night only as I'm transfer to another island in Maldives.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 622Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The hotel is located in one of the small streets in Male. We were received with big smiles, with a nice cold tea and by very helpful staff. There are nice restaurants nearby and the place is also very close to some of the tourist attractions in the city such as museums, stores and fish market. There is absolutely nothing "special" about the hotel, it is simply very adequate, clean, with good breakfast and very kind personnel. The transfer to the airport was coordinated totally by them...with no surprises. I strongly recommend the hotel as most of the other places we have seem are too expensive. Now, this may not be the best place if you want to visit Malé for longer than one day. But, then, there is not really a lot to see in Malé and the islands are far more attractive to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The taxi driver had trouble finding the Octave, since it is in a small road in the center of Male. But he didn't charge any extra - it is a fixed rate anyway. The quality of this hotel is very good for Male. My room was on the 7th floor, very clean and very quiet (except for the neighbour - you can literally hear everything from the room next door). The room is fully equipped with minibar, safe, TV, hair dryer, phone and desk. The a/c works exceptionally well and is quiet, and there is a ceiling fan. The bathroom is small, but clean and tidy. Plenty of toiletries are supplied.
The breakfast room on the first floor is very clean and inviting. Staff are friendly and attentive. You have a choice of two breakfast options, and it is at standard quality.
The young guy at reception was exceptional - he made sure everything is alright, and goes out of his way to help. He even made an early check-in possible, i.e. made sure my room was cleaned right away.
The only, very tiny, downside is that the WiFi was not very stable/strong in my room. But it does work ok.
Overall, I think the Octave is a hidden gem. The type of place you won't expect, and are happy that you discovered it. Next time I am in Male I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michanzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is the first time to Maldives and we went there by Srilankan Airline which flight arrived in around 2:30am. Hotel staff was ready to pick us up from arrival exit to boat transfer from airport to Male and hotel respectively.

Staffs are kind and helpful, we didn't get high floor room as request but got upgrade to suit. It's big and many facilities in the room (washing machine, living area etc.)

Location : In the center of city, can walk to everywhere (Male is the smallest capital though)
Room : Clean, nice, full facilities
Price : Reasonable price in Maldives
Service : Friendly, kind
Food : Breakfast is included in our room price, it was not much items but fine enough

If I have a chance to stay in Male again, here is one of my target choice of course.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thitikorn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.3 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Boutique Inn
Central Boutique Inn
#18 of 35 in Male
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
4.0 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octave

Property: Hotel Octave
Address: Ma Jambuma, Kamini magu, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octave 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Octave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Octave Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing