We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Male B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Dishonest place”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went this place by mistake and thought that is another place which named 'Boutique Inn', the team and owner welcome us after we asked is it boutique inn, immediately check-in us, we had asked the owner if he got our booking and he nodded his head. Later on we would like a room change because that room got no window, however he told us 'don't complain', since we thought we come to a low price motel so we just keep like that as long as it is clean. After a while I found we went to wrong place and they have to charge us 100USD for staying 3 hours. I found the owner is not honest at the beginning and he was sharing some stories that he know our booking, during the check-in, we didn't sign any thing or they didn't show any price in order to make us believe our booking was there.

You better go Trader hotel or hulumale if you want a real hotel. At least you will have a reception with a team, transportation service and swimming pool. This place is chic and new decorated inside however you will find it very crowd, also because of this owner and how he runs his overprice restaurant, I will NEVER recommende anyone go there !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Quak M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    33
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
103
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I booked this hotel based on reviews I had found on tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to the hype. Once I had made the booking (via booking.com I think), Thomas the owner emailed me directly to say hello and check my flight details so they could meet us at the airport. Myself and my partner arrived late at night from a flight from the UK and were met by 2 of the hotel staff. Another couple staying in the hotel were also on the same flight. They were very friendly, took care of our luggage and directed us onto the ferry from the airport to the mainland. They paid for our ferry crossing and quickly got us onto a taxi at the other end. I was worried about our luggage as it wasn't going in the taxi with us but in the next one but concern was unfounded, the staff were very efficient!.
Thomas was friendly and quickly checked us in. I had booked the Deluxe Double Room. The bed was a large four poster and the room was well equipped, perfectly clean and had all the mod-cons. The bathroom was also very well done. No windows but in the heart of the city, there's nothing to see anyway!.
Breakfast was served in a lovely room downstairs and we could not have had better service. The food was plentiful and excellent, and we felt guilty as we couldn't finish it!
Thomas had organised our onward transfer on the ferry again to get the seaplane out to one of the islands for the rest of our trip. One of his staff also escorted us back to the airport to check-in for the seaplane and stayed with us until we had boarded the bus to the seaplane terminal.
I was sad not to have been able to try the Thai or Italian meals but due to our time constraints we were not around at dinnertime. The menu's looked divine though.
If staying in Male again I wouldn;t look anywhere else, such excellent service and one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
Thank-you Thomas!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vettyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in Sala Boutique only for one night at the beginning of May on our way back home from one of the islands, and we enjoyed our stay to the full. It's a family owned hotel, that is why everything and everyone makes you feel comfortable. Mr Thomas, the owner, was out on a trip, so Mr Ninu was very helpful during Mr Thomas's absence. Our speedboat dropped us off on jetty 7 in Male, where a hotel representative met us immediately, he took a taxi and drove us to the hotel (the same was offered on our way back to the airport (taxi and ferry) and it was already included in the rate). Everything was quick and easy. Our room was simple and immaculately clean. Exactly what we needed compared to the overall city (however, the city has its spirit). There are two restaurants: Thai and Italian. We chose Thai and didn't regret it. The food was genuinely delicious, size of dishes was quite big. We ordered food to share: noodles, stir fried veggies, soup, one appetizer and drinks (approx. 70usd incl.tax, don't forget the city charges 10% tax on everything). We were really full! We also asked Mr Ninu to print our boarding passes for the flight, and he did it quickly. The hotel also offers breakfast included in the room rate, and their breakfast is not like in all hotels where everyone picks whatever he finds on plates. Tables are specially laid for each room (5 or 6 tables all together), your are asked about the type of eggs and tea or coffee you want, and you feel like you are sitting in a good restaurant, but not in a hotel at breakfast. The hotel is very close to all main sights of the city, 10 minutes' walk.
I want to thank Mr Thomas for perfectness of his job and his staff (esp. Mr Ninu) for their help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belkin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Sala Boutique hotel is one of the best hotel I have stayed in. Thomas and his staff were excellent, professional and ever willing to meet your needs. We were were met at the jetty after a 6 days boat trip. The hotel was definitely a welcome, extremely clean and comfortable. We had dinner in the hotel and the Thai dishes were recommended by Thomas which was delicious. Breakfast was included in the price and the food were fresh and tasty. I stayed 2 nights at Sala and experience the foot and back rub which was extremely relaxing and welcomed.

Rooms are limited (only 6) and needs to be book well in advanced. You can't go wrong with Sala Boutique if you want to have a short break in Male either when you arrive in or depart from Maldives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chongoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We needed an overnight stop in Male and surfing the net for suitable accommodation hit upon Sala Boutique hotel. What a pleasant surprise! The building is about 120 years old and tastefully renovated by the hotelier/owner Thomas Stahl. We were picked up from the air port by a member of the staff and taken to the hotel. The procedure was reversed the next day and both transfers were included in the room price. Thomas was/is a hand-on type of person and was always available for information/chat. A comment we read before booking mentioned that the rooms were small, but that must be a personal opinion because we did not think so. Our room was ample in size and supplied all the mod-coms ( over 100 TV channels including almost all main International ) mini bar, tea and coffee ( the coffee is not the usual instant but espresso capsules and therefore not free of charge) and wi-fi service. The room as well as the public spaces were spotlessly clean. The cuisine is either Thai or Italian and as we live in southern Switzerland, opted for the Thai menu. We have travelled widely and dined all over the world and can safety say that we had one of the best Thai meals ever ! No alcohol is served but alcohol free bier is available. There are three Thai cooks and all the spices are imported from Thailand ( don't think about the carbon footprint, because almost everything is imported and if you are in the Maldives that can't be your main concern anyway)! Actually, if you have a couple of hours waiting time between flights I suggest going there just for a thai meal! Breakfast was also a pleasant surprise with brown bread, jams, cold cuts and bacon which I think is from Germany, eggs to order and "proper" coffee. Although the bacon and cold cuts are non pork, this being a Muslim country. Whilst confirming our booking, Thomas informed us about what is permitted (by customs) into the Maldives; i.e no alcohol or religious literature ( other than Islamic) nor religious artifacts, medals - crosses etc. This type of information is very useful for first time travelers to the Maldives.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iromi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had a stopover before heading off on a seaplane for an island resort. It was an early seaplane flight and they were meant to give us a wake up call and take us to the airport. They forgot! Totally forgot about us!! We were locked in the hotel for a while and wasn't able to contact outside. The only luck we had was Hilton was quiet that day and they waited for us. If they hadn't i'd have to wait for the next available seaplane which may not be on the same day if they were busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikosansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThomasSalaFamily, Owner at Sala Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Its amazing that it takes more than 6 months to report, really wondering why....
Fact is that one of my staff, who had taken the responsibility to bring the couple to the early morning check in 5.15 am didn't wake up and it needed myself to get them to the airport, the delay in departure in the hotel was not more than 10 minutes and they made it without any trouble, doesn't mean that this was a perfect ending of a stay with us, no, certainly not.

Consequently I have never delegated this task to anybody anymore, if there is an early morning check out its me, very simple. Nobody's' perfect, even though we are trying hard, this was the only incident of this kind we ever experienced so far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I feel a little bad about giving this a four star opposed to five star review but it's purely down to the price. Overnight and dinner set us back a hefty £178. Having said that everything else about the place is immaculate and this was still a cheaper option than going direct to our island resort (as we arrived late into Male) or staying at the airport hotel which by accounts on here is more expensive and not particularly good quality. We were met from the airport and taken care of with boat transfer to the main island and taxi to the premises. The guest house is themed on Thailand and Venice and is beautifully designed and decorated. Thomas is a very welcoming and friendly host and the dinner, Thai curry, was delicious, the service also fantastic. The room was beautiful and transfer to our island resort in the morning was seamless. Everything is five star except the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Rapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Somerset Hotel
The Somerset Hotel
#1 of 32 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Boutique Hotel

Property: Sala Boutique Hotel
Address: H. Buruneege, Hithahfinivaa Magu, Male 20044
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sala Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened 5 star boutique hotel at a 4 star price in the center of Male the capital of the Maldives, the jetties are 5 minutes away, owned and operated by a German/Indonesian couple, a different type of hotel with personal touch and care, a wonderful oasis in a busy city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Boutique Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing