We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Male - Excellent hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sala Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sala Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Male B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Male - Excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had to spend a night on Male En route to the Soneva Fushi resort.

Prior to our arrival at this lovely little hotel we had been in correspondence with the owner, Thomas, who arranged for one of his staff to meet us at the airport.

Our bags were whisked to the ferry and after a quick boat journey to Male, we were taxied to the hotel. Everything went to a well rehearsed plan.
Our room was delightful and comfortable, the service completely faultless, and the Thai food was delicious, better than many Thai restauraunts in Bangkok. It takes a lot to impress my Thai wife when it comes to Thai food, but she gave the chef a clear 10/10.

Our host was most attentive and we enjoyed his company - we will certainly be going back again.
In the morning the procedure was reversed after an excellent breakfast and we were delivered to the Soneva agent at the airport who looked after us in the private lounge until time to catch the seaplane on to Soneva Fushi.
Thomas has the Sala boutique Hotel running like a well oiled machine and his experience and eye for detail show at every turn.
Excellent little hotel, Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Summer_rain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    33
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
26
102
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The room is clean, very good service.
It's nearby the jetty with walking distance about 10 min.
On arrival to Male airport the hotel rep met us in the airport n brought us to the hotel.
N the food is surprisingly good!! We even went back for Thai food before we depart! I think the food is much more better than the 5 star hotel Thai restaurant!! I love the TomYum!! Yummy!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed overnight in Male at this hotel, which was recommended by our dive operator. What a pleasant surprise! Tom was the perfect host, both for the hotel and the restaurant. He is diligent about using fresh imported items in the restaurant and it's evident his years of experience in the hospitality arena have paid off. There are only a few rooms, but it adds to the family atmosphere of the place. He is doing his part to contribute to the green environment as well. Great experience! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubas_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Brilliant!
Comfortable bed, real service, excellent breakfast and spotlessly clean
As hoped this little Gem was just what we wanted. Our room was not large but then again nothing can be on Male! They managed to fit in everything we needed. Big comfy bed, big TV and big delicious albeit unusual breakfast. Thomas really amazed us! Keeping us under his watchful gaze(courtesy of "Fiky" and his mobile phone)Fiky escorted us to Wharf 7 @11 as arranged. We had quite literally missed the boat. A misunderstanding with the cruise line who had messed up. The wonderful people at Sala contacted the Captain ship to shore and arranged a Sea Plane for us to catch up with our cruise! Not enough yet? Thomas sent another young man to help. Taking charge of us and our luggage. We made an impressive parade up the road to the right Wharf. Our holiday could have been a disaster but not with this lot looking after us. We've never had such service. Your efforts were truly appreciated. Thanks Thomas, Fiky and friends

Room Tip: Travel tip: Take the time to see a little of Male, it's well worth it. Don't buy leafy photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Sala Boutique Hotel was a wonderful surprise in the heart of Male. Tom the owner was very friendly and put us at ease right away. The rooms were nice, very well appointed. They offer an excellent Thai restaurant and Italian cuisine as well. Breakfast came with the room price and was more food than we could eat. We only stayed one night, and had planned to stay another night after a week long dive trip, but our plans had to change and we did not get to spend the second night. Tom was good enough to refund our money on the second night, which was a pleasant surpise. I expected to just lose the money, since it had been pre-paid. It was within walking distance of the fish market and shopping. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXGCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

I was an amazing experience to stay at Sala Boutique. Days spent were made memorable and delightful with helping, down to earth people of Sala Boutique. I was like oasis of relief as a home away home. Great Food good ambiance. I too recommend if you are going to male and wanna stay without single doubt stay at Sala Baoutique.
Best wishes and success to People of Sala Boutique for doing all great work.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

In case you will ever need a place to stay at Male,look no further.
Sala boutique hotel is what you need.The rooms are nice,the service impeccable and the management super.If you add to this the great food at the restaurant and the breakfast they offer you then you have it all.
We will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filoxeniaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Somerset Hotel
The Somerset Hotel
#1 of 31 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sala Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sala Boutique Hotel

Property: Sala Boutique Hotel
Address: H. Buruneege, Hithahfinivaa Magu, Male 20044
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sala Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened 5 star boutique hotel at a 4 star price in the center of Male the capital of the Maldives, the jetties are 5 minutes away, owned and operated by a German/Indonesian couple, a different type of hotel with personal touch and care, a wonderful oasis in a busy city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sala Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Boutique Hotel Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing