We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Male
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveler rating
154
34
11
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
154
34
11
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews olive oyl del mar the crossroads tomyam tom yum newly opened resort the hard rock cafe thai italian fusion sky room water villa outdoor shower and bathtub restaurants and shopping kids club arrival experience beach room growing pains visit hard rock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

New resort in the maldives located 15 minutes by boat from the airport. The bad thing when facing Male is that you can see the disposal island with its permanent fire and smoke and the city.
The good thing is that theres a mini town walking from the hotel where there will be shops and more restaurants and makes it a huge difference from the other hotels where theres no activities by night or no
place to walk to.
The rooms are nice, with smart tvs, and facing the water.
My advice is you add something to shower your feet before entering the rooms areas, as there are no showers near the beach, just by the hotel pool. Usually in Thailand they have this vase filled with water and a huge spoon to wet your feet, hotel should add this!

Breakfast: is at Cafe del Mar, it has to be one of the worst 5 star hotel breakfasts, more like a 4 star hotel one. There are no fruit variations, no orange juice, no waffles, no smoked salmon, etc. The pastries were always the few same ones.
Hotel manager should check it and see the DIFFERENCE with Hard Rock hotel as there they offer sushi and ice cream!

Beach: beautiful beaches and close to the water sport centre. Kayak and Pedal boat + snorkel included in the rate. Now, the sunbeds on the beach were super uncomfortable, according to the Manager next year they will do something about them.
Hotel needs a lot of shadow as there are few trees, but since the island is articial they are growing them and will take a while to have more shadow while you walk.

Hotel should also fix the wifi problem that when you walk to your room or being at the beach there are lots of places without a bit of wifi, no even when I was outside the room in the stairs.

Many times I wanted to call reception to ask for something and no one would answer the telephone! If you want something to be done, you have to persevere and try to go ask it personally or there are 70% they might not do it if you ask something via phone. As it happened to me that I had asked for something and no one came to do it.

We have to thank the hotel for the early check in as
we had rooms ready for us.
Also a special shoutout to Maria who’s in charge of the beverage and food, who was so friendly and took great care of us!
I highly recommend getting the half board as you can eat anywhere you want for dinner.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarinJongman, General Manager at SAii Lagoon Maldives, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jedme, thank you so much for the nice feedback after your recent stay with us at Saii Lagoon Maldives. The pot filled with water to clean your feet is arriving soon, it is true that now a lot of sand is being carried into the rooms.

Thank you for your breakfast comments, we are looking into the the variety, our breakfast space is more limited.

We have taken note of the sun loungers and how comfortable they are, we will invest into cushions.

Our IT manager is working on the Wifi coverage, and we expect that there will be improvement soon.

I am sorry to hear about the front office telephone. We are looking into this as the telephones in the rooms are now actually calling to a call center, not based in the front office. The supplier has been contacted to talk about making a better system so that the calls from the rooms actually arrive at the front office.

Great that front office was able to accommodate your early arrival and Maria did her best as well, she will be delighted to find her name in your review.

Thank you so much for having made the effort to write. We are continuously aiming at improvement and your comments help us go into the right direction.

Saii for now,

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I didn't stay, here, stayed next door at hard rock hit did two meals here at Saii.

Mr Tomyam ... Excellent setting. Good people. Little slow in service but the food is excellent. The mix is good. And dont have anything but praises for the place

Miss Olive Oyl ... This was a disaster. Slow service is an understatement. Nobody scrempt, but i heard multiple tables getting upset. The for was useless. My prawns were probably made and kept under the lamp for so long that they became chewy. Imagine that. The dessert, we left after the first bite. Disaster.

How can the same hotel have two such extremely restaurants

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bimalsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin J, General Manager at SAii Lagoon Maldives, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear bimalsha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us after your dinners with us. I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience at Miss Olive Oyl restaurant. Guest comments are very important to further improve our products and services for you and our valued guests. We recognize that the service at Miss Olive Oyl has to improve and we would like to apologize for the disappointing experience. Please be assured that I will discuss your observations and comments with my culinary team and will continue to train to improve all of the aspects you mentioned to give better service to our guests. Thank you once again.

Best regards,

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

To start with, the rooms are nice and the views beautiful. So all there for a great holiday. But booking a 5 star resort is also of being spoiled. Well for sure that is not what they do to you. The breakfast is more what you expect for a 2 star hotel. All is there but the quality of the food is low and there is not a wide variety in what you can choose. Being on an Island you are forced to go to their restaurants. They know it too. Its about getting half portions for double money and food being of lower quality. Do they have some extra services to spoil you ?. O yes they told us there was a place where you could get some snacks an drinks for free. When we later asked where it was it seemed to be a small cupboard where they put some drinks and some cheap cookies nobody seemed to like. The fridge with drinks they mostly left empty. Did we have a good holiday ?. No at the end the irritation of the bad food and service after paying so much money just destroyed the good feeling of having holiday on such a nice place.

Room tip: The villas on the water are beautifull but also very expensive
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janboerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAiiLander, General Manager at SAii Lagoon Maldives, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Hello Mr.Janboerma,

I am sorry that you were surprised with the pricing of our food and beverage offerings. This is because everything we offer is imported except for fish and coconut. Furthermore, we have to desalinate our own water, generate our own electricity and manage all the wastes we produce. We feel that we provide good value given our location and extensive facilities and our pricing is comparable to similar properties here in Maldives. Please rest assured that your comment about our snack box have followed up with my team to ensure that it will be refilled accordingly so such a situation does not recur.

Thank you very much for bringing your concern up to our attention, as a newly opened property, this helps us identify where our priorities should be and work on improvement to meet the highest quality standard of service and products going forward.

For any further comment, please contact us directly, we are happy to assist you.

SAii for now…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

At first I didn’t believe all the bad reviews on service because I’ve never experienced anything but great service and smiles in the Maldives but sadly they were correct. Check in was a chaotic disaster. Everyone looked pained and stressed. I’d made a simple request weeks prior to have a room facing away from Male. It wasn’t mentioned and when I asked they said they would look into moving us later but was never mentioned again. The most basic info was given. We had to find figure things out on our own. The spa is good distance from resort but do seek it out. The service was great and reasonable for the Maldives . Cafe Del Mar pool was a nice escape from the murky pool and uncomfortable loungers at SAii . Check out was just as frustrating as checkin. The night before we were packing and noticed our passports missing. We completely panicked. After tearing luggage/room apart looking I went to check the front desk and they had been in a drawer for 5 days. No one had bothered to return or let us know they had them. Our transfer left at 645. We were there with the boat but no luggage or anyone from hotel for 30 min. I ended up running back to front desk just to grab our bags ourselves. Lots of unnecessary stress. ( also the rooms don’t go below 23 degrees which is too warm). Has potential but a long way to go.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank wmdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAiiLander, General Manager at SAii Lagoon Maldives, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Hello Wmdover,

I would like to express my sincere apologies for falling short in delivering you excellent service and for the multiple inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Please rest assured this is certainly not the experience we would wish for any of our guests nor the lasting impression we wish to leave you with. We take your concern very seriously and immediately discussed with my entire team to avoid any recurrence of incident in the future.

Hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you with the highest quality standard of service and allow us to regain your confidence back to SAii Lagoon Maldives.

Thank you very much for your feedback that will definitely help us improve the level of our service offered to all of our guests.

Until then. Wish you all the best!

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

property,location, rooms everything amazing....only disappointment was the buggy service offered for guests to move around. it was never there when required and never on time.
beautiful location and great restaurants around.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank AnantP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarinJongman, General Manager at SAii Lagoon Maldives, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Dear AnantP99,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The buggy service has been difficult, we are waiting for more buggies to arrive to offer a better service. Guest bikes are also coming to make it easier for the guest to move around.

Best regards,

Karin Jongman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews