We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing works except the guy who makes b/fast/security guard” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Boutique Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Boutique Inn
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Male
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nothing works except the guy who makes b/fast/security guard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Maybe OK for a transit stop, but no service to complain about. The manager in the earlier reviews must have left......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    23
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
27
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pace del Mela, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

I had booked a deluxe room (worth 90$) after reading several positive reviews about the kindness of the staff. But what does kindness mean? If it means lots of smiles, then yes: we got a lot of it. But of course a hotel is needed for much more than that. We were given a room that was not deluxe (I did not ask why we had been downgraded: it was a quick stop-over, so I would not mind saving a little bit), but what we found was really bad: the room was tiny; we were two people and we had to make turns to move around the room. The temperature in the toilette was litterally 120°F (more than 40°C) as shown by my wrestwatch-themometer, due to the heat coming from the outside ait-conditioning motors. Inside the bedroom the temperature was lower but still very hot. we might have used the A/C, but the air floss was pointing directly towards our bed. We did not sleep at all, which - in a way - was our luck since the wake-up call we had requested never came. When I asked the reason of the missed wake-up call, all I got was a big smile and no explanation at all. A shrugging put an end to the conversation. I won't go back over there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tropic62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Male hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shanghai, Singapore, US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed two days and one night here at the end of a week-long liveaboard. The rest of the group overnighted at Club Faru and paid over 3x what we did and were all disappointed. We didn't know what to expect for the price we paid, but the staff was consistently friendly, the rooms were comfortable and the bed was just the right amount of firmness. In particular, the manager exceeded our expectations in that he had someone meet us at the Male Airport to get us on the ferry, was waiting to pick us up from the ferry arrival point, had a taxi waiting, and then brought us back to the ferry once our stay was over, even paying for the ferry. It was only $2 fare, but the small things are very meaningful.

The building itself is in good shape and has a lift, which was unexpected. Be sure to check out the pool on the rooftop -- we didn't know where it was and never got to go.

Wireless internet is free on the 1st and 2nd floors -- the manager did mention that they are trying to extend it to higher floors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We arrived into Male pretty late and instead of checking into our resort hotel, we decided to opt for a one-night stay in a relatively more affordable accommodation. After reading some reviews on tripadvisor, we eventually decided on The Boutique Inn. The inn is pretty small but the service was warm and friendly. We got the deluxe room and it was to our surprise, clean and huge for a boutique inn standard. Toilet was basic, so don't expect much. For a stop-over, I think that I should have done more research. Time to get to this hotel was approximately 40 mins (included a boat ride from Male International Airport to Male City plus waiting for the rest of the group). This time could have been saved if I had chosen the hotel near the airport.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j0annesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
240 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Without a doubt, this is the best value for an overnight or long stay in the capital of Maldives. I stayed for about one month in May-June 2010 on a government contract and it was my home away from home, thanks largely to the hospitality of the manager, Umair. The Maldivian breakfast is a treat that is not to be missed! Spotless rooms and baths have all basic necessities including free wifi. There's a lap pool on the roof. Location is within walking distance of all major attractions including artificial beach and fish market, but a cab anywhere on the island is $2. I've stayed in other Male Hotels and this is definitely the best for a long stay or just one night. How good is this place? Resort personnel stay here when they are vacationing in the city! Umair is fluent in English and manages to communicate with everyone, even Chinese. He will make sure you don't miss the plane!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reliantship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We recently stayed here as a scouting trip for our holidays in Maldives later this year. It is a new Inn and the rooms were decent size. Nothing too big but perfect for our needs. The beds were cosy, comfortable and sufficiently large. It's situated in the heart of Male and therefore close to everything. However there is nothing much to do in Male and is a great for a stopover before continuing to island resort. Umair, our point of contact runs the show and is a Great help. He has good knowledge and takes care of your needs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.7 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.7 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 9 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
#2 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luckyhiya Hotel
Luckyhiya Hotel
#24 of 35 in Male
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Champa Central Hotel
Champa Central Hotel
#5 of 35 in Male
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Boutique Inn

Property: Central Boutique Inn
Address: G.Villa Shabnamee,, Handhuvarudhey Goalhi, Male 20101 (Formerly The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Boutique Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Boutique Inn is an established Male’ capital city of Maldives, and has been in operation for the last eleven years as Dhoveli Inn ,The Boutique Inn at Villa Shabnamee. After taking possession and a brief period of becoming established, we started operating roof top swimming pool for our in house guest and added a multi cuisine restaurant to ensure a steady flow of customers (tourists and locals) through its doors. The past two owners had owned the property for five or to six years each; the business has not been operated to its fullest capacity and was run down. Central Boutique Inn is now operated and managed by Holiday Night Pvt. Ltd a family owned company. Central Boutique Inn is a B&B boutique hotel located in Male’ city capital of Maldives was originally built in 2004. We offer twelve wonderfully furnished rooms to guests who want to stay at male’ city with attached bedrooms with room and toilet amenities. We have a full-service restaurant, a roof top swimming pool. The buildings have undergone a number of restorations and we plan more, possibly adding a spa and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Central Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boutique Inn At Villa Shabnamee Hotel Male
Central Boutique Inn Maldives/Male

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing