We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”
Review of Coral Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 35 Male B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Coral Hotel in Male over a longer time period.
The location is not too bad, it’s about 15 walking minutes away from the Airport Jetty in a residential neighborhood.
Right in front of the Hotel is a big screen public TV which shows nightly the local news, this space in front looks also like it is used as some kind of meeting place for a political party, so always at night many people, mostly Mans are sitting outside the Hotel and watch the news and sometimes have meetings, but they are all nice and friendly, also it is save.
The Checking at the Hotel is friendly and they bring your Luggage to the Room.
The Rooms are ok and clean, Shower is ok, Water is working all the times, but many of the Water installations are leaking, if you complain, the eventually come and try to fix it with the result that after the repair it leaks more than before, so don’t complain.
There is free WIFI, the Hotels WIFI installations are working fine but the Internet provider ROL is totally rubbish, this must be the worst Internet provider in the World, half of the time it is not working, or it is extremely slow, if it stops working on Thursday evening then you are in bad luck, as there is no efforts made from the provider until Friday afternoon to restore the service.
Sometimes for some hours the Internet even works fine, but this is seldom. Complaining to the Owner became useless, he will promise you everything and in the same time, he is blaming others, but no improvement at all.
The TV system is another mess at this so called Hotel, when we checked in, the Hotel, the had 11 TV Channels, when we departed, they had 4 Channels left working, reason, the Hotel did not pay for the subscription, so the provider stops the Signal on the other 7 Channels.
The Provider sends monthly via the system on the Channels an SMS to remind the Hotel to pay within 10 days for the subscription or otherwise they will discontinue the service, 10 days later at midnight, the programs stops, the message appears, “no sufficient credit, please pay for your service” wow, at least 24 hour no TV, but full Room rate.
As they now only have 4 Channels left, it can happen that in the middle of a Movie you’re watching, someone from the Hotel changes the Channel, as another Guest request a sport Channel.
If it is raining, now the Monsoon season has started, there is also no TV, as the Satellite Signal cannot get true the heavy clouds, but even long after the clouds are gone, there is still no Signal, as the Hotel needs to reset the System, this actually takes only a minute, but also here, nobody does it, as the Owner did not instruct his Staff how the reset is done. It can take hours until finally someone resets the system.
After the last heavy rain, someone tried to reset the system, but did it wrongly, result almost 2 days no TV, I then found the Owner in the Reception Area, so I confronted him ones more about this now more and complained about this mess, again he came up with silly excuses and tried to put the blame on others, then I told him that I am sick and tired of his rubbish excuses, he answered me that I should be quiet in the public area as other Guests can hear me and this could damage his business, what a joke, if he runs the place properly, nobody would complain, the only one which damages his business is himself with his poor service.
On the 9th Floor they have a Restaurant, it is open on all sides, which is nice and has a great view over Male, the Food is not bad, if you can get it, as many times, simple Food items which they could buy across the street in the local supermarket are not available, like Tomatoes, Lettuce or other simple items.
In my opinion, this Owner is totally unqualified to run a Hotel, and for sure he does not understand the meaning of hospitality.
Can I recommend this Hotel? No, not at all with this Owner, this place is a shame for the whole Country, especially as some of the best Resorts in this world are in the Maldives.
The Staff is very friendly and nice, they are trying their best around this Owner some told me that many Guests are complaining about the same, but this does not interests him, it is the only Hotel I know where the Staff should give training to the Owner how to serve a Guest.

Room Tip: in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel at the end of our resort holiday on one of the South Ari Atoll islands of the Maldives - as we had an early morning flight to catch.

To get to the hotel from the airport, you take a ferry boat ride (USD 1 per passenger - adult or child) to Male - the capital city of the Maldives. Then you take a taxi ride to the hotel costing USD2. The streets of Male are very narrow - so mopeds are widely used and there are hundreds of them parked everywhere.

The reception area of the hotel is calm and relaxing. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We were given cold face towels to cool ourselves - and a small glass of fruit juice while registration formalities were being completed. We had reserved two deluxe rooms - one for my wife and I - and one for our two children. Payment for the rooms is required upfront. The two rooms cost USD 174 (April 2013) but when the taxes etc were added, the total price increased to USD 240.

The entrance to the accommodation is via a lounge which leads to the two rooms and a kitchen. The rooms have ensuite bathrooms (shower and w.c.) The rooms are adequate in size. They had airconditioners as well as ceiling fans. Both rooms had double sized beds. There was also a minibar. The rooms were bright and clean. Our rooms (numbers 204 qnd 205) overlooked the narrow streets. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The bathrooms were adequate in size too.

The main street is a short walk away through the narrow streets.

Breakfast is included within the prices. Breakfast is served from 6.30am on the roof top from which you get panoramic views of the city. The buffet breakfast consisted of local dishes (lentils, carrots fried in sauce, rice,). There was scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, and croissants and toast, tea and coffee.

I plugged in my mobile phone to charge it - but forgot about it. It was only when I was on board my flight ready to depart, that I realised I had left it behind at the hotel. I used my wifes's phone to speak to the manager Mr Niyaz and asked him to look for it. He later sent a message that he had found the phone and charger. He very kindly arranged to send them by courier service to my home in UK. I offered to pay him for the courier costs - but he politely declined, and said that it was the least he could do. I would like to thank him most sincerely for his kindness. It was much appreciated. Such kind acts of generosity are rare.

Room Tip: Our room was next to a street TV screen which was on until 11pm. Ask for a higher floor room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazmannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel exactly about one year ago so standards and quality may have improved or deteriorated since.
It was my first visit to Male and my husband's second time. We reached male at night and I still remember the long journey from the ferry stop to the hotel. It cost us quite an amount for the ride too. I can't recall the exact location on the map, but I felt like the hotel is situated on the farthest side from the Male city area.
Upon arrival,we were greeted with fresh clean towels and tasty iced tea which made a really good first impression, but the staff was just a young bunch of almost kids who were wearing casual attire so it was hard to distinguish them from others too.
We saw the nice photos on agoda etc and had some high hopes. Unfortunately we were pretty disappointed with the whole place. The rooms we booked early didn't have attached bathrooms which they conveniently forgot to mention. After much hassle and agreeing to pay extra,we were given a deluxe room, which they said was 'the best/largest room' in the hotel. The room was spacious with a large bed, AC working fine. However we noticed the bed sheets/ linen were used and not washed also. The bathroom was ok, just very average.
What really put us off was a cockroach we found in the morning in our very room!!!! we were really disgusted and wanted the leave asap. They don't have room service too,just a couple of guys who do anything and everything. The floor though visibly clean was very dusty too.Our daughter was running around the place with socks and we had to throw them out after use because it was that dirty.
The breakfast was ok, very average though. They gave us fruit juice right from a carton. After the cockroach scenario we were doubtful of the cleanliness of the kitchen too. The rooftop restaurant has a nice view and very relaxing.
The next day we found very good accommodation at almost the same price right in the heart of the male city with walking distance to the jetty too.
Coral hotel was in a secluded corner and we notice some unsafe people hanging around so I don't think its safe to travel alone too.
If you really don't have any other option, then this place is just OK. The photos of the net are pretty deceiving though. The front desk staff tried to charge different prices for the same room so communicate wisely! they didn't accept credit cards too at the time. The location is highly inconvenient and can be costly to travel for work/shopping etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: 上層階の方が良いかも知れません。ちなみに私は2階でしたが、周りで人の話し声がしました。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinachiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 441valiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Male hotels
0.0 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa Maldives
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 34 in Male
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Park House
The Park House
#6 of 11 in Male
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 34 in Male
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf View Raalhugandu
0.0 mi away
Ungoofaar Inn
Ungoofaar Inn
#23 of 35 in Male
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hotel & Spa

Address: Naseemee Higun, Male 20301
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range: $61 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Hotel & Spa is ideal for business travelers and leisure travelers who wish to stay yet prefer a quiet and restful location. Coral Hotel & Spa owns 36 rooms with a wide selection of facilities and services. Situated at the top terrace floor is Coral Cafe, offering a trendy atmosphere with free wifi internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Coral Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hotel & Spa Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing