We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at Traders Hotel Male”
Review of Hotel Jen Male

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Male
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience at Traders Hotel Male”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Traders is a very good hotel in Male.,the best in Male. The biggest plus at Traders Maldives is their service and the efficiency of the staff. They are really helpfull friendly and courteous.....

They need to improve a bit on the variety of food offered...other than that it is a nice place for a business trip

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Arul_Kanagasabapathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    269
    71
    26
    15
See reviews for
84
209
31
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent guest traveling on business to Male, Traders never seem to disappoint me in terms of welcome, comfort and care. The staff is so caring and attentive and always strive to make you feel at home. Starting from the airport pickup and the brief boat ride to Male island you're made to feel at home. The hotel amenities are quite good and the rain shower is a welcome luxury.

I've stayed at a few Shangri La properties and Traders seem to be a smaller hotel comparatively and sometimes when I'm staying for more than 3 days it feels a bit claustrophobic. The rooftop bar and restaurant gives you a beautiful view and the relaxation under the seabreeze. This is a really great hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ShanakaRSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We (myself, hubby and 3 kids) stayed at Traders in Male for one night before our seaplane the next day to the Irufushi. The connecting rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good and we especially appreciated the jug of coconut water as an alternative to juice.

I am inspired to write this review, however, because of what happened after we left. My little daughter left her stuffed animal (which she sleeps with every night) behind and we didn't discover it until the following night at the next hotel. I called the hotel and the duty manager tracked it down and coordinated with the staff at the Irufushi. She managed to pass the toy to the airport staff and it arrived the following day my seaplane.

It saved me from many teary nights and I am so grateful to the staff at Traders for going out of their way to help us. It was definitely service above and beyond what I would have expected! Thank you Traders!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were directed to Traders Hotel when our flight back to Kuala Lumpur got cancelled. Malaysian Airlines paid for us to stay for the night and I was doubtful of what we would find.
It ended up being a pleasant surprise! Lovely a la carte and buffet food.. seriously good room service pizza!
The room and decor was clean and modern and the pool was lovely with an array of mocktails.... so that was my biggest shock.. Mocktails... No alcohol!! This is a law within the capital island of Male and not at all anything to do with Traders Hotel.
A favorite: sitting on the balcony watching the Maldivian hustle and bustle go by as bats flitted from tree to tree. It was lovely.

Room Tip: The higher the better for bat watching :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Ok when I saw $480 a night for a Traders Hotel basic room I thought the internet was playing a practical joke on me.

Male is an amazing city and I highly recommend waking up there and exploring.
The organisation of the hotel is great, and there is nothing wrong with the rooms - they're true and true Traders Hotel rooms - newly renovated and perfectly adequate. My only complaint is the AC wasn't perfect, our room even with full AC on was hot.

Male is amazing, this is clearly the best in town

Room Tip: Higher up gives an amazing view of this amazing city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mflucas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carqueiranne, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel enjoy a great situation in Male, has friendly and efficient staff and a pretty nice pool on the roof. I had room 802 at 8th floor with view on the maldivian parliament. Quiet and spacious bathroom. A very good place to stay in Male even if you have to the airport island to get an alcohol drink.

Room Tip: Highest floors to be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois-Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I am in room 510 right now. I have given USD100 instead of USD1 by mistake at the dock in the airport as tips to the staff who picked me up. When I got to the hotel I found this out. I called the front desk. In a few minutes, that staff came to my room to give me back the money in person. I want to let his manager know he has such an honest staff and my trip would not be ruined at the beginning because of his good action. Thank you very much! Sorry I forgot to ask his name. But I feel so good about Male people and Traders Hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
0.5 mi away
Hotel Octave
Hotel Octave
#4 of 35 in Male
214 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,738 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 35 in Male
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
6.5 mi away
Bandos Maldives
Bandos Maldives
#1 of 2 in Bandos
2,011 reviews
8.0 mi away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Male? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Property: Hotel Jen Male
Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Location: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Male
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing