We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Octave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Octave
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before we set off to the island resort based on comments on tripadvisor, though not being compared by other hotels in Male', I think this place to OK to stay.

We were picked up at the Male' intl airport by hotel staff, they wore t-shirts with the name "Hotel Octave" on the back, it would be easy to identify afterwards if you missed their man at the arrival gate because we somehow missed it, cannot recall what their wrote on their welcoming board. Their men further picked up 2-3 couples before we set out to Male', that's another 30 minutes waiting time.

Then we were led to the ferry, and were sent on the ferry boat to Male' from the airport island, when we got off the ferry boat, the hotel staff prepared a car at the ferry to drive us to their hotel, welcoming ice tea were offered when checking in, it's sweat.

The room is pretty much large, looks like a family suite, they have washing machine, the kitchen, even an extra bed, I thought those things are not needed in most cases, given the situation that most people book this place just for stay one night before going to resorts.

Everything in the room is OK, except for the hot water does not last long enough (maybe we took too much time showering, bad habit), after around 10-15 minutes hot water shower, the water did not feel hot anymore.

When we finished check-in, it was almost 1 mid night, hotel helped us to contact the island resort, and we were informed to leave this hotel and head to the sea plane site at 7 in the morning, the hotel especially arranged us to have breakfast at 6:30 even if their breakfast time normally starts at 7.

The breakfast is classic and I should say it was very good, watching the alleys from the 2nd floor and enjoy a quick breakfast. Then the hotel car send us again to the ferry and then to the hotel reception of our resort, the transfer is free.

Generally, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

It is not so bad to stay on the day before going to resort. But, I think it doesn’t pay.
The only unsatisfying point was the smell in the bathroom. It was like ditch stink strongly. Except that it was enough. The staffs were friendly. They transported us between the hotel and airport for free. And, breakfast was included.
If you don’t mind above, you may book it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelertravelerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

The service and cleanliness of this hotel is phenomenal. I booked a few hours before we were due to arrive and without delay there was someone waiting for us at the airport to transport us to the hotel. On arrival we were given cool towels to freshen up and a welcome drink while they arranged our transfer to our main resort the next day. The rooms are small but clean and they provide free wifi and an adaptor to charge electrical items. You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked this hotel for a quick stay based on all good review read on trip advisor. Me and my wife concur with all the good review given by others to Hotel Octave.

Firstly, the pick up provided definitely saved our time and made our journey smoother.We arrived late at 11.20pm, and Hotel Octave representatives picked us from airport, and dropped us at the door step of Hotel Octave.

Furthermore, their management and administrator are really friendly and helpful. Upon arrival, Hotel Octave helped to contact our resort on the arrangement of our seaplane to our resort. We had a suite for our one night stay. The suite is clean, and comfortable. This automatically contributed to a very good sleep and totally recharged our tired body after a long trip getting to Maldives. On the next morning, after our breakfast (inclusive) hotel Octave staff dropped us to the airport and advise us on the check in terminal for the sea plane to our resort.

After the trip, all we remember about Male is good experience with Hotel Octave!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is good that they provide pick up and drop service, because otherwise it would be very difficult to reach this place. It is somewhere in a very tiny lane in Male, but once you are in there, the stay is comfortable.

I booked this place for a night based on the ratings on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed , the stay was comfortable , except for the insects at night.

Rooms are mid-sized and clean. Washrooms are good with hot water throughout the day. There was an array of toiletries but they somehow missed to keep a soap!
Good things first, the staff is very friendly however at times they cross the line of being friendly and start to intrude your privacy by asking too many questions. I think it’s a cultural thing and can be ignored. The receptionist is brilliant; she knows the local area and helped in arranging our drop twice! Everyone is comfortable talking in English which is a major plus. The dining area is small but the food is good and served with a smile.

My stay over there was comfortable but there were many loose ends in their service which left me disappointed. The hotel is in desperate need of getting pest control. Everything looks neat and clean but the moment you turn the lights off, tiny creatures start flooding the room. There were cockroaches and all sort of insects there which made my stay from being very pleasant to horrible.

If they can just fix this one thing, this place can really be ‘the’ place for short term travelers.

Room Tip: There is no view, any room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supernova85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is about USD108 per night compared to hotels around the jetty USD50 but guys it is worth it. I was really surprised by the facilities they have despite being a small hotel in town about 10-15 mins from the jetty by car. We arrived around 10pm and the Guide from the hotel waited for us patiently while we waited for our luggage. He showed us to the jetty, paid for it and communicated to the taxi driver to wait for us in the town. Once we arrived at the town a nice taxi driver greeted us and chauffeured us straight to the hotel. Warm welcome with some refreshments and explanation for tomorrow travelling plans to the airport to catch our seaplane. The room was small but very clean, aircon was cooling, lcd tv, free wifi with aroma oil burning in the background waiting to welcome you to the room. The bathroom was clean with towels, shampoos, shaving kit, toothbrush, mineral water even better than some 3-4 star hotel. You name it they have it. The bed was comfortable the only thing missing was a blanket somehow but we were too tired to bother therefore we just slept. As our rate included the breakfast therefore a simple continental breakfast was serve. Good enough to start our day to our dream paradise. The taxi took us to the airport. All cab fare, jetty fare were taken care therefore you do not need to pay anything maybe tips if you like. I am including some photos at the end this review for your take a look, hope it helps.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Due to our late night flight to Male, my wife and I need to find a place for the overnight stay while waiting for our early seaplane flight to our resort the next day.

The moment we came out from the airport, there is a hotel staff with a "Hotel Octave" sign waiting for us. He took us to the ferry, and told us that car ride is waiting at the other side to take us to the hotel. We were greeted by the operations manager with iced tea and before we know we were in our room.

The room size is not big, but enough for two of us. Nothing much to request as we just need to spend a few hours rest here. Most important is the room is clean, and free WI-FI. My wife updated her facebook status "Checking into Male town for the night. Leaving to paradise tomorrow — at Hotel Octave."

We woke up at 7 am, head to their 1st floor cafe, the complimentary breakfast are simple and nice. During the check out, the hotel staffs are helpful to give us an airport map with clear directions to resort desks and check-in counters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 34 in Male
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 34 in Male
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 34 in Male
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
Tropic Tree Hotel Maldives
#1 of 1 in Gulhi Island
120 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,525 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octave

Address: Ma Jambuma, Kamini magu, Male
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Male
Price Range: $88 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octave 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Octave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Octave Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing