We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food at a Reasonable Price (for the Maldives)”
Review of Jade Bistro

Jade Bistro
Ranked #66 of 137 Restaurants in Male
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Pizza, Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Jade Bistro is a lovely Bistro Style Restaurant located in Male, the capital of the Republic of Maldives. Quality Food, free Wi-Fi and a Warm & Friendly Atmosphere located on the water front opposite Jetty 9
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Reasonable Price (for the Maldives)”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stopped by for dinner on the recommendation of our hotel. The restaurant is very pleasant with nice, modern decor and is very convenient to the airport ferry boat. We had the "white fish cordon blue" (fish with cheese inside) which was tasty. The restaurant had no problems baking of them instead of pan-frying it.

For me, the smoothies were a pleasant surprise. The Orange Surfer was excellent (enough to stop by for another the following day) and the mint one was interesting.

Dinner wasn't cheap (about $90 for two people - entree, drinks, and some water), but nothing in the Maldives is. The service wasn't exceptional, but it was prompt, they were flexible, and the orders were correct.

I would recommend this as an easy side-trip for people who have a few hours at the Male airport or a good place for lunch or dinner for people who are in the city for a longer time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    36
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, Nederland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Only reason I come there is the wifi”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Slow service by uninterested Bangladesh workers.
Food is not more then mediocre, stay away from the cheesecake, it has been in the fridge for weeks and is bone dry.

The good thing about the place is the free wifi, the mixed berry shake, the coffee and the location. A lot to be improved on the service & food

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank popeye328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Only ate one time here because it's just not worth it. I mean, yes, the place is nice and comfy and it felt like I went through a portal and was suddenly in a mini-Starbucks that serves full meals BUT I can just go elsewhere AND pay less for the same food quality. Ok, I might be too harsh here since the serving's ok anyway. Just saying. This is a fave hang out of expats though so that may be a plus for others. Anyway, bon appetit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaliweftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice but slow”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

They have a good selection of food and reasonable prices but are very slow.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank zathras777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clise to airport jetty”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a nice restaurant, the biggest advantage of which is itls beig clise to airport jetty. We walked aling Male for theree hours and when we came back to airporr jetty, weve foud out, we are hungry, so Jade was a nice escape, becaause all other restaurants and cafee left behind. The food was good, we ordered cheeseburger ang margarite pizza, service was fast enough. The pricing wasfair for the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpeipclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Bistro also viewed

Male, North Male Atoll
Male, North Male Atoll
 
Male, North Male Atoll
 

Been to Jade Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing