We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shopping at Male” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DACE

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Male
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DACE
Ranked #15 of 31 Male B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Shopping at Male”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We planned our final night stay at Male for a visit to Male city and also had some souvenir shopping before we left Maldives back home. We choose a slightly better hotel room than our first night with a budget constraint. I saw the photos of their room and it looks OK.

Here is my review on Dace:-
Hotel Environment: Hotel environment surprise us as it is along a tiny lane which we did not expect. Then the room looks stuffy as well where we arrive at 6pm which they did not prepare because we transfer to the hotel ourselves but the hotel housekeep quickly and provide us a better feel with aromatherapy which comfort us.

Around the hotel: Of course this is the better part of the hotel as we enjoy souvenir shopping at Male which surround the hotel. We also like the Maldivian local food with rice as well as the island resort are mostly western food menu.

Hotel Service & Staff: Staff service are also good as the management really take care of us with free transfer to their restaurant near the jetty and also provide us a telephone sim card in case we need it.

Room Comfort: Room is also tiny but the sleep is more comfort than the first night. The room feel more modern design and new. Keep up the maintenance and hope it is not fade over time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Where do I start. Ok, I should first point out that I travel a lot and am by no means used to 5 star treatment.
I stayed for 2 days (I was supposed to stay for 3 but my business trip was shortened thankfully). The building is down a side alley next to construction. The fit out of the room is not bad but the bathroom in my room smelt of sewerage every time the tap was run in the sink (I brushed my teeth with bottled water) or when the toilet was flushed. The TV didn't work the entire time I was there (due to some issue with the cable operator apparently). This wouldn't be so bad but there's really not much to do in Male in terms of going out. I stayed on the 3rd floor (there's no lift) and every time someone comes in the front door, the slam of the door travels up the open staircase which runs through the building. As does any other noise such as the screaming kid on one of the floors, I couldn't identify which.
Bottom line, not good for a peaceful night's sleep which is all I was after.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobjones_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Male hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

I was welcomed by the owners, and taken well care of during my stay. The room was silent, pleasant styled and with a very nice bathroom. The hotel is located in central Male', easy accessible by taxi and close to the main roads of the city. My stay was just by opening of the hotel, and the kitchen was opened the same day. I suppose that there is a full restaurant meny there now. WIFI is available, which makes the hotel useful for business as well as leisure stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bjornaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stay in super deluxe room. The bedroom is small but very functional and clean with comfortable bed. The room decoration is very cute and modern. All the staffs there are more than helpful. Another over-expected thing is the clean white bed linen. The only disadvantage for me is the location. It can't walk from the airport ferry.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Modnuinoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Having stayed at overpriced Hulhule hotel and Traders hotel previousely we have now tried something different and were positive surprised with this place. Cute rooms and nice breafast! Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in Dace Hotel over the Easter weekend after reading recommendations on Tripadvisor and we were glad we did. The rooms although small, were comfy and clean. Towels were provided but no toiletries given. Beds were comfortably hard and the rooms were cleaned and made up at least twice daily! Breakfast was a wonderful spread. Do note that this hotel does not have lifts so if you're staying on the upper floors, you're guaranteed a good work out!

Mustafa, Shiru and Shirmeen were excellent hosts and were always ready to assist with any questions or requests we made. The only downside was we came during the wet season so that kind of put a damper on our best laid plans.

Other than that, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at Dace again!

Room Tip: Book with the hotel directly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunshin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Amidst the warm humidity and buzz of Male, this little gem awaited!! We were welcomed with cool, fragrant wet towels and a Welcome drink. The owners (Shirmeen and her husband) as well as very friendly and helpful staff went out of their way to arrange taxi, things to do, dinner at their lovely restaurant La Ban (with wonderful ice tea and views from top deck!!), personal wake up calls, ect. - all done with great smiles and enthusiasm! The room was very clean and neat and the aircon was a great plus. Dace is well located and walking distance to fish market, ferry docks ect. Thanks for making us feel so welcomed and arranging everything for our early morning flight departure to the resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LindiePostma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Male hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 36 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Somerset Hotel
The Somerset Hotel
#1 of 31 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
House Clover
House Clover
#4 of 31 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skai Lodge
Skai Lodge
#14 of 36 in Male
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DACE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DACE

Property: DACE
Address: M. Naainfaruge, Jahaamuguri Goalhi, Male 20274
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DACE 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
DACE Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing